EIZO MD-B12 TIGA TMS34010

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

EIZO MD-B12 TIGA TMS34010

Postby Predator99 » 2019-2-09 @ 00:28

Had some fun with my new TIGA..:
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=17341&start=27140#p733144

IMG_0908.JPG


I am lucky drivers are still available:
http://files.mpoli.fi/unpacked/drivers_ ... ga/tms340/

Test system is a 286-12. Primary Video is CGA, secondary TIGA:

IMG_0920r.jpg


First the card was detected but I got errors when starting any app. After some time I had enough and randomly switched the DIPs....then it was working :-) Working config on the photo above.

Very impressive is the Number Nine TIGA Dance Demo...great performance on a 12MHz machine..!
ftp://retronn.de/driver/NumberNine/ftp/gxi/
TIGA DEMO.rar
(42.62 KiB) Downloaded 2 times


IMG_0913r.jpg

IMG_0917r.jpg
Predator99
Oldbie
 
Posts: 766
Joined: 2016-12-28 @ 19:09

Re: EIZO MD-B12 TIGA TMS34010

Postby Predator99 » 2019-2-09 @ 00:30

Hi-Res Word 5:
IMG_0918r.jpg


Win 3:
IMG_0919r.jpg


But there seem to be not many other apps available for TIGA and totally useless for games.
Predator99
Oldbie
 
Posts: 766
Joined: 2016-12-28 @ 19:09

Re: EIZO MD-B12 TIGA TMS34010

Postby gdjacobs » 2019-2-09 @ 02:10

You need AutoCAD. Also, WP5.1 might work.
https://www.pcorner.com/list/WP/51GRDRV.ZIP/INFO/
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5965
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: EIZO MD-B12 TIGA TMS34010

Postby 386_junkie » 2019-2-09 @ 10:43

gdjacobs wrote:You need AutoCAD. Also, WP5.1 might work.
https://www.pcorner.com/list/WP/51GRDRV.ZIP/INFO/


Yup... AutoCAD 13 was the last I believe for Win 3.1... after this version there is no further support.

Nice card btw!
User avatar
386_junkie
Oldbie
 
Posts: 956
Joined: 2014-4-15 @ 20:02

Re: EIZO MD-B12 TIGA TMS34010

Postby keropi » 2019-2-09 @ 10:53

impressive , never seen before a TIGA card in action
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6812
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: EIZO MD-B12 TIGA TMS34010

Postby rasz_pl » 2019-2-09 @ 13:14

I would love to see the difference in Autocad between software and hardware accelerated modes.
Software is pretty unusable, even on 386 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8-ONga-3BY
rasz_pl
Newbie
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 2017-6-04 @ 00:57

Re: EIZO MD-B12 TIGA TMS34010

Postby Predator99 » 2019-2-09 @ 17:42

Sorry, I have no time to get into AutoCAD.. ;-) I can say that the Dance-Demo is on a 286-12 as fast as on a 486-DX2-66

After the success with the EIZO I was also motivated to get my Rasterex LIBERTY II-AT running:
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=17341&p=718115&hilit=rasterex#p718115
Image
Found some drivers here
http://ftp.mpoli.fi/pub/hardware/DISPLAY/OTHER/

They are for the correct card, but seem to be incomplete. The TIGACD.EXE seems to be card-specific and this one complains about a missing file. Substituing from other drivers dont work.

Also not sure about my card as one crystal and some memory seem to be missing.

Therefore, seems not be easys to buy a working card with drivers available.
Predator99
Oldbie
 
Posts: 766
Joined: 2016-12-28 @ 19:09

Re: EIZO MD-B12 TIGA TMS34010

Postby kixs » 2019-2-09 @ 18:44

rasz_pl wrote:I would love to see the difference in Autocad between software and hardware accelerated modes.
Software is pretty unusable, even on 386 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8-ONga-3BY


Not sure what this guy in the video is doing. Never saw text being show so slow... maybe on a XT :confused:

At least with R10 the 386DX with any math coprocesor (x87 is required) it runs pretty good in standard VGA mode.

R11 is 32-bit only and it's exactly twice as fast as R10. With R12 they have done some optimizations as regen/hide/render functions are 5-10X faster as in R11 on the same hardware.

Don't have TIGA card yet... I hope to get one for a good price one day and test it with Autocad.
My Amibay: SALE | BUY - Updated on 2019-01-24
User avatar
kixs
l33t
 
Posts: 2134
Joined: 2013-1-31 @ 02:08
Location: Slovenia, EU

Re: EIZO MD-B12 TIGA TMS34010

Postby eisapc » 2019-2-11 @ 15:06

The Rasterex card is surely missing some zip memory and probably some crystals. Older versions of Autocad are nice to play around with old TIGA boards, but I am still looking for an ancient version of Eagle PCB layout software supporting these tiga boards. Unluckily I do not have any rasterex software in my archives, but software for the following owned TIGA boards is availiable
SPEA Graphiti Hilite (different versions with and without basic VGA owned)
ELSA Gemini (Board owned is MCA)
Artist Graphics XJS
MIRO Tiger
Texas Instruments Tiga series (board is Tigastar)
Matrox PG1281
eisapc
User avatar
eisapc
Member
 
Posts: 108
Joined: 2018-3-03 @ 13:18
Location: Germany


Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest