VOGONS

First post, by Kalle

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hello,

I've recently acquired a used CRT (hp 72), advertised as in working condition. In fact I used it for probably an hour without any problems, but then it randomly made a popping sound and the picture cut for like half a second or so. Today, I was able to record it as it made that sound when switched on, thereafter it worked fine and showed the image without problems.
https://youtu.be/2rfSHcmXKPk

Unfortunately my soldering skills are very basic and I have no experience with CRTs whatsoever, but I would like to learn more about them. From what I've read in other threads it could be a fault in the flyback transformer or the anode cap, which I think service centers should be able to repair.
Basically I'd like to know that it's not the tube itself or any major problem that can't be fixed, before I have it diagnosed in a service center.
I did dare to remove the cover to take some pictures. Some solder joints appear dirty there, could they cause this problem? I guess they all need to be cleaned as well?
As CRTs are not a dime a dozen anymore I don't want to dispose of it easily and try my luck with the next one.

Attachments

• DSC_0581.JPG
    Filename
    DSC_0581.JPG
    File size
    1.67 MiB
    Views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • DSC_0580.JPG
    Filename
    DSC_0580.JPG
    File size
    1.6 MiB
    Views
    File license
  • DSC_0579.JPG
    Filename
    DSC_0579.JPG
    File size
    1.71 MiB
    Views
    File license
  • DSC_0578.JPG
    Filename
    DSC_0578.JPG
    File size
    1.46 MiB
    Views
    File license

Reply 3 of 6, by Tiido

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t