TNT2 M64 not working right

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

TNT2 M64 not working right

Postby Flowermanvista » 2019-5-30 @ 23:12

Hello, people of VOGONS. Some time ago, I found a Pentium 2 computer disassembled on the curb, and I took it home and put it back together. It pretty much worked without a hitch, but with one issue: the 3D acceleration doesn't work right. Almost all 2D accelerations look exactly like they should, but 3D-accelerated things turn into a strobey white mess. I took some pictures in one game as an example (the game is Toy Story 2 Action Game).

Here's the game in software mode. The framerate is obviously unplayably low, but it at least looks like it's supposed to look like.

Image

Now here's the game in hardware mode. The game actually runs at a good framerate and at the right speed, but I don't want to play it like this.

Image

Things I've tried:
- reseating CPU, memory, and graphics card
- installing and reinstalling multiple different versions of the Detonator drivers (versions past 44.03 hang on bootup)
- changing the AGP clock setting in the BIOS
- Memtest86ing and removing questionable memory modules
- installing the updated Vga.drv file from the Windows 98 SE CD (did not fix the hanging issue with Detonator versions past 44.03)
- completely reinstalling Windows 98 from scratch to ensure I have a fresh install of the drivers (did not change a thing)

System specs:

OS: Windows 98 SE
CPU: Pentium 2 w/MMX, 200 MHz
Mobo: W6BXA/V
RAM: 128 MB
Sound: Creative SB16 PCI (CT4740)
Video: NVidia RIVA TNT2 Model 64
VANTA BIOS version: 2.05.13.03

Other notes:

- I use a USB mouse with the machine, and I installed the NUSB version 3 driver to get flash drive support.
- I don't have any other boards from a similar era, and I have no other AGP graphics cards at all.
- I attempted to install Windows XP to see if it was Windows 98's fault. Shortly after completing the install process, the OS crashed after a draw operation failed, and I decided not to mess with it much more after that.
- After removing the questionable modules, I didn't test the remaining one that thouroughly. If that could be the issue, I'll do a longer test.
- When I say "almost all" 2D stuff works, there are a few particular things that do not work right: the icon for the "device not ready" box is in the wrong colors, and the same is for the icon on the box warning me about custom refresh rates in the Windows video settings. Other than that, everything 2D works as it should.
Flowermanvista
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-5-30 @ 22:50

Re: TNT2 M64 not working right

Postby liqmat » 2019-5-31 @ 00:55

Are you in the U.S.?
User avatar
liqmat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1604
Joined: 2015-7-07 @ 21:59

Re: TNT2 M64 not working right

Postby Flowermanvista » 2019-5-31 @ 01:28

Yes. Why do you ask?
Flowermanvista
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-5-30 @ 22:50

Re: TNT2 M64 not working right

Postby liqmat » 2019-5-31 @ 02:47

I have a box full of TNT2 M64 cards. You pay shipping costs and I'll give you a couple and see if that fixes your problem. Let me know if you are interested in that and then I'll PM you my my email so you can give me a shipping address.
Last edited by liqmat on 2019-5-31 @ 14:26, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
liqmat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1604
Joined: 2015-7-07 @ 21:59

Re: TNT2 M64 not working right

Postby Flowermanvista » 2019-5-31 @ 02:58

While that is very generous of you, and I do thank you for thinking of that, I don't believe that would be an option due to my home situation. It may be possible for me to arrange that, but it's no guarantee.

Based off of the things I've tried so far, do you believe that "defective card" is the most likely explanation to the weird 3D issues? Personally, I think the failed draw operation crash I experienced in Windows XP does lend a bit of credence to that theory, but I want to try anything else that is possible before giving up and seeking a replacement.
Flowermanvista
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-5-30 @ 22:50

Re: TNT2 M64 not working right

Postby liqmat » 2019-5-31 @ 03:03

No worries, just thought I would offer. Hopefully you can resolve it. Cheers.
User avatar
liqmat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1604
Joined: 2015-7-07 @ 21:59

Re: TNT2 M64 not working right

Postby Flowermanvista » 2019-6-08 @ 19:14

bump
Flowermanvista
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-5-30 @ 22:50

Re: TNT2 M64 not working right

Postby ODwilly » 2019-6-08 @ 20:58

I don't think it could be anything other than hardware failure. If you had another system to try it in and it repeated the same behavior than it would be 100%. As is all ya can really do is grab another card from somewhere and give it a try.
Main pc: Asus Rampage Gene ii, X5650, 250gb Samsung Evo, RX480, 12gb Crucial DDR3 1600.
User avatar
ODwilly
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1823
Joined: 2013-6-18 @ 02:07
Location: Wa. U.S

Re: TNT2 M64 not working right

Postby oeuvre » 2019-6-09 @ 12:59

TO INFINITY AND BEYOND
Retro PC Intel i5 2500, 8GB RAM, AMD HD7770 1GB, SSD + HD, XP/7
Main Desktop Intel i7 6700K, 32GB, AMD RX580 8GB, NVMe SSD + HD, 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
l33t
 
Posts: 2638
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: TNT2 M64 not working right

Postby yawetaG » 2019-6-12 @ 08:48

In hardware-accelerated mode, no textures seem to show up. Graphics memory related issue?
yawetaG
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1387
Joined: 2016-6-14 @ 14:36
Location: Netherlands


Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest