VOGONS

First post, by Cranberry

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hello, this is my first time posting here. I hope this is an appropriate section to post this. Anyways, I've been having a major issue with my build. I have an ISA soundcard (some sort of Sound Blaster AWE) which works perfectly. But, I need a PCI soundcard as well. I have tried various cards (Sound Blaster Audigy SB0090, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS SB0350, Sound Blaster Audigy SE SB0570, and Sound Blaster Live CT4780) and none of them are detected by the BIOS or Windows 98 SE. The only cards that were detected was a Sound Blaster X-Fi SB0370 and a Bluegears b-Enspirer (broken card, doesn't output audio). Of course, those two cards I can't use because there are no 98 drivers and the Bluegears I have is broken.

I have tried many things to make these other cards work. A few were trying another PCI slot (I only have two), force installing drivers, resetting BIOS, etc. The funny thing is, these cards used to work on this motherboard, and I know they are working cards. I've used them in other systems with various operating systems like 98 SE, 2000, XP, and 7.

This system I went with a unbranded Chinese industrial board I found on eBay (it's not that good but I wanted extra ISA slots). Here's information from it's listing:
Motherboard: Intel® 845GV Socket 478 FSB 533mhz motherboard
CPU: Socket 478 for Celeron® 4 /Pentium®4 FSB 533mhz
System Memory: Support 2 x 184-pin DDR 266/333 DIMM max.up to 2GB
Chipset: Intel® 845GV+ ICH4
Expansion Interface: 2*PCI expansion slot,1*AGP 4/8X, 3*ISA
IO: 2 x ATA-100 IDE, 1 x FDD, 1 x PS/2 K/B, 1 x PS/2 MS, 2 x COM (2 x RS-232), 1 x LPT, 1 x RJ-45, 1 x VGA, 6 x USB 2.0 ports (2 ports form 1 header), 3 x ISA slots, 2 x PCI slots
Ethernet: Realtek RTL8100C Fast Ethernet controllers
Audio: Realtek ALC655 AC'97 Codec Audio
BIOS: Award BIOS with 4Mbit Flash ROM Supports Plug and Play 1.0B,APM 1.2, Multi Boot, DMI