Halo CE on Geforce2 Ti

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

Re: Halo CE on Geforce2 Ti

Postby tanasen » 2017-11-14 @ 14:30

candle_86 wrote:
You can try a Radeon 9800 Pro/Geforce 6600GT they could run it at Ultra at 1024x768


With these cards the bottleneck would be severe. Will there be any difference over an FX5700?
PC1:P3 1000EB,ECS P6BAP-A+,320mb SDRAM,Chaintech Geforce2 Ti 32mb,Hercules 3D Prophet 4500 64mb,Diamond Monster 3D Voodoo,Diamond Stealth 3D 2000 Pro,Sounblaster CT4810
PC2:P3 800,MSI MS-6178,256mb SDRAM,3DFX Voodoo 3 2000 PCI,Sounblaster Live! 5.1
User avatar
tanasen
Newbie
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2017-3-22 @ 18:58

Re: Halo CE on Geforce2 Ti

Postby candle_86 » 2017-11-14 @ 16:45

tanasen wrote:
candle_86 wrote:
You can try a Radeon 9800 Pro/Geforce 6600GT they could run it at Ultra at 1024x768


With these cards the bottleneck would be severe. Will there be any difference over an FX5700?


yes the FX was notorisly bad at Halo, unless you force it to run in DX 8 mode, otherwise the FX cards rendering in SM2 during halo make you think you are running on a geforce 4 MX lol
I7 950 - Intel DX58SO - GTX 950 - 12gb DDR3 1333 - 250gb SSD - Windows 10 Pro
Pentium 4 3000 - Abit IC7-G - 6800GT - 2gb DDR500 - 500gb SATA - Windows XP Home
Sempron 2500 - ECS KT600A - Ti 4200 - 512mb PC-100 - 80gb IDE - Windows ME
User avatar
candle_86
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1817
Joined: 2010-8-06 @ 01:04
Location: Fort Worth, Republic of Texas

Re: Halo CE on Geforce2 Ti

Postby swaaye » 2017-11-14 @ 21:14

Just look at the chart on the previous page to see how these cards will run the game.

I think Halo might default to Direct3D 8 on a FX card. I wouldn't use an FX card for Halo.
swaaye
Moderator
 
Posts: 6910
Joined: 2002-7-22 @ 21:24
Location: WI, USA

Re: Halo CE on Geforce2 Ti

Postby fitzpatr » 2017-11-14 @ 21:35

tanasen wrote:
RogueTrip2012 wrote:I'd say radeon is faster but would be bottlenecked by a P3 1ghz.

I built a 5700 Ultra with a Pent4 3ghz w/HT system back when it was new. Before that it was a 1.2ghz Taulatin with a GF3 Ti200.

With the P4 w/HT system even at 800x600 Doom3 was spotty to were it never even played it very long . HL2 had to drop DX7 or 8 but did finish the game on that system.

My point is I don't think those games will run well on that P3.


So what would be a decent upgrade in order to reach the maximum potential of the 1000eb, apart from the ram which could be maximised to 384mb? Would the 6200 and fx5200 also be bottlenecked by the cpu? I have seen a video of a P3 866mhz running doom3 on a Geforce6200, quiet good, maybe 20-30fps.


The GeForce2 Ti came out roughly 2 years after the Pentium III 1000EB. I think you're already at the point where the GPU is making good use of the 1GHz chip. Our Pentium III 1GHz, at the time, had a Riva TNT2 (which was a value card at the time). We did put in a Geforce FX5500AGP 256MB shortly before we replaced the computer, but that was certainly CPU limited.

Any games that won't run well will be much better suited to a well-clocked Pentium 4 and GeForce 4/Radeon 9600 or later.
MT-32 Old, CM-32L, CM-500, SC-55mkII, SC-88Pro, SC-D70, MU2000EX
P4EE 3.4GHz/P4C800-E/4GB Ballistix Tracer DDR-500/HD3850/Audigy 2ZS Platinum
PIII-1.4S/TUSL2-C/Voodoo5 5500/MX300
K6-III+/450/GA-5AX/G400 Max/Voodoo2 SLI/CT1750/MPU-401AT/Audigy 2ZS
fitzpatr
Member
 
Posts: 135
Joined: 2016-10-30 @ 06:50
Location: Canada

Re: Halo CE on Geforce2 Ti

Postby tanasen » 2017-11-14 @ 22:56

fitzpatr wrote:The GeForce2 Ti came out roughly 2 years after the Pentium III 1000EB. I think you're already at the point where the GPU is making good use of the 1GHz chip. Our Pentium III 1GHz, at the time, had a Riva TNT2 (which was a value card at the time). We did put in a Geforce FX5500AGP 256MB shortly before we replaced the computer, but that was certainly CPU limited.

Any games that won't run well will be much better suited to a well-clocked Pentium 4 and GeForce 4/Radeon 9600 or later.


Actually the P3 1000EB came out in March 2000, and the Geforce2 Ultra (which the Ti is based on, as it's a stripped version) in August 2000.
From all the cards I found, the 9500 Pro seems to be the oldest of all (released in October 2002) and would be a mid-range card back then.
PC1:P3 1000EB,ECS P6BAP-A+,320mb SDRAM,Chaintech Geforce2 Ti 32mb,Hercules 3D Prophet 4500 64mb,Diamond Monster 3D Voodoo,Diamond Stealth 3D 2000 Pro,Sounblaster CT4810
PC2:P3 800,MSI MS-6178,256mb SDRAM,3DFX Voodoo 3 2000 PCI,Sounblaster Live! 5.1
User avatar
tanasen
Newbie
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2017-3-22 @ 18:58

Re: Halo CE on Geforce2 Ti

Postby candle_86 » 2017-11-15 @ 16:38

honestly id say anything over a Geforce 3 Ti 500/ Ti 4200 is overkill, you can however crank all settings past this point as long as the gpu can handle the load
I7 950 - Intel DX58SO - GTX 950 - 12gb DDR3 1333 - 250gb SSD - Windows 10 Pro
Pentium 4 3000 - Abit IC7-G - 6800GT - 2gb DDR500 - 500gb SATA - Windows XP Home
Sempron 2500 - ECS KT600A - Ti 4200 - 512mb PC-100 - 80gb IDE - Windows ME
User avatar
candle_86
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1817
Joined: 2010-8-06 @ 01:04
Location: Fort Worth, Republic of Texas

Re: Halo CE on Geforce2 Ti

Postby tanasen » 2017-11-15 @ 20:59

candle_86 wrote:honestly id say anything over a Geforce 3 Ti 500/ Ti 4200 is overkill, you can however crank all settings past this point as long as the gpu can handle the load


Ok, thanks. I'll look for these then.
PC1:P3 1000EB,ECS P6BAP-A+,320mb SDRAM,Chaintech Geforce2 Ti 32mb,Hercules 3D Prophet 4500 64mb,Diamond Monster 3D Voodoo,Diamond Stealth 3D 2000 Pro,Sounblaster CT4810
PC2:P3 800,MSI MS-6178,256mb SDRAM,3DFX Voodoo 3 2000 PCI,Sounblaster Live! 5.1
User avatar
tanasen
Newbie
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2017-3-22 @ 18:58

Previous

Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dr.zeissler and 2 guests