voodoo 2 sli higher res

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

voodoo 2 sli higher res

Postby scroeffie » 2018-1-16 @ 19:30

how do i force my voodoo 2 sli to set a higher resolution it wont let me
i have use phils computer labs drivers for both cards FastVoodoo2 4.6 sli
installed both drivers but when i go to display properties resolution i cannot make it go higher for the voodoo cards than 640x480
the 2d card is a S3 Trio64 V2DX
or is the voodoo 2 card only active in game ? because in quake i cannot go higher than 640x480
scroeffie
Newbie
 
Posts: 71
Joined: 2017-10-12 @ 15:55

Re: voodoo 2 sli higher res

Postby kixs » 2018-1-16 @ 19:45

1st check that you have set a monitor under Display settings that supports higher resolutions.

Voodoo resolutions can only be set in games.
My Amibay: SALE Last update 2017-10-19
My Amibay: BUY Last update 2017-10-20
User avatar
kixs
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1821
Joined: 2013-1-31 @ 02:08
Location: Slovenia, EU

Re: voodoo 2 sli higher res

Postby scroeffie » 2018-1-16 @ 19:55

S3 Trio64 V2DX is set to 1024x768
oke voodoo only ingame ok
hey i used quake version 1.8 the max setting ingame is now 800x600 is this correct but it looks realy good and sharp
iam learning stuff step by step :)

i was testing some games tombraider looks like shit
is there like a patch for games 3d for the voodooo 2 cards sli ?
scroeffie
Newbie
 
Posts: 71
Joined: 2017-10-12 @ 15:55

Re: voodoo 2 sli higher res

Postby derSammler » 2018-1-16 @ 20:11

800x600 is even possible with a single Voodoo1 (no z-buffer then, however). You are better off trying games that came out when the Voodoo2 was already available. Games from the Voodoo1 era won't allow more than 800x600, as that simply wasn't possible back then.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: voodoo 2 sli higher res

Postby scroeffie » 2018-1-16 @ 20:14

is there a list like voodoo 2 games
scroeffie
Newbie
 
Posts: 71
Joined: 2017-10-12 @ 15:55

Re: voodoo 2 sli higher res

Postby kixs » 2018-1-16 @ 20:16

For testing I use Quake3 Demo.
My Amibay: SALE Last update 2017-10-19
My Amibay: BUY Last update 2017-10-20
User avatar
kixs
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1821
Joined: 2013-1-31 @ 02:08
Location: Slovenia, EU

Re: voodoo 2 sli higher res

Postby leileilol » 2018-1-16 @ 21:46

The MiniGL shipped with GLQuake is '97 old and you should replace it with something newer that knows what advances 3dfx had done since. It's easy to copy 3dfxvgl.dll over opengl32.dll in the quake folder.
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 8862
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03


Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests