l33t

Hello, I am NEW to gaming.
Some cards I have owned
Nvidia Banshee
Riva TNT
Nvidia graphics cards
Matrox millennium
Matrox G400/450 dual head

I want to how to setup Voodoo card with What other card ?
I have an Nvidia fx5500 PCI I can use ?
Or should I use an AGP card ?
Or some other card ?
Which is bests and Which Voodoo card to buy?

The Voodoo-5 is to expensive so I am looking for a card that is fairly available and not to expensive.

Reply 1 of 34, by Tree Wyrm

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

If you want compatibility with DOS Glide titles then either Voodoo1 or Voodoo2. If you don't care about that and stick to Windows titles then Voodoo3 is a good choice and has no need for 2D card. AGP or PCI doesn't particularly matter, whichever works for your build.

Also... Nvidia Banshee?! There was Voodoo Banshee though.

Reply 3 of 34, by jheronimus

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Really depends on the games that you want to play. There is not a whole lot of difference between different Voodoos in terms of features/capabilities — it's really more about performance. So it simply boils down to what year were your favourite games released.

MR BIOS catalog
Unicore catalog

Reply 4 of 34, by Tree Wyrm

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Intel486dx33 wrote:

Which version of Voodoo is the Voodoo Banshee ?

Banshee is a cut-down version of Voodoo2, missing second TMU but having a relatively good 2D so it didn't need a separate card.

Reply 6 of 34, by candle_86

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Tree Wyrm wrote:
Intel486dx33 wrote:

Banshee is a cut-down version of Voodoo2, missing second TMU but having a relatively good 2D so it didn't need a separate card.

Banshee is also sometimes faster than voodoo 2

Reply 7 of 34, by mwdmeyer

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I agree V3 is a great first 3dfx video card. Easy to use (single card), good speed and reliable. Goods idea to have a fan nearby as they run warm.