NVIDIA Kepler/MaxWell/Pascal VESA Bios Bug (workaround found)

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

Re: NVIDIA Kepler/MaxWell/Pascal VESA Bios Bug (Please, participate since more data needed)

Postby Falcosoft » 2018-12-27 @ 11:12

Hi,
Here's a new version of MSKVBEF7 that seems to work at least with Quake 1. It modifies the NumberOfImagePages field in the ModeInfoBlock structure.
More info in this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=63&t=62586&start=40#p722398

MSKVBEF7_2.zip
(693 Bytes) Downloaded 26 times
User avatar
Falcosoft
Oldbie
 
Posts: 759
Joined: 2016-5-21 @ 13:46
Location: Pécs, Hungary

Re: NVIDIA Kepler/MaxWell/Pascal VESA Bios Bug (Please, participate since more data needed)

Postby RayeR » 2018-12-27 @ 16:21

Thanks for your effort, it works, even for Blood and DND3D (and sure it will for all Build-based games too :)
Good work. Now it is nice playable at 1600x1200 mode at 40-55 FPS.
You can add this utility to 1st post for other random visitors, maybe change topic name to mark we have a workaround now.

BTW I also tested vid_wait 1 option in quake and it turn on vsync in non-page flipping modes - I got FPS capped at 60Hz
For Ruthan: my time demo benchmark - 67,2 FPS @1280x1024 with MTRRLFBE, machine below exc. VGA is GTX670.
Last edited by RayeR on 2018-12-27 @ 18:28, edited 1 time in total.
Gigabyte GA-P67-DS3-B3, Core i7-2600K @4,5GHz, 4GB DDR3, 128GB SSD, GF7900GT, SB Audigy + YMF724F + DreamBlaster combo
User avatar
RayeR
Member
 
Posts: 146
Joined: 2007-8-11 @ 13:26
Location: CZ

Re: NVIDIA Kepler/MaxWell/Pascal VESA Bios Bug (workaround found)

Postby Falcosoft » 2018-12-27 @ 17:44

Thanks for your tests. I have modified topic's title and added download link to first post as you have suggested.
@RayerR: Now something completely different. We had a broken conversation earlier about MTRRLFBE not working under protected/V86 mode with some systems. Can we continue this, please? Original conversation:
viewtopic.php?f=61&t=61044&start=20#p684979

@Edit: LFB WC performance problem under v86 mode confirmed by RayeR:
https://www.bttr-software.de/forum/foru ... p?id=15770
User avatar
Falcosoft
Oldbie
 
Posts: 759
Joined: 2016-5-21 @ 13:46
Location: Pécs, Hungary

Previous

Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kjliew and 2 guests