MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby retrocanada76 » 2018-11-24 @ 09:59

Yep, but that would only work for these VGA-like modes. Can it boot from these modes ? Otherwise you'd get a blank post.

Unless it is a multisync monitor that accepts both 15hz and 31Khz.
retrocanada76
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 2017-9-27 @ 22:47

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby ibmapc » 2018-11-24 @ 17:22

retrocanada76 wrote:Yep, but that would only work for these VGA-like modes. Can it boot from these modes ? Otherwise you'd get a blank post.

Unless it is a multisync monitor that accepts both 15hz and 31Khz.

Yeah, that was on my mind also. Would need to put a command in autoexec.bat to switch to 640x480. I don't think EGA Wonder can be set to boot in the higher resolutions. Would be great to come up with way to switch between the MCE2VGA and this simplified "Adapter" or "Resistor Array". Maybe something like this https://www.amazon.com/Duttek-2-Port-Monitor-Sharing-Switching/dp/B075Q54BTP/ref=pd_lpo_vtph_147_lp_t_3?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=N8ZXAA3KE08BRD5YYQBR with a Y cable supplying signal to both the MCE2VGA and the "Resistor Array". My question is, would the monitor tolerate the "Out Of Spec Frequency" when the switch is not set to the correct position. I think a modern LCD panel would probably just go blank or display an error message. But, a CRT display may be damaged by the "Out Of Spec Frequency".
User avatar
ibmapc
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2018-1-26 @ 19:02

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby suntac » 2018-11-30 @ 10:38

retrocanada76 wrote:640x480 and 800x600 are on the VGA spectrum. The device does not have memory enough for holding an entire frame. Unless you design a pass-through mode only converting the TTL to analog. But since I don't have one of these and I don't plan buying one I won't bother.


Hi retrocanada76,
would you be willing to update the firmware to support EGA cards with 16.000MHz pixel clock?
Here is an example of such a card and I'd guess there are other models too:
http://www.vgamuseum.info/index.php/news/item/467-udl-c3
Thanks.
suntac
Newbie
 
Posts: 82
Joined: 2018-4-30 @ 11:16

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby retrocanada76 » 2018-11-30 @ 15:39

sorry I can't do it blindly. If I don't have one of these I cannot test. But this is something you can try yourself, just learn a bit about quartus II and how to change the PLL's. It's not that complicated.
retrocanada76
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 2017-9-27 @ 22:47

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby carlostex » 2018-12-28 @ 14:22

retrocanada76, any plans to improve on the composite emulation?
User avatar
carlostex
l33t
 
Posts: 2079
Joined: 2010-4-03 @ 21:39
Location: Portugal

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby keropi » 2018-12-28 @ 17:32

^ I don't think it can be made better...
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6981
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby dr.zeissler » 2019-2-23 @ 14:05

so does this little device "MCE2VGA" fully work for a Tandy 1000 (RL/HD).
I would like to use a TFT instead of my Atari EGA-Monitor.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1631
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby dJOS » 2019-2-23 @ 20:14

dr.zeissler wrote:so does this little device "MCE2VGA" fully work for a Tandy 1000 (RL/HD).
I would like to use a TFT instead of my Atari EGA-Monitor.


Yes it does, I've tested it on my 1000 EX and it works great.
The impossible often has a kind of integrity which the merely improbable lacks.
User avatar
dJOS
Newbie
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 2017-5-10 @ 02:47

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby retardware » 2019-4-07 @ 21:02

Sorry for necroing.
But on Serdashop I did not find out yet whether this adapter can get my HGC card output and rescan it to, say, 100Hz?

I ask because I want to use a CRT VGA monitor for displaying HGC output.
So I am not yet sure whether this adapter is suitable.

Maybe for usage with CRT it is better to overclock the HGC and make a simple adapter like this?
retardware
Oldbie
 
Posts: 527
Joined: 2019-1-30 @ 02:00

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby dr.zeissler » 2019-4-16 @ 09:18

There is also the cga2rgb which is much cheaper. Does anyone use this on a t1000 ?
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1631
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Previous

Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests