AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby Skalabala » 2017-2-12 @ 22:02

Hi members :)
It will be awesome if more members can join in with your fast K6 :D
Show us your personal best.
For now for clock speed under 600Mhz, this is my best.
CPU Z is part of the rules :)
Image
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby falloutboy » 2017-2-22 @ 16:31

Fantastic result, I guess it's a K6-III+ right?
Please tell us more about your system specs.
What driver version are you using on your GF3? Det. 7.76 seems to work very well, I have seen a 3DMark2000 result with 5032 3D marks on a K6-III+ @720 MHz.
falloutboy
Member
 
Posts: 108
Joined: 2014-10-24 @ 19:50

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby Skalabala » 2017-2-22 @ 17:54

falloutboy wrote:Fantastic result, I guess it's a K6-III+ right?
Please tell us more about your system specs.
What driver version are you using on your GF3? Det. 7.76 seems to work very well, I have seen a 3DMark2000 result with 5032 3D marks on a K6-III+ @720 MHz.



You are the current world record holder! You are the person behind my inspiration!
Not much to add on the info.

Ali 1.82
Win98SE
P5AB
7.76 Note that 7.58 is the fastest.

If I can get better cpu/motherboard then I will be the new world record holder :D

Did you see my K6 build thread?
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby falloutboy » 2017-2-22 @ 18:55

Skalabala wrote:You are the current world record holder!

No no, I just have seen this result on hwbot.org :blush:
Skalabala wrote:Did you see my K6 build thread?

Will do it right now.

My result was to low for some reason. I guess I have tried to many drivers and there were some old files left. Hardware T&L was broken also.
2013 3DMarks with dx8.0a
1984 3DMarks with dx7.0a
K6-3+550
Tyan S1590 VIA mvp3
256MB RAM
Geforce 3 Ti-200 Det.-7.76

Will also try Det. 7.58 one day, thank you. :happy:
falloutboy
Member
 
Posts: 108
Joined: 2014-10-24 @ 19:50

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby meljor » 2017-2-22 @ 20:58

Will dive into this soon and see what i can come up with (maybe this coming weekend).

I have some choice for ss7 motherboards: DFI mvp3, Aopen mvp3, Jetway Ali V, p5a Ali V and p5a-b Ali V.

I think p5a is the best choice but i don't know, maybe the baby at version is a better clocker? The Aopen does not go higher than 100fsb i think but the DFI might be good for it.
Will also test the k6-2+ and see if that will go higher as it will get a little less hot.

If a gf3 ti is a good card for this then a gf4 ti should be better? It is almost the same card, just faster. Will try..

115fsb is pretty high for these boards, is that with motherboard cache still on? The Gigabyte ga-5ax should be the best overclocker as it can do 120fsb stable (but i don't have one).

I'll be back with some scores and see what i can do :cool:
asus tx97-e, 233mmx, voodoo1, s3 virge ,sb16
asus p5a, k6-3+ @ 550mhz, voodoo2 12mb sli, gf2 gts, awe32
asus p3b-f, p3-700, voodoo3 3500TV agp, awe64
asus tusl2-c, p3-S 1,4ghz, voodoo5 5500, live!
asus a7n8x DL, barton cpu, 6800ultra, Voodoo3 pci, audigy1
meljor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: 2014-4-30 @ 19:43
Location: Netherlands

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby Skalabala » 2017-2-22 @ 21:38

It will be great if we can get some more scores :)
No GF4 will be slower due to the driver.
Yes 115fsb with cache on
My GA5AX does clock better but the board is slower :(
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby meljor » 2017-2-22 @ 22:29

I did a quick and dirty run on my Asus p5a v2 sli system which i don't overclock (other than the k6-3+@550) and run a stock 100fsb.
It has a geforce2 gts and i normally do not run 3dmarks on it besides 99max. It is a win98se system for glide games for me.

So, i just wanted to see what this setup would do in 3dmark2000. It scored 2604! Nvidia driver 40.72 standard res. of 1024x768x16bit Hardware TnL

Now i see the big achievement in your score! :lol:

This got me really interested. I have other p5a boards so i will make a bench setup soon and see what i can do..

But you sir have a MEGA score. :cool:

Please let me know the revision of your p5a-b and which bios you use. I will try the p5a but if i can't come even close i will try and duplicate your score with the exact same hardware. :lol:
asus tx97-e, 233mmx, voodoo1, s3 virge ,sb16
asus p5a, k6-3+ @ 550mhz, voodoo2 12mb sli, gf2 gts, awe32
asus p3b-f, p3-700, voodoo3 3500TV agp, awe64
asus tusl2-c, p3-S 1,4ghz, voodoo5 5500, live!
asus a7n8x DL, barton cpu, 6800ultra, Voodoo3 pci, audigy1
meljor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: 2014-4-30 @ 19:43
Location: Netherlands

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby falloutboy » 2017-2-22 @ 23:03

meljor wrote:3dmark2000. It scored 2604! Nvidia driver 40.72

I suggest to try driver version 7.76 or version 7.58 as Skalabala metioned. These should be much quicker in 3DMark2000 & some older games too.
falloutboy
Member
 
Posts: 108
Joined: 2014-10-24 @ 19:50

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby Skalabala » 2017-2-23 @ 06:37

Yes, Geforce 2 GTS
Install in this order.

1: Win98se
2: Ali 1.82
3: DirectX 7A
4: Detonator 7.58
5: 3dmark2000
6: CTU tweak

128mb ram.
Ram timing fastest in bios.
AGP turbo mode on.
CTU tweak "No write ordering"
You will get 3200+ score.

My P5AB rev is 1.04 With the beta 5 bios.

I think that VIA motherboards are the ones needed for world record.
AOPEN AX59-PRO and EPOX MVP3G2
But also AUSUS P5A/B
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby kanecvr » 2017-2-23 @ 19:38

Skalabala wrote:Yes, Geforce 2 GTS
Install in this order.

1: Win98se
2: Ali 1.82
3: DirectX 7A
4: Detonator 7.58
5: 3dmark2000
6: CTU tweak

128mb ram.
Ram timing fastest in bios.
AGP turbo mode on.
CTU tweak "No write ordering"
You will get 3200+ score.

My P5AB rev is 1.04 With the beta 5 bios.

I think that VIA motherboards are the ones needed for world record.
AOPEN AX59-PRO and EPOX MVP3G2
But also AUSUS P5A/B


At one point I got over 4K on my Aopen AX59 PRO board + Geforce 3 Ti 500. I'll re-run and post the results here.
User avatar
kanecvr
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1957
Joined: 2015-4-22 @ 20:30
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby meljor » 2017-2-23 @ 23:40

Pffftttt! Nice one..


Grabbed another p5a (rev. 1.04) , put in a k6-2+ 533mhz, 128mb pc100 cl2, a psu and a medion geforce3 ti200. Applied a bit of cooling paste and put on my tuniq tower 120 cpu cooler (loose as i can not fixate it but it will work anyway due to it's weight).

Started up this setup....BANG!

I was like......wtf? the medion gf3 card went out with a BIG BANG and 2 caps exploded on the card! They were not leaking or even bulging before, they just went kaboom.....damn.
Now was a good time to say a little prayer for my p5a. Put on a pci vga card, nothing. Ati agp card, nothing. Isa vga card, nothing...... :depressed:
Different ram, nothing. Different cpu (k6-2 350), BINGO! Like nothing ever happened :cool:

It had the older bios that simply didn/t support k6-2+! flashed the latest bios and i'm in business now. Still find it very strange that the card went with a bang but i guess these things happen.
Glad i didn't kill the board.


But then came the dilemma.. I have another, exactly the same version medion gf3 ti200 :evil:

Looked up some old benchies and indeed i did some testing with one of these cards some time ago on a ss7 system, so it should work.
Put in the second card and it started right up. Nothing wrong with it! This is why i have spares :lol:

Right now i'm installing.......... will be back.

Btw, anyone know if a simple recap will bring back the gf3 card? or should i just toss it out?
asus tx97-e, 233mmx, voodoo1, s3 virge ,sb16
asus p5a, k6-3+ @ 550mhz, voodoo2 12mb sli, gf2 gts, awe32
asus p3b-f, p3-700, voodoo3 3500TV agp, awe64
asus tusl2-c, p3-S 1,4ghz, voodoo5 5500, live!
asus a7n8x DL, barton cpu, 6800ultra, Voodoo3 pci, audigy1
meljor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: 2014-4-30 @ 19:43
Location: Netherlands

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby Skalabala » 2017-2-24 @ 07:43

Man you had my heart pounding now on the second card try!!
You can try recap and test in a motherboard you do not care too much for
Awaiting results :D
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby Skalabala » 2017-2-24 @ 15:36

My unofficial World Record 3DMARK2000
Image
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby kanecvr » 2017-2-24 @ 21:01

There's a few things I don't understand about your benchmark methodology - did you only run the game tests? Because If I only run the game tests, I get about 4500 pts with the CPU running at 550MHz. If I run the full benchmark suite, I get about 1870 pts. The main reason I'm asking is because in your "details" tab, I can see the CPU speed test as well as fill rate and poly rendering tests show N/A.
User avatar
kanecvr
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1957
Joined: 2015-4-22 @ 20:30
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby leileilol » 2017-2-24 @ 22:57

What about 3Dmark 2001?
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
SGL != Glide
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9369
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby meljor » 2017-2-25 @ 01:18

I have run the full benchmark. Am now stuck at 3920 3dmarks (stock settings 3dmark 2000).
This is done on a p5a 1.04 with latest beta bios, 128mb pc133, gf3 ti200 and driver 7.76. Ali agp driver 1.72.

The cpu used however is a k6-2+@ 6x105 = 630mhz At 110mhz fsb my hd started to act weird and now it creates errors at 105fsb. It is a laptop hd and not a very good one :lol:
Not even 5x 110fsb will work right now....

I only have one k6-3+ and i don't want to risk it. Instead i will try to come pretty close using a k6-2+.

So tomorrow i will start fresh with another drive and another fresh install. After that i will try the Aopen ax59pro.

Unfortunately my gf2 gts hangs on this board (An exact identical Asus card runs fine on my other p5a system, so thats weird). I also have a gf2 ti but that one also hates Ali V boards :neutral:
asus tx97-e, 233mmx, voodoo1, s3 virge ,sb16
asus p5a, k6-3+ @ 550mhz, voodoo2 12mb sli, gf2 gts, awe32
asus p3b-f, p3-700, voodoo3 3500TV agp, awe64
asus tusl2-c, p3-S 1,4ghz, voodoo5 5500, live!
asus a7n8x DL, barton cpu, 6800ultra, Voodoo3 pci, audigy1
meljor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: 2014-4-30 @ 19:43
Location: Netherlands

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby meljor » 2017-2-25 @ 01:24

leileilol wrote:What about 3Dmark 2001?


I think that is a bit too heavy on a k6?

@kanecvr :

Scores increase massively with the old drivers. With later drivers i also scored pretty low. After this i will test these drivers with some games because i don't know if they are highly optimized for 3dmark 2000 or that they are faster in old games as well.
asus tx97-e, 233mmx, voodoo1, s3 virge ,sb16
asus p5a, k6-3+ @ 550mhz, voodoo2 12mb sli, gf2 gts, awe32
asus p3b-f, p3-700, voodoo3 3500TV agp, awe64
asus tusl2-c, p3-S 1,4ghz, voodoo5 5500, live!
asus a7n8x DL, barton cpu, 6800ultra, Voodoo3 pci, audigy1
meljor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: 2014-4-30 @ 19:43
Location: Netherlands

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby Skalabala » 2017-2-25 @ 08:20

kanecvr wrote:There's a few things I don't understand about your benchmark methodology - did you only run the game tests? Because If I only run the game tests, I get about 4500 pts with the CPU running at 550MHz. If I run the full benchmark suite, I get about 1870 pts. The main reason I'm asking is because in your "details" tab, I can see the CPU speed test as well as fill rate and poly rendering tests show N/A.


Yes this is how you run it, only those 6 tests.
I am excited of your score thus far. 4500 @ 550MHz Sounds like a fast motherboard! I was expecting this!
Did you run the test on 1024x768?
I am also very interested to see your screen shot! Want to compare fps, especially game 2 high. Mine go as low as 11fps!!
What version of the motherboard do you have? I think the one with the extra voltage regulator is the needed one for world record.
Last edited by Skalabala on 2017-2-27 @ 13:48, edited 2 times in total.
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby Skalabala » 2017-2-25 @ 08:28

meljor wrote:
leileilol wrote:What about 3Dmark 2001?


I think that is a bit too heavy on a k6?

@kanecvr :

Scores increase massively with the old drivers. With later drivers i also scored pretty low. After this i will test these drivers with some games because i don't know if they are highly optimized for 3dmark 2000 or that they are faster in old games as well.



The old drivers are also great for the games.

You MUST use ALi 1.82 and not 1.72.
And bios settings also helps allot!
And also Regedit on the ALi drivers must be done, this is where you get stability back on some graphics cards.

You won't risk your K6-3+ by overclocking
I have gone 2.5V core and 4V VIO. They can even go more before failing.
2.3V core and 3.6/3.8 VIO is not risking. They fail at 2.7V

Please post pictures?
I am having cooling problems on my P5A-B because of the graphics card that is in the way of the cpu socket :(
Last edited by Skalabala on 2017-2-25 @ 08:35, edited 1 time in total.
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Postby Skalabala » 2017-2-25 @ 08:31

leileilol wrote:What about 3Dmark 2001?


I should be able to get 4000
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Next

Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests