Rendition Verite Thread

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby leileilol » 2017-5-02 @ 00:48

GLQuake should work on NT4, i mean it was developed on NT4 with NT-only GL supporting pro-workstation 3d hardware in the first place and NT4 had OpenGL support out of the box....
by the way, DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9805
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby swaaye » 2017-5-02 @ 16:54

I think he meant Rendition didn't have OpenGL on NT4. I've never tried it.
swaaye
Moderator
 
Posts: 7487
Joined: 2002-7-22 @ 21:24
Location: WI, USA

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby bergqvistjl » 2017-5-16 @ 12:04

Is there a database of all the different rendition cards released, along with their Chipset (V1, V2), Memory & Clock speed etc?
User avatar
bergqvistjl
Member
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 2010-6-08 @ 12:06

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby Godlike » 2017-10-15 @ 03:31

To all Rendition Vérité fans

Image

can be used as custom case badge for eg.
Image
ASUS P2B-F, PII 400Mhz, 128MB-SDR, 3Dfx Diamond Monster 3D II SLI, Matrox Millennium II AGP, Diamond Monster Sound MX300
User avatar
Godlike
Member
 
Posts: 393
Joined: 2015-1-19 @ 02:52
Location: UNN Rickenbacker

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby eightbit » 2017-10-18 @ 01:26

I have a 4MB Stealth II S220 myself. Oddly enough the Rendition reference driver I have installed reports it as a V2200. I am not sure if it is because it has the latest/last v1.36 BIOS or something is different about the card. In any case, I *love* this card. It is the only card I own out of maybe a dozen PCI cards (S3's, 3D blaster, Savage4. and some others) that can handle some games odd frequencies and resolutions (like DOS Cannon Fodder) and the picture is so much better on it when using an LED display than any of my other cards for some reason.

Also, the claim of DOS FPS games running terrible is not true. Doom and Doom II run fine for me with this card. Admittedly they run smoother with other cards, but it is not bad at all and certainly not as bad as people make it out to be.

Yeah, the Rendition cards are really fantastic. Too bad they are so rare (except maybe the S220 that is). I recommend picking one up if you do not have one already. You will not be disappointed.
eightbit
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2017-8-26 @ 16:10

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby Osprey » 2017-10-18 @ 04:31

eightbit wrote:I have a 4MB Stealth II S220 myself. Oddly enough the Rendition reference driver I have installed reports it as a V2200. I am not sure if it is because it has the latest/last v1.36 BIOS or something is different about the card.


I remember the S220 being reported as a V2200 way back when it was new. I think that the V2200 and V2100 were really just the same chip and the ones that didn't reliably pass tests at the clock speed required for V2200 labeling got labeled as V2100 and shipped off to Diamond for the S220. In fact, I think that the S220 might've been the only major V2100 card produced (at least for NA markets). I guess that Diamond was the only manufacturer willing to take the risk on the reject chips. They then overclocked the chips, I believe, so that they were reported as V2200 in the drivers, and named the card the S220 (which makes you think that it has the V2200 in it). Regardless, I remember being thrilled thinking that I essentially got a V2200 for only $99. That was $50 cheaper than my previous card, the state of the art Intergraph Reactor (V1000), and more powerful. I believe that actual V2200 cards were overclocked, as well, so they were still faster than the S220, but you simply couldn't beat the value of the S220.
Osprey
Member
 
Posts: 257
Joined: 2017-7-27 @ 21:32

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby idspispopd » 2018-1-18 @ 12:48

According to these postings in the VOGONS Driver Library thread
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=30649&start=480#p485066
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=30649&p=519301#p519301
a Rendition V1000 card by ExpertColor should exist, model number is VR1040.
I can't find anything about this card, though, so maybe it wasn't actually produced.
idspispopd
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1210
Joined: 2012-2-15 @ 21:08
Location: Hamburg / Germany

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2018-7-13 @ 15:38

Does anyone have the original CDs that came with the Canopus Total3D Verite? I picked up one of these cards recently and I've been playing with it. I also managed to find a pair of 3D shutter glasses that are (apparently) the same as the ones that Canopus bundled with the card, but I'm not sure where to find the games that actually work with this card in stereo 3D.

Also, I have an odd problem with the card. When I start Windows 98SE with the command prompt or restart in DOS mode, everything looks normal but the bottom line of text (the line I type on) will be invisible once the screen has had to scroll at least one line. When I type there is nothing there, but hitting enter shifts everything up a line and I can see the command I typed, but the new prompt is still invisible. It isn't a screen alignment issue. There is plenty of space, and it shows the last line as long as the screen hasn't had to scroll yet. But once I hit enter and it scrolls all of the lines up, the last line is now invisible and I can't see what I'm typing. What would cause this? Its very strange.
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get $10 off your first purchase with my invite link!
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1535
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby fabiensanglard » 2019-3-21 @ 20:27

I am writing an article about VQuake and the Rendition Verite. Unfortunately I don't have the hardware to generate screenshots (or even better, a video). Is anybody on this thread able to post 640x480 screenshots (the best to compare would be a video like this one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZVOVwHKgrG0).
fabiensanglard
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017-8-18 @ 06:43

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby swaaye » 2019-3-21 @ 20:41

fabiensanglard wrote:I am writing an article about VQuake and the Rendition Verite. Unfortunately I don't have the hardware to generate screenshots (or even better, a video). Is anybody on this thread able to post 640x480 screenshots (the best to compare would be a video like this one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZVOVwHKgrG0).


I have screens of VQuake on V1000. They are 768x576 which is the highest resolution that can be rendered.

I also have some V1000 videos on YouTube but no longer have the source files for them.

These have the edge anti-aliasing enabled and you can see it missing edges that intersect polys. Particularly the last one with the dead monster.
Attachments
Quake16.jpg
Quake15.jpg
Quake13.jpg
Quake10.jpg
Quake04.jpg
Quake02.jpg
swaaye
Moderator
 
Posts: 7487
Joined: 2002-7-22 @ 21:24
Location: WI, USA

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby fabiensanglard » 2019-3-22 @ 02:36

This is awesome. I assume you give me permission to use the images (the last one is especially interesting because of the monster)?

1/ Is it part of a demo1, demo2, or demo3? If it is I can try to find the same frame and overlay with software renderer and GLrenderer.
2/ The V1000 card images from the first page are dead links. Anybody has a backup?
fabiensanglard
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017-8-18 @ 06:43

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby swaaye » 2019-3-22 @ 03:54

fabiensanglard wrote:This is awesome. I assume you give me permission to use the images (the last one is especially interesting because of the monster)?

1/ Is it part of a demo1, demo2, or demo3? If it is I can try to find the same frame and overlay with software renderer and GLrenderer.
2/ The V1000 card images from the first page are dead links. Anybody has a backup?

I don't remember if they are from a demo but it's likely. Here is a shot of the Sierra Screamin' 3D.

Yup you have permission to use the images.
Attachments
IMG_4970.JPG
swaaye
Moderator
 
Posts: 7487
Joined: 2002-7-22 @ 21:24
Location: WI, USA

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby Garrett W » 2019-3-22 @ 08:45

Hello Fabien, I don't have a Rendition video card, but I wanted to say thank you for all the awesome articles and books you've released!
User avatar
Garrett W
Member
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 2018-9-23 @ 09:54

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby fabiensanglard » 2019-3-22 @ 16:21

@Garrett: Hi :) ! Thanks for these kind words :)!
@swaaye Thanks for the card picture. I will take a look at playdemo to see if i can find these frames.
fabiensanglard
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017-8-18 @ 06:43

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby fabiensanglard » 2019-3-25 @ 01:18

I found one of the frame from demo3. They align perfectly, however the V1000 looks greenish and I don't think it comes from the gamma correction.

Image

1/ Any idea why the Verite colors are more green? Maybe it happend during the conversion PCX to JPG?
2/ I see HUD messages ("you got the shells" and so on). Are they disabled in vQuake, I cannot find the option to disable them? EDIT: I commented Con_DrawNotify () and recompiled so they are gone . now :P.
Attachments
Quake13_software.png
fabiensanglard
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017-8-18 @ 06:43

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby xjas » 2019-3-25 @ 01:52

^^ Not sure if this is related, but if you run Descent 2 on a V2x00, the game is much purpler compared to software (the D2Verite port was designed for the V1000). Could be some color balance changes between the two chips, with the V1000 skewing green & the V2x00 skewing purple (green being the "opposite" of purple.)
User avatar
xjas
l33t
 
Posts: 2147
Joined: 2015-9-07 @ 02:29

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby swaaye » 2019-3-25 @ 03:01

I don't know why they are green so I decided to make new screenshots. These are from a fresh CD install of Quake 1.06 with vQuake "1.08b1". Run in DOS. Only settings changed were resolution, set max screen size, and "r_antialias 7" (edge and particle AA). I ran it on the MSI K7N420 nForce board I've been playing with lately. Fortunately I have a HDD with DOS set up so I was up and running quickly.

vQuake outputs 24-bit bitmaps.

New vQuake screens and some other screens I made years ago. Lossless PNG format. The original BMPs are in the folder in a 7z file.
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/2z0yr50 ... tion_V1000

Here is also a VGA capture I have on Youtube.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pYXF_VhAhlI
Attachments
QUAKE08.png
no more green
swaaye
Moderator
 
Posts: 7487
Joined: 2002-7-22 @ 21:24
Location: WI, USA

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby Stiletto » 2019-4-02 @ 20:15

Fabien Sanglard takes on VQuake and the Rendition Vérité (published 04/01/2019)
http://fabiensanglard.net/vquake/index.html
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 4365
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby swaaye » 2019-4-02 @ 21:57

Nice article! Good insight into the V1000 story. The comments from Walt Donovan are great.
swaaye
Moderator
 
Posts: 7487
Joined: 2002-7-22 @ 21:24
Location: WI, USA

Re: Rendition Verite Thread

Postby Garrett W » 2019-4-02 @ 22:24

Indeed, great read as always! Can't wait for it to be incorporated in the Quake Game Engine Black Book :wink:
User avatar
Garrett W
Member
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 2018-9-23 @ 09:54

PreviousNext

Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests