What's a Cirrus Logic CL-GD5440 able to do?

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

What's a Cirrus Logic CL-GD5440 able to do?

Postby Jade Falcon » 2017-1-04 @ 17:00

I got a small form factor system with a Cirrus Logic CL-GD5440 on the motherboard and have not had a chance to play with it.
What's it able to do? Like max res and 3d? and so on.

I'm going to guess that it lacks 3d and maybe maxes out around 1024x768 or something. But I really don't know anything about it.

Thanks.
Jade Falcon
BANNED
 
Posts: 3217
Joined: 2016-5-08 @ 19:23
Location: Nar Shaddaa.

Re: What's a Cirrus Logic CL-GD5440 able to do?

Postby elod » 2017-1-04 @ 21:36

Phil has a video with it. Even called it his favorite for DOS I think.
It's 2d only and I have a couple of them with 2MB of RAM. I remember using these at 1024 under NT4.
elod
Member
 
Posts: 298
Joined: 2016-5-17 @ 19:01
Location: Timisoara, Romania

Re: What's a Cirrus Logic CL-GD5440 able to do?

Postby brostenen » 2017-1-04 @ 22:04

elod wrote:Phil has a video with it. Even called it his favorite for DOS I think.
It's 2d only and I have a couple of them with 2MB of RAM. I remember using these at 1024 under NT4.


Was that not the CL-5446 and not the CL-5440?
The 5446 beats the 5440. None are 3d cards.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.
User avatar
brostenen
l33t++
 
Posts: 5367
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: What's a Cirrus Logic CL-GD5440 able to do?

Postby elianda » 2017-1-05 @ 01:35

This is a good start to look for capabilities http://www.plasma-online.de/english/ide ... logic.html
Retronn.de - Vintage Hardware Gallery, Drivers, Guides, Videos. Now with file search
Youtube Channel
FTP Server - Driver Archive and more
DVI2PCIe alignment and 2D image quality measurement tool
User avatar
elianda
l33t
 
Posts: 2423
Joined: 2006-4-21 @ 16:56
Location: Halle / Germany

Re: What's a Cirrus Logic CL-GD5440 able to do?

Postby Errius » 2017-1-05 @ 01:46

I have several boards with CL-GD5446 (not CL-GD5440) integrated. All 1 MB RAM, but two of the machines can be upgraded to 2 MB. I haven't done this because the required chips are so expensive.
"EA simply loved Syndicate so much they did it IRL."
User avatar
Errius
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1487
Joined: 2015-12-16 @ 19:16
Location: Lave Station

Re: What's a Cirrus Logic CL-GD5440 able to do?

Postby clueless1 » 2017-1-05 @ 01:51

Errius wrote:I have several boards with CL-GD5446 (not CL-GD5440) integrated. All 1 MB RAM, but two of the machines can be upgraded to 2 MB. I haven't done this because the required chips are so expensive.

I once bought an S3 graphics card specifically because it had the add-on memory slots filled. I paid around $12 for the card, then pulled the memory chips out to to use in other places. It usually cheaper to do this then buy the memory chips by themselves.
User avatar
clueless1
l33t
 
Posts: 3921
Joined: 2015-12-22 @ 17:43
Location: Midwest US

Re: What's a Cirrus Logic CL-GD5440 able to do?

Postby Tetrium » 2017-1-05 @ 02:25

clueless1 wrote:
Errius wrote:I have several boards with CL-GD5446 (not CL-GD5440) integrated. All 1 MB RAM, but two of the machines can be upgraded to 2 MB. I haven't done this because the required chips are so expensive.

I once bought an S3 graphics card specifically because it had the add-on memory slots filled. I paid around $12 for the card, then pulled the memory chips out to to use in other places. It usually cheaper to do this then buy the memory chips by themselves.

Isn't it just nasty somehow to see all those empty memory sockets and knowing you can't fill all of em up? :depressed:
User avatar
Tetrium
l33t++
 
Posts: 7733
Joined: 2010-1-27 @ 18:53
Location: Netherlands

Re: What's a Cirrus Logic CL-GD5440 able to do?

Postby brostenen » 2017-1-05 @ 03:27

When I benched my 5446 up against a S3-Trio64v+ and S3-Virge-325 on a Pentium-133.
I found that they really do not differ that much in speed, they are basically the same.
To make each one outperform the others, you need something way more beefy.
I found the same on a 5x86-133 system. Were the 5446 were slightly faster.
On the P-133 it was one of the S3 cards.

This however is not that much they differ all in all. Only a benchmark suite can tell
that one is faster than the other. In actual gaming, they feel exactly the same speedwise.
The only difference is the quality of the image, were CL cards are a bit warmer
and has a bit more vibrant colours to it. Both of the S3 cards are colder and way more
sharp in their image quality. The S3-Virge I have is a Number9 card, and it is really
bright compared to the S3-Trio64. I had to turn down the light-setting on the monitor.
All this however is on a TFT monitor and not a CRT.
To me, the CL-5446 makes the screen look a bit like it was an old CRT.
This however is only an optical illusion, yet I prefer the CL card over the two S3 cards.

Pricewise they differ extremely. So my conclusion is that you need to go for the cheapest.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.
User avatar
brostenen
l33t++
 
Posts: 5367
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: What's a Cirrus Logic CL-GD5440 able to do?

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-1-05 @ 05:18

clueless1 wrote:
Errius wrote:I have several boards with CL-GD5446 (not CL-GD5440) integrated. All 1 MB RAM, but two of the machines can be upgraded to 2 MB. I haven't done this because the required chips are so expensive.

I once bought an S3 graphics card specifically because it had the add-on memory slots filled. I paid around $12 for the card, then pulled the memory chips out to to use in other places. It usually cheaper to do this then buy the memory chips by themselves.


Even if they're surface mounted, that's what my heat gun is for. :cool:
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 6589
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: What's a Cirrus Logic CL-GD5440 able to do?

Postby clueless1 » 2017-1-05 @ 11:45

gdjacobs wrote:
clueless1 wrote:
Errius wrote:I have several boards with CL-GD5446 (not CL-GD5440) integrated. All 1 MB RAM, but two of the machines can be upgraded to 2 MB. I haven't done this because the required chips are so expensive.

I once bought an S3 graphics card specifically because it had the add-on memory slots filled. I paid around $12 for the card, then pulled the memory chips out to to use in other places. It usually cheaper to do this then buy the memory chips by themselves.


Even if they're surface mounted, that's what my heat gun is for. :cool:

Ah, good point! Is it hard to bend the leads into J's uniformly?
User avatar
clueless1
l33t
 
Posts: 3921
Joined: 2015-12-22 @ 17:43
Location: Midwest US

Re: What's a Cirrus Logic CL-GD5440 able to do?

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-1-05 @ 12:23

Most older cards that I desolder this way, the leads are already bent over.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 6589
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North


Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: knowledge [bot], tincup and 1 guest