VOGONS

First post, by danieljm

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

My 8MB Creative Voodoo 2 has Silicon Magic chips on it (SM81C256K16CJ-25 for reference) and I'd like to do the upgrade to 12MB.

The only place online that I can find them is Alibaba which I've never used before, and it feels kinda sketchy. The 2 suppliers I've talked to have really jerked me around on the price. One of them is finally down to something I would consider reasonable, but it's a minimum order of 100 pieces, so I'm still looking at spending close to $100. My thinking is that I could probably sell the rest to other potential upgraders so that it would make more sense.

So I guess I'm wondering what people think. Anyone care to share good/bad experiences? Is there much risk of getting screwed over?

Thanks!

Reply 1 of 8, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

I’d be curious to upgrade mine to 24mb. If anyone has info on this.

Sphere's PCB projects.
-
Sphere’s socket 5/7 cpu collection.
-
SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)

Reply 2 of 8, by mkarcher

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
danieljm wrote on 2022-09-30, 17:25:

My 8MB Creative Voodoo 2 has Silicon Magic chips on it (SM81C256K16CJ-25 for reference) and I'd like to do the upgrade to 12MB.

Equivalent part (256K x 16 EDO RAM, 5V, Dual CAS, 25ns RAS access time, 10ns EDO page mode cycle time): Mosel Vitelic V53C16258HK-25, just for reference if sourcing the SM parts turns out problematic.

Reply 3 of 8, by Thermalwrong

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Personally I wouldn't use Alibaba, the price is too likely to change and you need to order too great a quantity. It's just murky waters from what I've seen, my preference is to stick to Aliexpress to Ebay where a fixed price is agreed at the point of sale.