My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby Palladium » 2017-2-05 @ 04:05

Image

4790K + GTX1070 + Win10. Pretty sure I will get way higher scores with WinXP.

My old XP1700 Tbred B @ 1833/333 and 9800 Pro did 13K, IIRC.


rick6 wrote:Like you i have a Radeon HD7870 and 3dmark won't run on it claiming i don't have enough video memory. I guess 2GB of video memory isn't enough for a 2001 3D benchmark :D


My 2500K PC failed the original HoMM3 system requirement test...because 8GB of RAM is obviously less than 32MB. :lol:

Even on Win10 it is only using 60MB of RAM, while Hexcells Infinite in 2014 which is a much, much simpler 2D game is taking 170MB. It's ridiculous how unoptimized games today have become. *cough* DX:MD, Dishonored 2 *cough*
Palladium
Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 2017-1-14 @ 17:30

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby SPBHM » 2017-2-05 @ 12:04

I think I was testing this last year when I got the p3 750
V4 4500 and 9500PRO all stock on win98

2016-3dm01-9500pro-p3750-stock.jpg


2016-3dmark2100-v4500-p3750stoxck.jpg


also Intel HD 2000
hd200 01.jpg


the HD 2000 feels worse in games than it looks in here
SPBHM
Member
 
Posts: 415
Joined: 2012-10-26 @ 15:59

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby agent_x007 » 2017-2-22 @ 19:04

Standard Def Steve wrote:Netburst just can't perform. :blah:
Here's a Pentium D 935 overclocked to 4GHz. Much less than even half of the 4GHz Q6700's score.

3DMark01 was never SSE2 optimized and certainly hated CPUs with long pipelines, and Presler had an embarrassingly long 31 stage pipeline. Here's how it compares against a bunch of other CPUs, all with far fewer stages in their pipes.
Who would have thought maxed Netburst could match maxed Athlon 64 :)
3DMark 01 SE XP (GTX 780 Ti) mini.png
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby Standard Def Steve » 2017-2-23 @ 06:21

agent_x007 wrote:
Standard Def Steve wrote:Netburst just can't perform. :blah:
Here's a Pentium D 935 overclocked to 4GHz. Much less than even half of the 4GHz Q6700's score.

3DMark01 was never SSE2 optimized and certainly hated CPUs with long pipelines, and Presler had an embarrassingly long 31 stage pipeline. Here's how it compares against a bunch of other CPUs, all with far fewer stages in their pipes.
Who would have thought maxed Netburst could match maxed Athlon 64 :)
3DMark 01 SE XP (GTX 780 Ti) mini.png

Good score, but that crazy 5.1GHz PEE still hasn't exactly matched my top K8 score. :happy:
I mean, sure, the frame rates are really close in most of the tests, but the Opty is still quite a bit faster in the low detail Dragothic and high detail Lobby tests. And it's doing this with plain old DDR1. Of course, that DDR1 is slightly overclocked and very tightly timed (2-2-2), which probably helps immensely. The memory latency on this rig is just amazingly low.
Standard Def Steve
Oldbie
 
Posts: 903
Joined: 2012-9-15 @ 08:04

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby agent_x007 » 2017-2-23 @ 07:27

Standard Def Steve wrote:Good score, but that crazy 5.1GHz PEE still hasn't exactly matched my top K8 score. :happy:
I mean, sure, the frame rates are really close in most of the tests, but the Opty is still quite a bit faster in the low detail Dragothic and high detail Lobby tests. And it's doing this with plain old DDR1. Of course, that DDR1 is slightly overclocked and very tightly timed (2-2-2), which probably helps immensely. The memory latency on this rig is just amazingly low.
5% difference...
OK, maybe not exactly, but close enough :)
Athlon 64 has IMC, Pentium D doesn't - and I think that's the main problem (for Pentium D at least).

PS. I prefer Pentium XE or "PXE".
There was that Pentium 4 EE thing, but it's still P4EE and not PEE :P
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby Standard Def Steve » 2017-3-02 @ 10:46

Here's a Phenom X6 1090T @ 4069MHz. I'm sure it would score ~75K under XP.
K10 is much faster than K8. My K8-based Opteron 185 @ 3133 MHz can only score 28983 under Win7.

Image
Standard Def Steve
Oldbie
 
Posts: 903
Joined: 2012-9-15 @ 08:04

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby agent_x007 » 2017-3-12 @ 21:49

Standard Def Steve wrote:Good score, but that crazy 5.1GHz PEE still hasn't exactly matched my top K8 score. :happy:
I mean, sure, the frame rates are really close in most of the tests, but the Opty is still quite a bit faster in the low detail Dragothic and high detail Lobby tests. And it's doing this with plain old DDR1. Of course, that DDR1 is slightly overclocked and very tightly timed (2-2-2), which probably helps immensely. The memory latency on this rig is just amazingly low.
Pentium D 915 (D0) @ 5,15GHz to the rescue :D
3DMark 01 SE mini.png

Memory performance :
cachemem.png
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby Standard Def Steve » 2017-3-23 @ 22:30

agent_x007 wrote:Pentium D 915 (D0) @ 5,15GHz to the rescue :D

Damn son! I think that chip's lack of hyper-threading is helping out. There's no way 50MHz alone is improving the score that much.
Standard Def Steve
Oldbie
 
Posts: 903
Joined: 2012-9-15 @ 08:04

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby kithylin » 2017-3-23 @ 22:42

Standard Def Steve wrote:
agent_x007 wrote:Pentium D 915 (D0) @ 5,15GHz to the rescue :D

Damn son! I think that chip's lack of hyper-threading is helping out. There's no way 50MHz alone is improving the score that much.


Image
User avatar
kithylin
l33t
 
Posts: 2178
Joined: 2011-4-19 @ 01:32
Location: Arlington, Texas

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby agent_x007 » 2017-3-23 @ 23:53

My RAM is also higher clocked (44MHz effetive ;)), oh and Performance Level is at "5" instead of "7" (so IMC efficiency is a LOT better) + IMC itself is higher OC'ed (FSB straps are better).
"HT off" may help a bit too, but I think it's mainly memory tweaking (+50MHz on core clock).
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby kithylin » 2017-3-24 @ 05:21

agent_x007 wrote:Pentium D 915 (D0) @ 5,15GHz to the rescue :D
<snip>
Memory performance : <snip>


So.. tuned my am2 platform a little more. I know it's quite a bit old compared to your P4 system and a much older video card vs your 780 Ti.. and quite a lot slower in physical clock speed... but.. well...
Image
Full image here to read everything: http://www.outfoxed.net/crosshair/Athlon_II_X3_445/3833%20Mhz_(MAX-STABLE)/3dMark-2001se.jpg

So guys, does this count? Can I play too?
User avatar
kithylin
l33t
 
Posts: 2178
Joined: 2011-4-19 @ 01:32
Location: Arlington, Texas

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby Standard Def Steve » 2017-3-24 @ 07:56

Here's a 4.8GHz suicide run on my main machine. I really, really don't like running this thing so close to 1.4v, but I figure 15 minutes for a round of 3DMark01 won't hurt. It's now back to its "normal" 4.5GHz/1.24v. :happy:

95K on Win7 isn't too bad, methinks. Probably would need an overclocked 6700K or 7700K to break 100K on Win7/10.
4930K@4.8, 32GB DDR3-2400 CL10, GTX970, Win7 x64 SP1:
Image
Standard Def Steve
Oldbie
 
Posts: 903
Joined: 2012-9-15 @ 08:04

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby Carlos S. M. » 2017-3-30 @ 00:25

Re run on my Tualatin System, but now with the CPU overclocked at 1.575 ghz, still using the same Geforce 4 Ti 4600 with everything else unchanged, only change was the OS theme set to classic.

Now is actually beating my old P4 1.5 Willamette S423/Rambus PC800/7600GT result, i hoped my 7600GT didn't die so i could bench with the tualatin as well
Attachments
3dmark2.PNG
Carlos S. M.
Oldbie
 
Posts: 648
Joined: 2016-5-25 @ 17:01
Location: Canary Islands, Spain

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby MordekaiZeyo » 2017-4-14 @ 07:36

Intel Pentium 3-S 1266 Mhz and Gainward Geforce 6600 GT 128 MB VRAM.

3DMark2001SE-Gf6600GT.png
Intel Pentium 3-S 1266Mhz | 512 MB DDR-400 @SD-RAM PC133 | Elitegroup P6S5AT | Galaxy Geforce 6600 GT AGP @4x AGP | Terratec Xfire 1024 PCI Soundcard with Dreamblaster X2
Windows 2000 Pro SP4
MordekaiZeyo
Newbie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2017-3-25 @ 13:44
Location: Germany

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby Standard Def Steve » 2017-5-16 @ 06:05

Messing around with a slow 4CoreDual-SATA 2 board.
C2D E6600 2.4GHz/1066, 4CoreDual-SATA2 (VIA PT880 Pro) 2GB DDR2-533 3-3-3-9, onboard audio, XP SP3

With GeForce 6800GT AGP:
Image

With Radeon x1950Pro AGP:
Image

With Geforce 9800GT PCIe (1.1 @ x4)
Yeah, it's a slow board. My 939 Opteron w/ GTX 560 beats the stuffing out of this (and remember, 3D01 is mainly a platform benchmark these days).
Image


I also ran 3DMark06. Here, the x1950Pro AGP is nearly twice as fast as the 6800GT. That's more like it!
With GeForce 6800GT AGP:
3D06 6800GT.PNG


With Radeon x1950Pro AGP:
3D06 x1950Pro.PNG


With Geforce 9800GT PCIe (1.1 @ x4)
3D06 9800GT.PNG
Standard Def Steve
Oldbie
 
Posts: 903
Joined: 2012-9-15 @ 08:04

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby Standard Def Steve » 2017-6-13 @ 19:51

The ASRock 4CoreDual-SATA2 strikes again, this time with an E7600, the fastest dual core CPU it supports.
With AGP Radeon X1950Pro:
4CoreDual E7600 X1950 3D01.PNG


With GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
4CoreDual E7600 8800GTS 3D01.PNG


The 8800 score is rather meh, but I'm not at all surprised by it. This is the slowest, least stable board you can put a C2D on.
Standard Def Steve
Oldbie
 
Posts: 903
Joined: 2012-9-15 @ 08:04

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby agent_x007 » 2017-6-15 @ 16:38

For comparison :

X1950 Pro :
3DMark 01 SE X1950 Pro (580-1400) mini.png
^Slower clocked, yet still faster :)

GTS 450 :
3DMark 01 SE GF GTS 450 (783-3608) mini.png
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby Carlos S. M. » 2017-6-15 @ 17:57

Standard Def Steve wrote:The ASRock 4CoreDual-SATA2 strikes again, this time with an E7600, the fastest dual core CPU it supports.
With AGP Radeon X1950Pro:
4CoreDual E7600 X1950 3D01.PNG


With GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
4CoreDual E7600 8800GTS 3D01.PNG


The 8800 score is rather meh, but I'm not at all surprised by it. This is the slowest, least stable board you can put a C2D on.


I wonder how would the Asrock 4Coredual-sata2 would compare with my ASUS P5PE-VM (i865G), although that limits to AGP cards
Carlos S. M.
Oldbie
 
Posts: 648
Joined: 2016-5-25 @ 17:01
Location: Canary Islands, Spain

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby Standard Def Steve » 2017-6-17 @ 05:40

Carlos S. M. wrote:I wonder how would the Asrock 4Coredual-sata2 would compare with my ASUS P5PE-VM (i865G), although that limits to AGP cards

The Asus board would probably be quite a bit better. I'm finding that not only does RAM and PCI-E throughput suck on this board, but plain old PCI is really slow too. My Radeon 9250 PCI benches much higher on older PIII and P4 boards.

4CoreDual-SATA2 with Pentium E2220
E2220, 9250PCI, 3D01.PNG


Intel i845 with P4-2400:
P4-2400, 9250PCI, 3D01.PNG


QDI Advance 12T with PIII-1575 (PCI bus at 37.5MHz)
P3-1575, 9250PCI, 3D01.PNG


The PCI busses in the old PIII and P4 systems seem capable of pushing the 9250 right to its limit. But the newer 4CoreDual-SATA2 is hitting some sort of PCI bottleneck. I wonder if it's bridged (I believe the PCI-E bus is bridged on this board)?
Standard Def Steve
Oldbie
 
Posts: 903
Joined: 2012-9-15 @ 08:04

Re: My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Postby Oldskoolmaniac » 2017-6-26 @ 19:37

Asus P3V4X, 1.4GHZ P3-S, 2GB RAM, G4 Ti 4200 128MB, 3DMark01 SE
Attachments
Asus P3V4X, 1.4GHZ P3-S, 2GB RAM, G4 Ti 4200 128MB, 3DMark01 SE.JPG
Motherboard Reviews https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=48825
Plastic parts looking nasty and yellow try this https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=51460
User avatar
Oldskoolmaniac
Oldbie
 
Posts: 609
Joined: 2016-5-16 @ 23:58
Location: Michigan

PreviousNext

Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: villeneuve and 2 guests