VOGONS

First post, by RogueTrip2012

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Being aware of the vogons wiki page on ATI cards. There Seems to notes about Radeon 7000 / 8000 / 9000 series cards having issues with Fog Table, 8-bit Paletted Textures, and D3D 5.0 games.

Looks like there is just a few games that work with 8-bit Paletted Textures:

Wiki Page Final Fantasy VII (1998) European Air War (1998) Final Fantasy VIII (2000), optional […]
Show full quote

Wiki Page
Final Fantasy VII (1998)
European Air War (1998)
Final Fantasy VIII (2000), optional

It seems hard to track down games needing D3D 5.0 (would be awesome to find a spreadsheet of games requirements by year. hint hint vogons 😉 )

Since I'm still new to Radeon cards (9800xt owner now). What games are broken/problematic on these cards with fog table and D3D 5.0?

> W98SE . P3 1.4S . 512MB . Q.FX3K . SB Live! . 64GB SSD
>WXP/W8.1 . AMD 960T . 8GB . GTX285 . SB X-Fi . 128GB SSD
> Win XI . i7 12700k . 32GB . GTX1070TI . 512GB NVME

Reply 1 of 7, by Gamecollector

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Test Drive 5 as the example.

Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400B,
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
Voodoo2 12 MB SLI, Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

Reply 2 of 7, by dr.zeissler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

The 2D core of the ATI-AGp Cards has several issues. Jerky scrolling in Biomenace is not fixable, volumen-sliders and animations in brainslayer-demos (comademo/friday) are wrong.
Deluxepaint VESA works, qickview 103 has issues when displaying a smaller image then the image before, but in the same resolution (the image displayed before is visable in areas the currently shown image is black)

Retro-Gamer 😀 ...on different machines

Reply 3 of 7, by matze79

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Enable fog table:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\ATI Technologies\Driver\0000\atidxhal]

"DisableHierarchicalZ"="0"
"EnableWaitUntilIdxTriList2"="1"
"Vsync"="0"
"DitherAlpha"="1"