VOGONS

First post, by KnuxTheDee

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I recently found a Toshiba Tecra 720CDT laptop at a thrift store and installed Win98 SE on it. I was able to get the sound working just fine under Windows and it plays midi files through its FM synth.
However, I can't get FM music to work in DOS games like Doom and Descent, but digital sound works perfectly fine.
I'm new to the DOS scene, am I just doing something wrong?

I have this line in my config.sys:
device=C:\WINDOWS\cs4232c.exe /A

and this line in my autoexec.bat:
SET BLASTER=A220 I7 D1 T4

The set blaster command should be correct, as the address, irq and dma address match what's in the bios.

EDIT: I simply had the OPL chip set to the wrong I/O address in the BIOS

Last edited by KnuxTheDee on 2022-12-08, 03:30. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 1 of 6, by gerwin

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

The CS4232 sound chips does not have OPL3/FM functionality in itself. It needs an OPL3 compatible chip nearby to give FM music. Possibly the laptop designers omitted that part, assuming not many users would care.

Edit:
Well, there is an OPL3 FM chip visible on this system board, so that is good news:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/143301285187
Also I should read your message properly, saying it worked in windows.

Do you have the mixer utility for DOS? CS32Mix.exe IIRC.

--> ISA Soundcard Overview // Doom MBF 2.04 // SetMul

Reply 2 of 6, by KnuxTheDee

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I didn't have cs32mix running but I just tried that, and unfortunately that doesn't appeared to have fixed it. Again, it works under Windows, but there doesn't seem to be any difference in DOS games.

Reply 3 of 6, by gerwin

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
KnuxTheDee wrote on 2022-12-08, 02:58:

I didn't have cs32mix running but I just tried that, and unfortunately that doesn't appeared to have fixed it. Again, it works under Windows, but there doesn't seem to be any difference in DOS games.