Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby vlask » 2017-3-20 @ 23:17

with rom tested
Trio64 86C764X 2MB - ok
Trio32 86C732-P Diamond Stealth SE - ok

Trio64UV+ 86C767 - reboot
Trio64V2/DX 86C775 Elsa - reboot
Trio3D 86C365 AGP Gainward - reboot

Matrox Millennium 2064W-R3 - goes to white screen, but see only first 2 rows of text stretched over whole screen - unreadable - video is here - https://youtu.be/nZpL19FwbHI
Not only mine graphics cards collection at http://www.vgamuseum.info
vlask
Member
 
Posts: 308
Joined: 2009-6-29 @ 18:01
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby atar » 2017-3-21 @ 10:23

vlask wrote:with rom tested
Trio64 86C764X 2MB - ok
Trio32 86C732-P Diamond Stealth SE - ok


Thanks a lot! The "P" and "X" are interesting. I haven't seen the '732 chip before and thought the Trio32 were also '764 based.

vlask wrote:Trio64UV+ 86C767 - reboot
Trio64V2/DX 86C775 Elsa - reboot
Trio3D 86C365 AGP Gainward - reboot


Looks like anything newer than 1996 is not supported. Good to know, but is not that critical to me, as it looks like these were never user in PowerPC machines. May add them though in a future if there would be any emulators for them.

vlask wrote:Matrox Millennium 2064W-R3 - goes to white screen, but see only first 2 rows of text stretched over whole screen - unreadable - video is here - https://youtu.be/nZpL19FwbHI


Thank you for the video! Looks weird. Obviously there are more bugs than I was aware of. Good to test it with the physical cards while they still exist.
atar
Newbie
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 2017-3-03 @ 15:01

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby vlask » 2017-3-21 @ 13:01

atar wrote:Thanks a lot! The "P" and "X" are interesting. I haven't seen the '732 chip before and thought the Trio32 were also '764 based.


I think only 732 variants of Trio32 chips exists. Im not aware of any other versions. They were quickly replaced by various Trio64 chips....

http://vgamuseum.info/index.php/cards/item/356-s3-trio32
Not only mine graphics cards collection at http://www.vgamuseum.info
vlask
Member
 
Posts: 308
Joined: 2009-6-29 @ 18:01
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby atar » 2017-3-29 @ 15:31

Jo22 wrote:S3 ViRGE/DX 86C375 "PowerColor" (PCB="C325DX4 VER 1.0") = reboot
S3 ViRGE/DX 86C375 "EON EONTRONICS" (FCC ID: DXL-DP18) = reboot
S3 ViRGE/DX 86C375 "EON EONTRONICS" (FCC ID: DXL-DP18) = reboot
S3 ViRGE/DX 86C375 "Daytona 64V 3DX" (PCB=P612 REV:A) = reboot, no text after reboot


Can you please re-check them with the attached floppy? Initially I didn't plan to add the support of 375, but someone on Ebay sold me a 375 card by using a picture of a 325 card. So, before returning it to sender I gave it a whirl.
Attachments
floppy.zip
Floppy with 86c375 support.
(339 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
atar
Newbie
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 2017-3-03 @ 15:01

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby Jo22 » 2017-3-31 @ 18:23

Hi, yes, I'll re-check them over the weekend (sorry for the delay, wasn't on Vogons the last few days. :sweatdrop:).
Jo22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby Jo22 » 2017-4-02 @ 01:51

Hi, I've re-checked them with the new image - seems good so far.:

S3 ViRGE/DX 86C375 "Daytona 64V 3DX" (PCB=P612 REV:A) = ok
S3 ViRGE/DX 86C375 "EON EONTRONICS" (FCC ID: DXL-DP18) = ok
S3 ViRGE/DX 86C375 "EON EONTRONICS" (FCC ID: DXL-DP18) = ok
(Can't find the fourth card right now, though.)


I've also checked other models, just to make sure.

S3 ViRGE/VX 86C988 "Miro Crystal VR2000" (FCC ID:LAHV40S3D-PCI-1) = reboot
S3 ViRGE 86C325 "Diamond Stealth 3D 2000" = ok

I tested all of them with their BIOSes left installed, though.
If it helps, I'll check them again next week without their ROM chips. :)
Attachments
virge375_boot_clip.zip
(1.49 MiB) Downloaded 2 times
Jo22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby atar » 2017-4-02 @ 17:21

Jo22 wrote:Hi, I've re-checked them with the new image - seems good so far.:

S3 ViRGE/DX 86C375 "Daytona 64V 3DX" (PCB=P612 REV:A) = ok
S3 ViRGE/DX 86C375 "EON EONTRONICS" (FCC ID: DXL-DP18) = ok
S3 ViRGE/DX 86C375 "EON EONTRONICS" (FCC ID: DXL-DP18) = ok
(Can't find the fourth card right now, though.)

Thank you. 3 is enough. :-)
Jo22 wrote:S3 ViRGE/VX 86C988 "Miro Crystal VR2000" (FCC ID:LAHV40S3D-PCI-1) = reboot
S3 ViRGE 86C325 "Diamond Stealth 3D 2000" = ok

Yes, this is expected. As long as I don't get a 988 card it won't be supported. :-)
Jo22 wrote:I tested all of them with their BIOSes left installed, though.
If it helps, I'll check them again next week without their ROM chips. :)

It it's not too much hassle, this would be nice.
atar
Newbie
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 2017-3-03 @ 15:01

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby Jo22 » 2017-4-03 @ 23:48

atar wrote:
Jo22 wrote:S3 ViRGE/VX 86C988 "Miro Crystal VR2000" (FCC ID:LAHV40S3D-PCI-1) = reboot
S3 ViRGE 86C325 "Diamond Stealth 3D 2000" = ok

Yes, this is expected. As long as I don't get a 988 card it won't be supported. :-)

Ah, okay. I just wanted to make sure the new image didn't break support for the 325.
And since the 988 was around, I tested it, too.. :)

By the way, I also did a little testing with an S3 Vision 968 card:
S3 Vision 86C968 "ELSA Winner 2000AVI-2" (FCC ID:KJGW2000AVI) = ok

It seems to work fine, as far as I can tell. I was unable to remove the VGA BIOS, though,
because it is somewhat stuck in the socket.
Attachments
2000avi.JPG
2000avi_boot.JPG
2000avi_ok.JPG
86c968-p.zip
(4.72 MiB) Not downloaded yet
Jo22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby Jo22 » 2017-4-09 @ 21:30

Quick update: Checked them (375 models) again without ROM chip = black screen.

Edit: I've found a second 988 card. :) If you have any use for it, I would donate it to you.
Jo22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby Kamerat » 2017-4-11 @ 05:41

atar wrote:Can you please re-check them with the attached floppy? Initially I didn't plan to add the support of 375, but someone on Ebay sold me a 375 card by using a picture of a 325 card. So, before returning it to sender I gave it a whirl.

Gave my only S3 card a try with this one and it worked with and without the ROM in place: :)

S3 ViRGE/DX 86C375 "Hercules Terminator 3D/DX REV:A1" (FCC ID: 127MM-VS03A)
User avatar
Kamerat
Member
 
Posts: 427
Joined: 2014-3-14 @ 19:09
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby atar » 2017-4-11 @ 15:49

Jo22 wrote:Quick update: Checked them (375 models) again without ROM chip = black screen.


Oops. Are you sure you used the updated floppy and not the initial one? This is surprising.

Jo22 wrote:Edit: I've found a second 988 card. :) If you have any use for it, I would donate it to you.

Thanks! Will read about it and PM you. My long shot target is AIX, and since it was quite picky concerning the VGA cards, I have to focus on the supported cards first.

Kamerat wrote:Gave my only S3 card a try with this one and it worked with and without the ROM in place: :)
S3 ViRGE/DX 86C375 "Hercules Terminator 3D/DX REV:A1" (FCC ID: 127MM-VS03A)

Thank you. So it works at least on two of the DX cards. :) Since the DX cards were not supported by AIX, I guess it's enough for me for the moment.
atar
Newbie
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 2017-3-03 @ 15:01

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby Jo22 » 2017-4-12 @ 15:24

atar wrote:
Jo22 wrote:Quick update: Checked them (375 models) again without ROM chip = black screen.


Oops. Are you sure you used the updated floppy and not the initial one? This is surprising.

Yup. The inital floppy was overwritten by the new image. I'll try again, though, just to make sure.
Perhaps it is also related to the PC's mainboard ? I'm using a GA586S rev. 1.22c.
Jo22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby Jo22 » 2017-4-17 @ 03:48

Okay, so I downloaded the image again and wrote it to a freshly formatted disk..
And got the same result, sadly. :( I have no idea if this is important, but I also noticed that my keyboard did a reset.
It can be seen in the video I made for you (I used one of the EON cards while filming, btw).
Attachments
virge375_boot_clip2.zip
(3 MiB) Downloaded 2 times
Jo22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby atar » 2017-4-18 @ 15:13

Thanks! That's strange though. Have you used the same mainboard in the previous (successful) ROM-less tests? There are chances that there are some different variations of the 375 chip, but having all the 3 cards of one kind seems to be not very probable at least.
atar
Newbie
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 2017-3-03 @ 15:01

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby Jo22 » 2017-4-18 @ 21:18

Yes, I always used the same mainboard for testing. It's the only one I've got available for testing at the moment.
The others are 286/386 boards and do lack PCI slots. But I agree it's strange what's happening here.

Both the Trio64V+s and the orignal ViRGE325s did work just fine, with and without ROM chips.
Maybe my mainboard requires the firmware of the 375 types to set up some PCI registers properly ?
No idea, I'm just guessing here. If you're interested, I can send you one of the EON cards for testing, too.

Edit: Maybe it's nothing, but I remember now that my board didn't like Windows98SE for some reason and always
crashed there, while Win3.1,95 and Me worked fine. Perhaps it is just buggy by design ?
Jo22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06

Previous

Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests