VOGONS

First post, by mtest001

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Hi all,
Over time I have developed a fascination for the Roland Sound Canvas and the difference in games that it can bring. Even back then I had no idea the games could sound very different so I have the sentiment that I missed a big part of the gaming experience.

Now, I know very little about it to be honest... And I have spotted one SC-55ST for about 120 USD, which I think I am going to buy.

Where do I start ? I need to connect it so the serial port on my SB Live using a specific MIDI cable is that correct ? Once done, how do I configure games to take advantage of the Sound Canvas? Do I need to loop the SC output back into the SB Live "line-in" mini-jack?

Thanks for your help.

/me love my P200MMX@225 Mhz + Voodoo Banshee + SB Live! + Sound Canvas SC-55ST = unlimited joy !

Reply 1 of 18, by dominusprog

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

I'm no expert, but I believe you have to connect the SC-55ST to the sound card's gameport. You'll need something like this

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32881937700.html

Duke_2600.png
A-Trend ATC-1020 V1.1 ❇ Cyrix 6x86 150+ @ 120MHz ❇ 32MiB EDO RAM (8MiBx4) ❇ A-Trend S3 Trio64V2 2MiB
Aztech Pro16 II-3D PnP ❇ 8.4GiB Quantum Fireball ❇ Win95 OSR2 Plus!

Reply 2 of 18, by chinny22

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
mtest001 wrote on 2024-04-03, 22:40:

need to connect it so the serial port on my SB Live using a specific MIDI cable is that correct ?

Not serial, Gameport with the cable dominusprog linked above.
on the non gameport end you have the 2 DIN plugs the one labelled IN goes to OUT on the SC55 and the one labelled OUT on the cable goes to IN on the SC55

Once done, how do I configure games to take advantage of the Sound Canvas?

In Windows/Control Panel/Multimedia you point MIDI playback to the external port.
Windows:Windows_98_MIDI.png