Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby candle_86 » 2017-2-23 @ 15:44

So my Pentium 3 rig runs my Ti 4200, just wondering is the cost worth it for a real voodoo 2, or can my P3 800, WinME, 512mb Ram Ti 4200 use one of the Glide wrappers for games.
Ryzen 5 1600 - Gigabyte B350 Gaming - 16gb DDR4 3200 - 240GB M.2 - Windows 10 Pro
Core i3 3470 - Dell B75 Mobo - 4gb DDR3 1333 - 500gb HDD - Windows XP
Opteron 180 - Epox EP-9NPA+SL - 2gb DDR500 - 320GB HDD - Windows XP
User avatar
candle_86
l33t
 
Posts: 2257
Joined: 2010-8-06 @ 01:04
Location: Fort Worth, Republic of Texas

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby nforce4max » 2017-2-23 @ 16:03

If you can get one cheap but at the rate the prices are creeping upwards it won't be in the near future especially for the 12mb version.
On a far away planet reading your posts in the year 10,191.
User avatar
nforce4max
l33t
 
Posts: 2452
Joined: 2012-5-05 @ 22:55

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby God Of Gaming » 2017-2-23 @ 16:15

I think you might need geforce FX series card, as nglide requires dx9, the ti4200 is a dx8 card so it likely wont work
User avatar
God Of Gaming
Member
 
Posts: 189
Joined: 2015-4-02 @ 17:17
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby Jorpho » 2017-2-23 @ 17:15

Is there something you want to run with a Glide wrapper but that still requires WinME for some reason? If you're okay with using a Glide wrapper, why not just use your XP Home or Windows 10 Pro machine?

For that matter, are there any Glide games you particularly want to run? Is it "worth the cost" to have a piece of hardware you might never actually need to use?
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby Richo » 2017-2-23 @ 20:14

isn't a voodoo 2 abit to "old" for a PIII rig? a voodoo 3 3000 and above should be more suitable for it.
A voodoo 2 is better utilized on a (S)S7 or Pentium II.
TX97-XE, P55C, S3Virge, Voodoo, AWE64
GA-60XT, Tualatin, Albatron Geforce4 4200TI
A7N8X Deluxe, Barton, A9800 XT
Strix X99, Haswell-E, Gigabyte Aorus Pascal
User avatar
Richo
Member
 
Posts: 417
Joined: 2016-11-13 @ 21:57
Location: Your local chemical plant

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby jcarvalho » 2017-2-23 @ 22:58

Richo wrote:isn't a voodoo 2 abit to "old" for a PIII rig? a voodoo 3 3000 and above should be more suitable for it.
A voodoo 2 is better utilized on a (S)S7 or Pentium II.

I have V2 sli in my 1.4 tualatin build...Fantastic
jcarvalho
Member
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 2015-2-27 @ 23:48

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby candle_86 » 2017-2-24 @ 00:26

More want to enjoy unreal and half life with glide, also nfs 2, rouge squadron and I hear simcopter does glide
Ryzen 5 1600 - Gigabyte B350 Gaming - 16gb DDR4 3200 - 240GB M.2 - Windows 10 Pro
Core i3 3470 - Dell B75 Mobo - 4gb DDR3 1333 - 500gb HDD - Windows XP
Opteron 180 - Epox EP-9NPA+SL - 2gb DDR500 - 320GB HDD - Windows XP
User avatar
candle_86
l33t
 
Posts: 2257
Joined: 2010-8-06 @ 01:04
Location: Fort Worth, Republic of Texas

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby Jade Falcon » 2017-2-24 @ 02:47

Id spring for a voodoo3 or 5500 for higher resolutions. Keep in mind to that the voodoo can't do dx in 2k and up. So no biohazard 2 unless if your using 9x. And nothing higher then 1024x768 or something like that.
That aside the voodoo2 is useful for a all in one system where you have the ability to run anything.
Jade Falcon
BANNED
 
Posts: 3217
Joined: 2016-5-08 @ 19:23
Location: Nar Shaddaa.

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby Jorpho » 2017-2-24 @ 03:19

candle_86 wrote:More want to enjoy unreal and half life with glide, also nfs 2, rouge squadron and I hear simcopter does glide
Do you expect them to look substantially different than they would without Glide?

If you do, then I guess you have your answer.
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby leileilol » 2017-2-24 @ 03:33

Simcopter's glide support is only in techdemo form. There is no playable Glide Simcopter.

Unreal's GlideDrv is much more polished and stable than the D3DDrv/OpenGLDrv drivers the patches ship with (which are considered more as experimental renderers than polished use of an API to judge between as an authority on what's best. this is also why the 3dfx fandom love to call any UnrealEngine1 game their darling in internet pissing matches)


Also reminder - you're posting in Marvin. Your constant preaching of practical modern PC solutions should be left at the door. There's also some elements that Glide wrappers don't yet emulate of the voodoo to make it a faithful experience (like say the characteristic tmu dithering patterns, the dithering of mip levels, and the appearance of filtering afterward that i'm still researching)

God Of Gaming wrote:I think you might need geforce FX series card, as nglide requires dx9


NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooooooooooooo don't suggest that crap card series for DX9 renderers ever
by the way, DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9771
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby Jorpho » 2017-2-24 @ 04:18

leileilol wrote:Also reminder - you're posting in Marvin. Your constant preaching of practical modern PC solutions should be left at the door.
Yes, well, it's just that one can't really decide if something is "worth the cost" without developing some criteria for "worth" – unless it just comes down to intangible warm fuzzies, in which case one's personal perception is all that matters.
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby Richo » 2017-2-24 @ 06:05

candle_86 wrote:More want to enjoy unreal and half life with glide, also nfs 2, rouge squadron and I hear simcopter does glide

Wouldn't building a ss7 (or p1/ p2) be a better choice for all round retro gaming (easy to tune hardware for old dos games)? A p3 is too powerful Imo for games like that, better used for 2k+ games
TX97-XE, P55C, S3Virge, Voodoo, AWE64
GA-60XT, Tualatin, Albatron Geforce4 4200TI
A7N8X Deluxe, Barton, A9800 XT
Strix X99, Haswell-E, Gigabyte Aorus Pascal
User avatar
Richo
Member
 
Posts: 417
Joined: 2016-11-13 @ 21:57
Location: Your local chemical plant

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby leileilol » 2017-2-24 @ 07:15

Richo wrote:Wouldn't building a ss7 (or p1/ p2) be a better choice for all round retro gaming

The SS7 chipsets out there are a real gamble for reliability unfortunately. P3 isn't an excess and some can conveniently hit 386/486 speeds with the cache off
by the way, DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9771
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby candle_86 » 2017-2-24 @ 12:25

I have a SS7 IBM Aptiva with a Voodoo 3 2000 in it, but I'm trying to stick to one computer to handle 98 era games that I actually played, my first computer game was Starfleet Academy and Civilization II, nothing that requires 386/486 speed. The oldest game I actually play is Doom, which plays just fine on a P3. I put a Ti-4200 in because it can handle DX3-DX8 easily, and if i need more power my XP rig has an HD4870 in it, so I'm covered for the entire era of DX9 right in that system. So my question came down to is a voodoo 2 worth the ebay cost, I don't want to but a Voodoo 3 or 5 in here as I will loose out on the preformance my Ti-4200 can give me in DirectX class games, which i why I was thinking Voodoo to get Glide if the wrappers don't work right.

As for modern I wasn't looking at Modern Wrappers, I was looking at dgvoodoo or any of the early wrappers
Ryzen 5 1600 - Gigabyte B350 Gaming - 16gb DDR4 3200 - 240GB M.2 - Windows 10 Pro
Core i3 3470 - Dell B75 Mobo - 4gb DDR3 1333 - 500gb HDD - Windows XP
Opteron 180 - Epox EP-9NPA+SL - 2gb DDR500 - 320GB HDD - Windows XP
User avatar
candle_86
l33t
 
Posts: 2257
Joined: 2010-8-06 @ 01:04
Location: Fort Worth, Republic of Texas

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby Imperious » 2017-2-24 @ 12:59

It's worth the cost if You buy Brand new old stock cards. I got 2 from the following link, both work perfectly.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/STB-3dfx-Voo ... xyYANTa430
Atari 2600, TI994a, Vic20, c64, ZX Spectrum 128, Amstrad CPC464, Atari 65XE, Commodore Plus/4, Amiga 500
PC's from XT 8088, 486, Pentium MMX, K6, Athlon, P3, P4, 775, to current Ryzen 2600.
Imperious
Oldbie
 
Posts: 554
Joined: 2012-6-18 @ 14:02
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby God Of Gaming » 2017-2-24 @ 13:25

leileilol wrote:S
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooooooooooooo don't suggest that crap card series for DX9 renderers ever


what then, the gforce 6000 series are missing table fog and stuff, and don't get me started on ATi...
User avatar
God Of Gaming
Member
 
Posts: 189
Joined: 2015-4-02 @ 17:17
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2017-2-24 @ 13:37

Imperious wrote:It's worth the cost if You buy Brand new old stock cards. I got 2 from the following link, both work perfectly.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/STB-3dfx-Voo ... xyYANTa430


I think most of us got their V2 cards from that guy :lol:

For giggles, I produces this video ages ago. A high powered Athlon 64, GeForce FX and Windows 98 with nGlide running some Glide games. It runs Unreal at 1600 x 1200 much faster than a real V5 :)

https://youtu.be/1-w1NziFoLg

It's not something I recommend, just thought it would be a fun experiement!
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby candle_86 » 2017-2-24 @ 15:02

Imperious wrote:It's worth the cost if You buy Brand new old stock cards. I got 2 from the following link, both work perfectly.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/STB-3dfx-Voo ... xyYANTa430



hmm tempted to buy two lol
Ryzen 5 1600 - Gigabyte B350 Gaming - 16gb DDR4 3200 - 240GB M.2 - Windows 10 Pro
Core i3 3470 - Dell B75 Mobo - 4gb DDR3 1333 - 500gb HDD - Windows XP
Opteron 180 - Epox EP-9NPA+SL - 2gb DDR500 - 320GB HDD - Windows XP
User avatar
candle_86
l33t
 
Posts: 2257
Joined: 2010-8-06 @ 01:04
Location: Fort Worth, Republic of Texas

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby Tetrium » 2017-2-24 @ 17:01

candle_86 wrote:
Imperious wrote:It's worth the cost if You buy Brand new old stock cards. I got 2 from the following link, both work perfectly.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/STB-3dfx-Voo ... xyYANTa430



hmm tempted to buy two lol

Seems he only has 6 left :exclamation:

Soooo...was it worth it to you? :P
User avatar
Tetrium
l33t++
 
Posts: 7725
Joined: 2010-1-27 @ 18:53
Location: Netherlands

Re: Is a Voodoo 2 worth the cost

Postby candle_86 » 2017-2-24 @ 17:05

I havn't bought any yet, gonna see if my I7 2600 can sell for enough to cover the cost of 2 of these cards. What type of cable would i use to make my own SLI cable
Ryzen 5 1600 - Gigabyte B350 Gaming - 16gb DDR4 3200 - 240GB M.2 - Windows 10 Pro
Core i3 3470 - Dell B75 Mobo - 4gb DDR3 1333 - 500gb HDD - Windows XP
Opteron 180 - Epox EP-9NPA+SL - 2gb DDR500 - 320GB HDD - Windows XP
User avatar
candle_86
l33t
 
Posts: 2257
Joined: 2010-8-06 @ 01:04
Location: Fort Worth, Republic of Texas

Next

Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests