Rank Newbie
Rank

I have a few few PCI video cards to choose from for my Socket 7 build:

Matrox Millenium / Matrox Millenium 220
Mach64
Mach64-VT
ATI Rage II
Rendition Verite 1000

I want to play DOS games in addition to Windows 98... which card of these will do the best job?

I also plan to use it with a Voodoo 1, Voodoo 2 and a Matrox M3d (PowerVR).

I am leaning toward the Matrox because of the stellar GDI Windows performance, but I've never used one with DOS before...

Suggestions?

Reply 1 of 12, by matze79

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

The matrox has issues in scrolling games like commander keen.
The verite is also very bad for msdos (slow)

ATI mach64 Cards also have some issues with dos games.

None of your choices is 100% trouble free

Last edited by matze79 on 2022-04-22, 22:04. Edited 1 time in total.

https://www.retrokits.de - blog, retro projects, hdd clicker, diy soundcards etc
https://www.retroianer.de - german retro computer board

Reply 2 of 12, by matze79

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

https://gona.mactar.hu/DOS_TESTS/

https://www.retrokits.de - blog, retro projects, hdd clicker, diy soundcards etc
https://www.retroianer.de - german retro computer board

Reply 3 of 12, by Cuttoon

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

hehe, that question never gets old. Brace yourself for half a bible's worth of very specific advice and idle speculation.

But, my two cents: All cards should be plenty fast for DOS games. It's a socket 7, after all.
The Gona list mentioned before sure is helpful if you have some specific games in mind.

Now, including Win98 in your plans extends the question by about 3.7 gazillion times, as much more demanding tasks come into play. Like, 3D.
But, none of your cards are worth mentioning in that regard. So it rather boils down to a 2D choice.

Some ATI rage had early mpeg decoding support, which is only a nice gimmick for VCDs or maybe DVDs, but was new at the time and deserves an honorable mention.