WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-22 @ 10:25

Got this card together with a 286 mainboard from an old Peacock PC. Seems to be the same card as the Paradise PVGA1A-JK after WD bought them. Even the FCC ID is the same... Is that card any good? Would it provide enough speed for something faster than a 286?

IMG_20171222_111731450.jpg
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby Jo22 » 2017-12-22 @ 11:03

Not sure if it would provide good performance in anything post-286,
but generally speaking, the PVGA1X and WD90CXX series are very compatible and have mode utilities even.

The last model, WD90C31, even had support for drawing GDI graphics primitives.
According to that site, it was one of the fastest ISA cards.

Another advantage is the good driver support for early software titles.
For example, Wonderland by Magnetic Scrolls (a game) supports its 800x600 mode (SVGA).
Same for early CAD software, Windows 2.x, GEM or Public Domain software (picture viewers, etc.)
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2907
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby matze79 » 2017-12-22 @ 14:24

This is a SLOW Card, in a Class with OAK VGA and Trident 8900

Very combatible with older Video Modes, but not fast at all :)

The Later WDC Chips mentioned above are the fastest 320x200 Performers Made for ISA.

A Card using it is the Diamond Speedstar 24X.

http://www.vgamuseum.info/index.php/com ... d90c31a-lr
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1127
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-25 @ 16:49

Tested the card today and yes, it's quite damn slow. Have to check if the other two ISA VGA cards I have are faster.
Attachments
IMG_20171225_174510091.jpg
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2017-12-25 @ 17:19

derSammler wrote:Tested the card today and yes, it's quite damn slow. Have to check if the other two ISA VGA cards I have are faster.

What program is that? I have lots of cards to test and I like benchmarks with copious amounts of data. :lol:
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get a $10 sign up credit with invite code VBGQMM.
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-25 @ 17:23

Dr. Hardware 9.0e
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-25 @ 21:40

When you think it can't go any worse..

IMG_20171225_223601511.jpg


OCTEK EVGA-16
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby mrau » 2017-12-26 @ 00:35

at least its not in the negative numbers - its not yet spitting data back at You :p
almost anything will be faster, there are some cheap things on ebay every day
mrau
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1002
Joined: 2015-11-28 @ 12:43

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-26 @ 09:48

I still have a CL5420, which did 4.6 MB/s when tested yesterday. But I have to reflow the video chip due to bad solder joints.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby BSA Starfire » 2017-12-28 @ 20:22

I ran some tests with Dr Hard 3.5e on my 386 DX 25 system. Thought you might be interested in the results. All cards are ISA.

First up is a 512K Western Digital Paradise WDC90C30
WDC90C30.JPG

As you can see this is a very fast card for DOS, it only goes downhill from here!
Next is a 1MB OAK OTI-077
OAK OTI-077.JPG

Next is a 1MB Trident 8900B jumpered for 16-bit operation.
Trident 8900B.JPG

finally a 512K Realtek RTG3105iEH, 120ns RAM on this card plus they only operate in 8-bit mode despite being a 16-bit card.
Realtek RTG3105ieh.JPG



Anyone got anything slower than that Realtek?

Best regards,
Chris
386SX 33MHz,4MB Ram,ALi M1217 motherboard,OAK OTI077 1MB. Seagate ST1144A.
386DX 25MHz,IIT 387,8MB RAM,Opti,32K cache,WDC90C30 512K.Conner CF170A.
IDT Winchip C6 200MHz,DFi P5BTX/L,Number Nine S3 ViRGE 2MB,SoundBlasterCT2260,1.2Gb Fujitsu.
User avatar
BSA Starfire
Oldbie
 
Posts: 794
Joined: 2014-3-22 @ 05:20
Location: UK

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-28 @ 20:51

Thanks. Got a WDC90C30 today, so I know now what to expect when I use it. :D
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby Jo22 » 2017-12-31 @ 11:42

Congratulations! :) Some cards with that chip were also named PVGA1D, by the way. Probably as an allusion to the ancestor PVGA1/PVGA1A (later named WD90C00)..
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2907
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby TimWolf » 2018-8-10 @ 16:53

Greetings,

Sorry for the semi-necro-bump, but I'm looking for jumper settings on the PVGA1B wd90c00-jk. Just installed extra ram, and wondered if I need to do anything to access it. I'm going to locate and run the test program above. First I need to get some drives put in.

Thanks in advance.
TimWolf
Newbie
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 2018-7-16 @ 18:41

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby derSammler » 2018-8-10 @ 17:41

Extra RAM should not require any jumper changes. The jumpers are for adjusting display settings and timing. My card in the picture above has maximum RAM, so just set the jumpers as shown, if they aren't that way on your card already.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby TimWolf » 2018-8-11 @ 14:22

Cool. That is how my jumpers are set. Hopefully now that it is the weekend I get to mess with this and get a HDD in the unit. So far it's just been playing with ram upgrads on the MB and video card, plus fixing the battery. Can't wait to see what she can do.
TimWolf
Newbie
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 2018-7-16 @ 18:41

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby watson » 2018-9-03 @ 17:46

I got this card as part of a bundle, but it's missing the VGA BIOS ROMs (I don't know why anyone would pull them out, they probably didn't know what they were doing).
Naturally, this means the card doesn't work, i.e. there is a black screen on boot.

I ordered two 16Kx8 EPROMs (27C128, same as on OP's card) from China. The BIOS can be found on a Russian site.
I want to know if there are any DOS-based utilities for flashing ancient cards like this (with the help of a secondary PCI card) or am I basically SOL if I don't have a programmer.
The TL866 costs about $50, but I'm not willing to spend that much to fix this ultra-slow card. I have been planning to buy that thing for a while, but I haven't had a need for it yet.

If there aren't any such tools, this should supposedly be doable using a Realtek 8139 NIC (setting the window size to 16K with RSET8139.exe and flashing with RTFLASH.exe).
Flashrom might also be an option, but it doesn't seem to support ROMs smaller than 64K.
watson
Newbie
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 2018-1-05 @ 12:36

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby derSammler » 2018-9-03 @ 18:05

You can't "flash" an EPROM without a programmer. It's not flash memory. You can not use a Flash ROM (or EEPROM for that matter) either and flash it that way, as there's simply no write logic present.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby root42 » 2018-9-03 @ 18:08

derSammler wrote:You can't "flash" an EPROM without a programmer. It's not flash memory. You can not use a Flash ROM (or EEPROM for that matter) either and flash it that way, as there's simply no write logic present.


I think this was a rather colloquial use of the term 'flash'. You can write EEPROMs just fine in NICs or e.g. an XT IDE card. Did that myself for the XT IDE BIOS.
Last edited by root42 on 2018-9-03 @ 18:55, edited 1 time in total.
Soldering, retro game reviews and more on YouTube and Bonus videos
Me playing games on my 286 and on my Sega MD2 on Twitch
80286@12 MHz, 2 MiB RAM, Tseng ET4000 1 MiB, schlae AdLib, PC MIDI Card + SC55MkII, XT CF Lite, OSSC 1.6
User avatar
root42
Oldbie
 
Posts: 512
Joined: 2018-1-27 @ 13:23

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby derSammler » 2018-9-03 @ 18:47

That only works if the card supports writing EEPROMs. You can't just toss in some NIC, put an EEPROM onto it and use it as a programming device.

If a NIC is used that supports writing/flashing, you still can not use it for an EPROM.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: WDC VGA 16 (WD90C00-JK)

Postby root42 » 2018-9-03 @ 19:03

Nah, he didn't say any old NIC. But some of the rtl8139s seem to support flash and eeprom:

https://contents.driverguide.com/conten ... l-8139(317)%2FREADME

Why would a simple EPROM not work? Aren't both EEPROM and EPROM 12V programmable? I would assume that a 27C128 EPROM would be compatible to a similar EEPROM. But I only have limited knowledge about *PROMs...
Soldering, retro game reviews and more on YouTube and Bonus videos
Me playing games on my 286 and on my Sega MD2 on Twitch
80286@12 MHz, 2 MiB RAM, Tseng ET4000 1 MiB, schlae AdLib, PC MIDI Card + SC55MkII, XT CF Lite, OSSC 1.6
User avatar
root42
Oldbie
 
Posts: 512
Joined: 2018-1-27 @ 13:23

Next

Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests