QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby agent_x007 » 2016-9-04 @ 16:54

If anyone's got results for Phenom II x4 with 4670 AGP or 3850 AGP GPU's... please share.
I need them for comparison ;)

Setup :
CPU : Core 2 Extreme QX9770 (C1) @ 3,84GHz (+VID Mod = 1,3875V) [BOX cooling]
MB : ASRock 4CoreDual-SATA2 R2.0 (BIOS : L2.20) [FSB = 256 MHz]
RAM : DDR2 2x2GB @ 682MHz CL5.5.4.12 CR2T and "High" Vdimm ;)
GPU : HIS HD 3850 512MB AGP IceQ3 (stock = 710/1818 MHz), Catalyst 10.2 driver.
HDD : Samsung F3 500GB (HD502HJ)
SPU : Audigy 2 ZS (w/EAX 4.0 driver)
PSU : OCZ ZS-750 (750W)
OS : Windows XP SP3 Pro (x86)

SuperPI/Cache & Memory test : LINK

Results :
3DMark 03 : LINK (35 521 pkt.)
3DMark 05 : LINK (20 495 pkt.)
3DMark 06 : LINK (11 504 pkt.)

Quake III Arena v1.11 (1024x768@32-bit max. quality) : 909,5 FPS
[Demo001] Radeon HD 3850 (715-1818).PNG

Doom 3 v1.0 (Preset "Ultra" @ 1024/768) : 238,4FPS
Radeon HD 3850 (715-1818) Ultra.PNG

Crysis v.1.2.1 (Crysis Benchmark Tool : "gpu_benchmark") :

Preset "Low" (Full HD) - Avg. 92,96 FPS, Min. 53,06 FPS
Crysis Low Radeon HD 3850 (715-1818) [Full HD] mini.png

Preset "Medium" (1024x768) - Avg. 89,81 FPS, Min. 40,94 FPS
Crysis Medium Radeon HD 3850 (715-1818) mini.png

Preset "Medium" (Full HD) - Avg. 46,37 FPS, Min. 34,27 FPS
Crysis Medium Radeon HD 3850 (715-1818) [Full HD] mini.png
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 685
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby rick6 » 2016-9-26 @ 23:52

Not a Phenom II X4 by any means but least it's better than nothing.


Athlon X2 4200+ with DDR1 memory:

Image

And here a few more games and video cards tested
http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=48709

EDIT: I just noticed you're the last one posting on the thread so it's nothing new to you. Still, maybe someone else could reply to you now :)
User avatar
rick6
Member
 
Posts: 321
Joined: 2012-11-02 @ 02:11
Location: Portugal

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby Jade Falcon » 2016-9-27 @ 01:34

I seem a voodoo6k get a tick under 1k fps in quake 3 before.....





Zoomed in at a wall.
User avatar
Jade Falcon
l33t
 
Posts: 2826
Joined: 2016-5-08 @ 19:23
Location: Stuck in Silent Hill after bailing out of my Eyrie

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby rick6 » 2016-9-27 @ 15:29

Jade Falcon wrote:I seem a voodoo6k get a tick under 1k fps in quake 3 before.....





Zoomed in at a wall.



ah! That's what i did back in the day back in 1999 with unrealtournament while running it in software mode with my AMD-k6 in order to boost my damaged ego. Staring at a wall at 320x200 with low res textures. 45-50 fps oh yes :(

Still, i wish i had a QX9770 and a board supporting both this cpu and AGP so that i could redo all my benchmarks that i did with my Athlon X2 4200+.
User avatar
rick6
Member
 
Posts: 321
Joined: 2012-11-02 @ 02:11
Location: Portugal

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby agent_x007 » 2016-9-27 @ 18:33

rick6 wrote:Still, i wish i had a QX9770 and a board supporting both this cpu and AGP so that i could redo all my benchmarks that i did with my Athlon X2 4200+.
Let me help you with it :)
Image
Image
Image
I got all 3DMark's from '99 Max till '06 as well.

I added E5700 @ 4GHz and P4EE 3,2GHz @ 3,53GHz for completeness ;)
"E5700" @ 4GHz serttings : LINK
P4EE 3,2GHz @ 3,53GHz settings : LINK
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 685
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby shiva2004 » 2016-9-27 @ 22:30

I have a 4CoreDual-Sata2 myself, but with a humble Pentium D 920, much more in line with what the chipset was designed originally for, and taking into account that the Asrock 4CoreDual were dubbed as bad motherboards for quad cores, the fact that you can run an overclocked QX9770 in it is amazing. Have you modded the mobo or is it in its original configuration?
Very nice, anyway.
shiva2004
Member
 
Posts: 122
Joined: 2016-3-18 @ 10:30

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby Standard Def Steve » 2016-9-27 @ 22:52

I have a few benchmarks from my overclocked Phenom II X6 system. None of these benchmarks use 6 cores, so performance should be identical to a similarly-clocked X4. Oh, and I'm using a GTX 680 GPU. I know it's not exactly what you asked for, but it's the closest I've got. I don't think you'll find many Phenom II rigs out there with AGP graphics. :)

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4070MHz
Asus Crosshair IV Formula
16GB DDR3-1760 CL9
GTX 680 at stock

3DMark05:
1090T 4GHz 3D05.png


Doom 3 v1.0 @ 1024x768 Ultra
Phenom II: 351.6 fps (Win7)
1090T 4GHz D3.png


Core 2 Quad: 358.9 fps. Keep in mind that the C2Q is running XP and the Phenom is running Win7. The Phenom would definitely come out on top if it were running XP.
Q6700 4GHz D3.png



SuperPi:
I'm not sure why the Phenom II is so slow in SuperPi, but at least the performance deficiency in SuperPi doesn't translate to any other benchmarks.

Pentium II 300MHz - FSB66 - 192MB EDO: 9m 3.772s
K6-2 500MHz - FSB100, 1MB L2 - 256MB PC100: 8m 34.526s
Athlon 1333MHz - FSB266 - 512MB PC133: 2m 14.914s

Celeron 2600MHz (Northwood) - FSB400 - 1GB DDR266: 1m 42.688s
Pentium III-S 1575MHz - FSB150 - 2GB DDR300: 1m 26.311s
Pentium 4 2400MHz - FSB400 - 1GB DDR266: 1m 14.547s

Pentium 4 3060MHz (Prescott) - FSB533 - 1GB DDR333: 54.438s
Athlon 64 (San Diego) 2640MHz - 2GB DDR440 DC: 32.859s
Core 2 Duo (Merom) 1833MHz - FSB667 - 2GB DDR2-667 DC: 31.356s
Core Duo (Yonah) 2000MHz - FSB667 - 2GB DDR2-667 DC: 30.491s

Pentium M (Dothan) 2700MHz - FSB540 - 2GB DDR2-540 DC: 29.843s
Opteron (Denmark) 3000MHz - Socket939 - 4GB DDR400 DC: 28.750s
Core 2 Duo 2933MHz - FSB1066 - 4GB DDR3-1066 DC: 17.387s

Phenom II X6 4070MHz - 16GB DDR3-1760 DC: 15.063s
Core 2 Quad 4000MHz - FSB1600 - 8GB DDR3-1600 DC: 11.963s
i7-4930k 4500MHz - 32GB DDR3-2400 QC: 7.781s


You can also see how the Phenom does with software video decoding in my Video for CPUs thread.
Standard Def Steve
Oldbie
 
Posts: 806
Joined: 2012-9-15 @ 08:04

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby agent_x007 » 2016-9-28 @ 06:55

Thank you for all results so far :)
@up I know. For anyone who doesn't know - Phenom II x4 with AGP capability setup requires one of these :
ALiveDual-eSATA2 (LINK)
AM2NF3-VSTA (LINK)
shiva2004 wrote:I have a 4CoreDual-Sata2 myself, but with a humble Pentium D 920, much more in line with what the chipset was designed originally for, and taking into account that the Asrock 4CoreDual were dubbed as bad motherboards for quad cores, the fact that you can run an overclocked QX9770 in it is amazing. Have you modded the mobo or is it in its original configuration?
Very nice, anyway.
First of all don't get the wrong idea : They are BAD MB for almost all Quad Cores.
Why ?
Because maximum stable FSB sucks on them (for Quad Cores it's only 270-290MHz), and those boards can't adjust Vcore from BIOS (which is a real problem when MB has -0,05V difference between VID setting and what acutally goes to CPU in IDLE, and in LOAD you get Vdroop on top of that [think almost -0,1V between BIOS setting and Load Vcore]).

How to get around that limitations (or at least how I did it) ?

FSB limit :
You either go high stock multi (like x10 minimum, and x12-x14 as an optimal value for Core 2 Duo/Core 2 Quad).
Pentium Dual-Core E5600/E5700 are a good example here because they got low 800MHz FSB as start (+are cheap and OC well on stock Vcore).
It may be impossible to get them to post on 1066MHz without Flexibility Option enabled tho (FSB Straps).
OR, you go full extreme mode :
With Core 2 Extreme/Pentium Extreme Edition (and unlocked multipliers for CPU), maximum FSB limit isn't that big of a deal in their case (you will still lose few % of performance because of lower FSB when comparing to OC'ed "locked" chips on P965/P35 based boards).

Other problem for good OC on these boards, is no Vcore control (and it can limit OC quite a lot, even on unlocked Extreme chips).
I knew from my Vannila P5B Quad core tests, that 45nm quad's don't need a lot VRM power to stay stable under 4GHz mark, so higher Vcore should be OK heat wise (it will require some airflow over VRM section, but that's why I used biggest "BOX" Intel cooling I could find :)).
Then I used a simple VID pin mod to make board think my CPU's default voltage is 1,3875V (instead of standard 1,2875V).
VID Pin Mod uses the same basic method as the other LGA 775 pin mod, the "BSEL Mod", but instead of joining BSEL Pins, you tape/connect VID pins to "Low" and/or "High" pins that are nearby.

I did BSEL mod my PDC E5800 to 1066MHz FSB, to make better FSB Strap config possible (ie. with no need for "Flexibility option" to work on 1066MHz FSB). Bit of warning here : Doing BSEL mod on E5800, required VID Mod for CPU to even POST.
You can go lower multi on locked higher multi Core 2 type chips with this boards, but only after changing max. multi in BIOS (just FYI).

Between unlocked/high multi CPU and BSEL/VID Pin mods (that use tin foil and double sided tape's glue :D), the only thing left was to update BIOS to latest Beta (can be found here : LINK).
And that was it.
No hardcore hardware modding (ie. cutting socket), no cables to join some capacitors and coils to some other stuff, etc.
Just cheap and simple method that does GREAT things for performance.

To sum it all up :
Those ASRock AGP LGA 775 boards, are the only ones I enountered so far that actually NEED a Extreme Edition CPU's to get most out of them (which is curious in itself, since they are usually at least 4x as expensive as boards themselves...).
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 685
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby Standard Def Steve » 2016-9-29 @ 19:24

I was doing some GTX 970 benching with the Q6700 @ 4GHz.

Here's a Doom3 run under Win7: 349.1 fps
The Phenom is slightly faster than the C2Q, although this could really be considered a tie.
Q6700-4GHz-D3-Win7.PNG
Standard Def Steve
Oldbie
 
Posts: 806
Joined: 2012-9-15 @ 08:04

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby rick6 » 2016-10-13 @ 14:53

agent_x007 wrote:
rick6 wrote:Still, i wish i had a QX9770 and a board supporting both this cpu and AGP so that i could redo all my benchmarks that i did with my Athlon X2 4200+.
Let me help you with it :)
Image
Image
Image
I got all 3DMark's from '99 Max till '06 as well.

I added E5700 @ 4GHz and P4EE 3,2GHz @ 3,53GHz for completeness ;)
"E5700" @ 4GHz serttings : LINK
P4EE 3,2GHz @ 3,53GHz settings : LINK



Thank you for sharing and sorry for awnsering so late. It's very nice to see the Geforce 6800 Ultra vs newcomers!
I'm about to get a 7950GX2 and test it on a i3 2120 which should be the same as your CPU give or take. I may post some results as soon as i get it.
User avatar
rick6
Member
 
Posts: 321
Joined: 2012-11-02 @ 02:11
Location: Portugal

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby Offordef » 2017-2-13 @ 12:20

agent_x007 wrote:If anyone's got results for Phenom II x4 with 4670 AGP or 3850 AGP GPU's... please share.
I need them for comparison ;)


I have a ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA, HD4670 AGP and HD3850 AGP (+ a GW 7800GS+ GS 24P),
In the pipeline for a while but stil waiting on a affordable Phenom 2 X4 970 and plan to finish my Dual/Quad K8 AGP project first.
But this should be a very interesting comparison.
Offordef
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2017-2-10 @ 12:43

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby copados33 » 2017-2-13 @ 20:08

What did you do to install the 3850 agp drivers in Windows XP? I have a Sapphire 3850 agp and I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to get it working under WinXP, I ended up installing Windows Vista on my Pentium 4 setup.
User avatar
copados33
Newbie
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 2010-11-16 @ 12:50

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby SPBHM » 2017-2-13 @ 20:37

Offordef wrote:I have a ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA, HD4670 AGP and HD3850 AGP (+ a GW 7800GS+ GS 24P),
In the pipeline for a while but stil waiting on a affordable Phenom 2 X4 970 and plan to finish my Dual/Quad K8 AGP project first.
But this should be a very interesting comparison.


I'm curious to see how it performs compared to the OPs PC

which one is the ultimate AGP configuration, nforce 3 am2/am3 boards or the VIA 775 ones; probably the 775, but...
SPBHM
Member
 
Posts: 373
Joined: 2012-10-26 @ 15:59

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby agent_x007 » 2017-2-13 @ 20:57

copados33 wrote:What did you do to install the 3850 agp drivers in Windows XP? I have a Sapphire 3850 agp and I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to get it working under WinXP, I ended up installing Windows Vista on my Pentium 4 setup.
You can see driver in GPU-z window :)
I used Catalyst 10.2 XP without "AGP hotfix" and I simply forced installation of the right driver by going to device manager, picking manual installation option with manual .inf file load, and after Windows gave me a list of devices inside .inf - I picked the right card model and confirm to install driver.
After restart, results can be seen in GPU-z window ;)
Oh, I partially installed (or simply let installer unpack) Catalyst drivers package into default folder, and then I manually exit before Catalyst Control Center installation.
You must know the path to driver folder (since it's needed in .inf file search).

@up LGA 775 has support for Windows 7 and later OS'es.
AM2NF3 doesn't (no GART driver for AGP port/GPU).
In case of performance... I simply do not know.
Depends on CPU OC and RAM settings + MB drivers.
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 685
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby MrMateczko » 2017-2-15 @ 14:23

Windows 7 has builtin GART driver for nForce 3, specifically the PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00D2 and PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00E2 ones. I have installed Windows 7 on my K8Upgrade-NF3 and everything was detected and installed out of the box, except the AC97 driver, as ASRock correctly notes.
MrMateczko
Member
 
Posts: 114
Joined: 2015-12-22 @ 10:56

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby Arctic » 2017-4-21 @ 05:49

Why do you use Catalyst 10.2 ?
Image
Athlon XP 3000+ Barton @ 2.25GHz / 512MB DDR333 CL2 (2-2-5 1T) / Asus A7V333 2.0 / Voodoo 5 5500 64MB AGP 2x / Soundblaster 512 / Pioneer 105S / Win98SE
I am looking for Goldfinger Device - PM me!
User avatar
Arctic
Oldbie
 
Posts: 629
Joined: 2015-1-13 @ 19:32

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby agent_x007 » 2017-4-21 @ 10:46

Arctic wrote:Why do you use Catalyst 10.2 ?

Because Catalyst 9.9 and older doesn't know what a HD 5870 is :)
And using first driver released for any given card, is not a good idea.
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 685
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby Arctic » 2017-4-21 @ 12:49

LOL I meant why do you use 10.2 for the 3850 AGP?
Image
Athlon XP 3000+ Barton @ 2.25GHz / 512MB DDR333 CL2 (2-2-5 1T) / Asus A7V333 2.0 / Voodoo 5 5500 64MB AGP 2x / Soundblaster 512 / Pioneer 105S / Win98SE
I am looking for Goldfinger Device - PM me!
User avatar
Arctic
Oldbie
 
Posts: 629
Joined: 2015-1-13 @ 19:32

Re: QX9770 + HD 3850 AGP vs. 3DMark's and Games :)

Postby agent_x007 » 2017-4-21 @ 23:45

Arctic wrote:LOL I meant why do you use 10.2 for the 3850 AGP?

To be consistent with HD 5870 results :)
If you compare two GPU's, you should compare it with the same driver if possible (at least that's how I see it).

Also Cat. 10.2 worked in almost every test I did on it, so I didn't saw the need of changing them for older/newer.
The only test that was having stability problems was 3DMark 05 (but even that was on 4GHz PDC only, since both QX9770 OC and Pentium 4 EE OC worked with 3DMark 05 on Cat 10.2 flawlessly).

Other than that, I had to BIOS mod Fan curve for few of the cards, because they simply ran too hot for my liking on OC'ed PDC and "C2Q" systems (out of BOX settings).
Cards moded were :
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512MB (single slot), Sapphire HD 2600 XT 512MB, HD 3850 512MB (IceQ3).
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 685
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06


Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests