Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby sf78 » 2017-1-17 @ 16:18

I didn't want to bump the 2-3 year old thread about overkill systems, but I ran into similar problems with H-L. I have a P3/128MB/Voodoo3 PCI and the frame rate seems to be all over the place. At quiet scenes it might be around 130-170 fps and in battle scenes with lots of explosions and enemies it might slow down to 30-35 fps and stutter. Any thoughts on this? The game is versio 1.0 and GPU drivers are official 3fx from Nov 2000, I also use DX6 and the resolution is 1024x768. Was this a common thing with official drivers? I remember playing H-L when it first came out with K6-2 and Voodoo 2 and it didn't seem this bad. I did install WickedGL to see if it makes a difference, but I haven't run into a major battle yet.
sf78
Oldbie
 
Posts: 619
Joined: 2014-10-16 @ 15:05
Location: Finland

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby Ampera » 2017-1-17 @ 16:34

Of course the FPS will slow down in intense scenes. That happened since the dawn of computing. Even today, an intense scene with lots of effects and geometry can slow a card down. It's normal.

Try to enable VSync, or if it really gets an issue, cap the FPS to 30 or 35 if you are that annoyed by it.

Personally I don't see screen tearing and stuttering as much, but some do.
User avatar
Ampera
Oldbie
 
Posts: 901
Joined: 2016-11-16 @ 22:31

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby tgod » 2017-1-17 @ 16:40

Here's an old half-life tweak guide made for voodoo 2's in mind, it might help.
http://www.play-half-life.de/Main1.html
tgod
Newbie
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 2011-10-03 @ 14:16

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby F2bnp » 2017-1-17 @ 18:07

How fast is your Pentium III? The Voodoo3 should be plenty fast to hit above 60fps most of the time, but Half-Life can be remarkably heavy on the CPU. Pentium III 500 won't cut it for example and will often go into the 30s like in your case.
User avatar
F2bnp
l33t
 
Posts: 3496
Joined: 2007-9-23 @ 10:19

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby sf78 » 2017-1-17 @ 18:33

Sonofa...I took the wrong case! It's the PII that I was running, bastards used the same case for both Pentiums. Now I need to find where the P3 is lurking.... Thanks for asking, I never thought of checking the CPU as I was sure this was the correct one as it had V3 installed and the V2 was supposed to be in the PII which it cleary wasn't. :dead:
Attachments
38982.jpg
sf78
Oldbie
 
Posts: 619
Joined: 2014-10-16 @ 15:05
Location: Finland

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby F2bnp » 2017-1-17 @ 19:09

lol! Glad I could help I guess!
User avatar
F2bnp
l33t
 
Posts: 3496
Joined: 2007-9-23 @ 10:19

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby SPBHM » 2017-1-17 @ 19:50

I've played a fair amount of HL on my PII400 with a voodoo 4 4500 in glide and it does struggle a bit, CPU is definitely a limiting factor, even with a P3 you are likely to see FPS drops related to the CPU,
SPBHM
Oldbie
 
Posts: 585
Joined: 2012-10-26 @ 15:59

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby Deksor » 2017-1-17 @ 20:06

tgod wrote:Here's an old half-life tweak guide made for voodoo 2's in mind, it might help.
http://www.play-half-life.de/Main1.html



Excuse me to "steal" that thread, I just have a small question :
I've got an SLI of voodoo 2 on a pentium 2 400 (overclocked to 448MHz) and I tried these commands on half life but it didn't seem to change anything. In fact I don't know if those commands actually worked since when I type them, the game says "player : gl_texsort(0)" and does'nt say anything else" How do I use these commands ?

Please note that I'm using the 1.0 version (yep, retail version !)
Deksor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1765
Joined: 2016-6-07 @ 14:37

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby tgod » 2017-1-17 @ 20:32

You have the console enabled right? Simply typing gl_texsort in there will tell if if the command is valid since half life will reply with something like "gl_textsort is 1"
It also looked liked you typed the parenthesis, don't need those. Just "gl_texsort 1" to change the value. Not all the commands in that guide work depending on the version of the game you use, so just move to the next one then.
tgod
Newbie
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 2011-10-03 @ 14:16

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby Deksor » 2017-1-17 @ 21:28

okay, the tutorial wasn't really clear on the syntax, like I said, I litteraly typed "gl_texsort1(0)"

Allright, so these settings were already set to the best options for voodoo 2s ...
Anyways that computer isn't finished, once I'll find the right motherboard, I will be able to overclock that CPU to 533 (at least, if it wants to co-operate ...). Sure I could use a pentium 3 made for that speed, but this is a special build ^^

Thank you very munch !
Deksor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1765
Joined: 2016-6-07 @ 14:37

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby FFXIhealer » 2017-1-17 @ 21:30

sf78 wrote:Sonofa...I took the wrong case! It's the PII that I was running, bastards used the same case for both Pentiums. Now I need to find where the P3 is lurking.... Thanks for asking, I never thought of checking the CPU as I was sure this was the correct one as it had V3 installed and the V2 was supposed to be in the PII which it cleary wasn't. :dead:


This is why I've been badging all of my systems up. Check it out:
DSC00627.JPG
Extra case badges

Image
DSC00634.JPG
E-Machines, Windows 10 64-bit, Core 2 Duo E7300, 4GB DDR3-1066, 500GB HDD

Image (unable to validate after Pentium III CPU upgrade)
DSC00641.JPG
Windows 98 FE, Pentium-3 "Katmai" 600Mhz, 256MB 100MHz SDRAM, 40GB HDD, Viper V770 TNT2 32MB AGP, 2x Voodoo2 12MB SLI

Image
DSC00642.JPG
Windows 10 64-bit, Core i7-6700K "Skylake", 16GB DDR4-3200, 256GB SM950 m.2 SSD, 1TB 850 EVO SSD, 3TB HDD, GeForce GTX 980ti

Image
DSC00644.JPG
Samsung Netbook, Windows 10 32-bit, Atom N450 "Pineview" 1.6GHz, 2GB DDR3-800, 256GB Crucial SSD
Image
Image
Image
Image
FFXIhealer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 660
Joined: 2016-6-22 @ 17:42
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana (U.S.A.)

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby sf78 » 2017-1-17 @ 21:47

FFXIhealer wrote:
This is why I've been badging all of my systems up.


Yes, but the IBM already did it. Too bad they put the stickers in the lower right corner and I didn't bother to look that closely. I usually just use a piece of masking tape on top of the case for specs as I tend to swap out parts quite often. I did find my P3 tower, but it had XP installed so I didn't bother with it. Still, interesting to see it's such a demanding game.
sf78
Oldbie
 
Posts: 619
Joined: 2014-10-16 @ 15:05
Location: Finland

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2017-1-17 @ 23:04

These old 3D games are often a lot more demanding than imagined / memory tricks us :)

With Half-Life I think it's mostly the CPU that needs beefing up a bit.

If you have a Slot 1 machine, that's easy, so many options. With Super Socket 7 not so much. There is only so much even a K6-III can do.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby FFXIhealer » 2017-1-18 @ 01:18

There's Phil. Hey Phil, I got MS-DOS 7 working in Upper Memory (Windows 95 system). I've been watching some of your videos on YouTube. Good stuff there.
Image
Image
Image
Image
FFXIhealer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 660
Joined: 2016-6-22 @ 17:42
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana (U.S.A.)

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2017-1-18 @ 02:09

FFXIhealer wrote:There's Phil. Hey Phil, I got MS-DOS 7 working in Upper Memory (Windows 95 system). I've been watching some of your videos on YouTube. Good stuff there.


Nice :blush:
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby leileilol » 2017-1-18 @ 02:14

With the V3 don't use the 3dfx Mini Driver that HL provides. 3dfx has a more mature ICD installed for the V3 and will work with the "default" setting.

Same advice applies to Quake2 and licensees. Don't use "3dfx OpenGL" for Voodoo3!
by the way, DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9794
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby sf78 » 2017-1-18 @ 13:24

I think I tried that already, the WickedGL patch did seem to make a difference though. The reason I remember H-L running pretty well was that V2 only used 800x600 resolution so that probably helped too, even though in theory PII should be slightly faster than the K6-2 we had back then. Anyway, thanks for the input, I'm already at later stages of the game so it's all good.
sf78
Oldbie
 
Posts: 619
Joined: 2014-10-16 @ 15:05
Location: Finland

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby FFXIhealer » 2017-1-18 @ 17:00

LOL Back on my Pentium II system, I ran ALL my games at 800 x 600 unless I was forced down to 640 x 480 (Final Fantasy 7/8, NES/SNES ROMs, etc).
Image
Image
Image
Image
FFXIhealer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 660
Joined: 2016-6-22 @ 17:42
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana (U.S.A.)

Re: Half-Life FPS issues with Voodoo 3

Postby candle_86 » 2017-1-18 @ 18:11

FFXIhealer wrote:
sf78 wrote:Sonofa...I took the wrong case! It's the PII that I was running, bastards used the same case for both Pentiums. Now I need to find where the P3 is lurking.... Thanks for asking, I never thought of checking the CPU as I was sure this was the correct one as it had V3 installed and the V2 was supposed to be in the PII which it cleary wasn't. :dead:


This is why I've been badging all of my systems up. Check it out:
DSC00627.JPG

Image
DSC00634.JPG

Image (unable to validate after Pentium III CPU upgrade)
DSC00641.JPG

Image
DSC00642.JPG

Image
DSC00644.JPG


where can one find a Windows ME case badge, i can't find any
Ryzen 5 1600 - Gigabyte B350 Gaming - 16gb DDR4 3200 - 240GB M.2 - Windows 10 Pro
Core i3 3470 - Dell B75 Mobo - 4gb DDR3 1333 - 500gb HDD - Windows XP
Opteron 180 - Epox EP-9NPA+SL - 2gb DDR500 - 320GB HDD - Windows XP
User avatar
candle_86
l33t
 
Posts: 2263
Joined: 2010-8-06 @ 01:04
Location: Fort Worth, Republic of Texas


Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests