MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby Plasma » 2018-1-22 @ 00:52

Here is a simple color test program I made, along with screenshots from my LCD with the converter. The colors look the same on my CRT. (The top pic looks a little washed out, but that's just my camera.)
Attachments
egacolor.exe
(20.08 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
default.jpg
gradient.jpg
Plasma
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 2016-12-12 @ 08:38

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby retrocanada76 » 2018-1-22 @ 06:48

Ugh, that means my colors were a little off. Try the new firmware, close colors to the reference and longer OSD time
retrocanada76
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 2017-9-27 @ 22:47

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby keropi » 2018-1-22 @ 07:52

currently downloading the quartus program, such an annoying way to get it!
I will report back after programming
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6658
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby keropi » 2018-1-22 @ 11:23

Allright - after an annoying process to download the Quartus software I updated my board - can't say I saw much improvement though. I took some pics at an angle as they show better the color tones I am actually seeing - monitor was reset to factory defaults

Image Image Image

Image Image Image

last pic is from CGACAL : http://www.oldskool.org/pc/cgacal

This requires more investigation.

I was also able to test MDA/Hercules modes with a clone card that I had no idea if it was working or not until now :)

Image

edit:
I seem to have lost the "fine tuning" feature , pressing reset does nothing now
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6658
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby Plasma » 2018-1-22 @ 14:19

Your greens look ok. Grays seem too light and red/blue are quite bad. The OSD version has different controls for the phase/samples.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nlckL8QBXdk
Plasma
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 2016-12-12 @ 08:38

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby retrocanada76 » 2018-1-22 @ 14:49

check if you have the very last update. I updated the code few hours ago. I fixed the bright levels compared to plasma screen.
retrocanada76
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 2017-9-27 @ 22:47

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby Plasma » 2018-1-22 @ 15:06

Hmm well you shouldn't be using my pictures as an absolute reference. They obviously aren't proper VGA captures just pictures of my monitor, and the exposure of the camera isn't constant. I thought the colors looked ok on mine before but I updated with the latest code. To be honest I don't notice a difference (the OSD is nice though). But I took some more screenshots with both EGA through the converter and VGA directly to the monitor. It looks pretty close to me.
Attachments
ega1.jpg
vga1.jpg
ega2.jpg
vga2.jpg
Plasma
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 2016-12-12 @ 08:38

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby keropi » 2018-1-22 @ 15:45

retrocanada76 wrote:check if you have the very last update. I updated the code few hours ago. I fixed the bright levels compared to plasma screen.


I do, used the one with the comment "Adjust color brightness"
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6658
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby retrocanada76 » 2018-1-22 @ 18:02

Plasma wrote:Hmm well you shouldn't be using my pictures as an absolute reference. They obviously aren't proper VGA captures just pictures of my monitor, and the exposure of the camera isn't constant. I thought the colors looked ok on mine before but I updated with the latest code. To be honest I don't notice a difference (the OSD is nice though). But I took some more screenshots with both EGA through the converter and VGA directly to the monitor. It looks pretty close to me.


I have a 286 VGA to use here as reference. I will try it as I don't use it.

If you look to the code, I am not propagating the bits to bits 0 and 1. I think this is much closer to what should be. In essence the normal should be half bright as the brighter ones. That wasn't the case.

The OSD is not the only difference. You have much more freedom to adjust the screen, before it was 16 pixels only, now is 127px
retrocanada76
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 2017-9-27 @ 22:47

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby carlostex » 2018-1-31 @ 01:38

I need this in my life. I have a CGA Turbo XT and a Tandy 1000 that would love some testing.

So from what i understand this issue only affects EGA? Or is there some problem with the color decoding that will affect all video modes?

Plasma shots look good to me.
Last edited by carlostex on 2018-1-31 @ 14:06, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
carlostex
l33t
 
Posts: 2056
Joined: 2010-4-03 @ 21:39
Location: Portugal

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby Plasma » 2018-1-31 @ 02:01

The colors are fine on the original 2.0 PCB design. I have sold around 20 kits using that PCB and no color issues were reported.

Some of dreamblaster's prototypes appear to have color problems. I'm not sure what the cause is or if CGA is affected.
Plasma
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 2016-12-12 @ 08:38

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby RobertJ » 2018-2-01 @ 18:07

Amazing work!
8-bit Collection: 4 64Cs, 6 1541-IIs, 1 C128, 2 1571s, 1 C128DCR
Vintage DOS: Dell Optiplex G1, AMD Rage IIC, Sound Blaster CT4520, Thrustmaster FCS Mark II, Gravis PC GamePad
Monitor: Dell 20" 2007FPb
User avatar
RobertJ
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2018-2-01 @ 17:38

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby retrocanada76 » 2018-2-02 @ 22:50

The last FPGA code changes CGA mode to 720x480@60Hz. It shows a nice border around the image just like the CGA CRT.
retrocanada76
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 2017-9-27 @ 22:47

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby keropi » 2018-2-02 @ 23:08

retrocanada76 wrote:The last FPGA code changes CGA mode to 720x480@60Hz. It shows a nice border around the image just like the CGA CRT.


that's great news! is 60hz also supported on EGA mode?
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6658
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby retrocanada76 » 2018-2-03 @ 17:18

I don't know what good resolution at 60Hz to use. Look, I can't use 720x480 or you would get shrunken pixels and lose 28% of real state screen vertically. Do you think that 60Hz much more important than aspect ratio and dumb narrow images ??

The only resolution rather than 640x350@70Hz it 720x400@70hz. All the other will look like crap. And it must be supported by standard VGA monitors. I can't ge the 1280x768@60hz and double the lines like I do for CGA.

https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Modeline_Database
http://martin.hinner.info/vga/timing.html
retrocanada76
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 2017-9-27 @ 22:47

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby keropi » 2018-2-03 @ 17:35

I wasn't referring to the high-res 640x350 EGA mode, I should have made clear I was referring to low-res 320x200 stuff :)
So with the new update one could play for example Commander Keen EGA on the new 720x480@60Hz mode?
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6658
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby retrocanada76 » 2018-2-03 @ 19:54

oh yes, the lowres EGA goes through the CGA module, it's RGBI and same sync.
retrocanada76
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 2017-9-27 @ 22:47

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby keropi » 2018-2-03 @ 20:29

great great, will update and test it :) thanks!
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6658
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby NJRoadfan » 2018-2-06 @ 19:41

retrocanada76 wrote:The only resolution rather than 640x350@70Hz it 720x400@70hz. All the other will look like crap. And it must be supported by standard VGA monitors. I can't ge the 1280x768@60hz and double the lines like I do for CGA.


1280x960 is the closest VESA mode, but that is going to require some padding on the line doubled output resulting in black bars. Even then it won't look right as 640x350 isn't a square pixel resolution while 1280x960 is. One would need to really adjust their v-size control to get results similar to a VGA card running EGA mode graphics.
NJRoadfan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 913
Joined: 2012-5-26 @ 03:54
Location: Northern NJ

Re: MDA/CGA/EGA to VGA Converter Released!

Postby retrocanada76 » 2018-2-06 @ 22:04

It must be VGA Standard. 1280x960 is SVGA...
retrocanada76
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 2017-9-27 @ 22:47

PreviousNext

Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: swaaye and 2 guests