VOGONS

First post, by sslneve

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hello I am a total noob here, thanks in advance.

I have fried my AMI E-MU IC376 rev. b C18290 chip today. It was in E-MU sound module called Vintage Keys.

Found a thread about the history of E-MU chips here and AMI IC376, OKI 404, TSMC 405/EMU8000 are all identical.

There is a seller who got EMU8000 IC405A CT1971 in NOS condition. Can I put it in as a drop-in replacement?

Please help me and any thoughts will be welcomed. I am in urgent situation to fix that MIDI module... thanks.

Reply 1 of 5, by Tiido

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

EMU8000/IC405x is not compatible with it at all, pinout etc. do not match among other things.

T-04YBSC, a new YMF71x based sound card & Official VOGONS thread about it
Newly made 4MB 60ns 30pin SIMMs ~
mida sa loed ? nagunii aru ei saa 😜

Reply 2 of 5, by sslneve

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Tiido wrote on 2021-11-15, 15:48:

EMU8000/IC405x is not compatible with it at all, pinout etc. do not match among other things.

Thanks for the info. I forgot to count the whole pins. Should look out further.

Reply 3 of 5, by Tiido

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

The bad news is you'll find that chip from another E-MU device, they were not sold to other companies from what I know.

Reply 4 of 5, by sslneve

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Tiido wrote on 2021-11-16, 05:55:

The bad news is you'll find that chip from another E-MU device, they were not sold to other companies from what I know.

So can't I get some replacements from another soundcards i.e WaveBlaster? Really frustrated... Is there any way to source them?

Reply 5 of 5, by Tiido

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Wave Blaster 1 doesn't use the same chip either (IC404) though the boards do appear very similar to E-mu Sound Engine which has IC376, Turtle Beach Multisound seems to contain either IC404 or IC376 so these two chips are likely compatible with one another.