VOGONS

Common searches

mom/moo

Topic actions

First post, by el pancho

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Any classic lover will have recognized master of magic and master of orion, these old yet excellent microprose games.
Old enough in fact, for them not to run on my computer.
When I try, it sez dat i dont have enough conventionnal memory, and that at least 581 k are needed, or something like that.
I'm no programming pro, but if someone could just tell me how to free conventional memory, i'd be pretty happy to have a chance to play these two classics again.

Reply 2 of 6, by Snover

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Problems like these sound like a W9x thing.

I made a boot disk a looong time ago to resolve these problems by booting into pure DOS with, IIRC, 603KB conventional RAM.

Okay, I just spent about 10 minutes searching through all my disks, and it was the LAST ONE. *groan*

Anyway, let me really quickly make up some new batch scripts to ease the process, and I'll post it all here.

Yes, it’s my fault.

Reply 3 of 6, by Nicht Sehr Gut

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Administrator wrote:

Okay, I just spent about 10 minutes searching through all my disks, and it was the LAST ONE.

Ever notice, that when something falls, it breaks on the _last_ bounce?

Reply 4 of 6, by Snover

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

What, like my Palm? 😉

Okay, I finally finished this batch script. It took a bit, but I did it.
I couldn't really thoroughly test it, since I'm on a W2K box, but it should do the trick.

Remember to edit the AUTOEXEC.DOS file.
I provided Microsoft Mouse drivers and OAKCDROM.SYS (although, for whatever reason, I didn't need to use it to get my CD-ROM running in DOS, which is weird, and I can't figure it out, but whatever). Anyway, the AUTOEXEC.DOS file is for a SBLive! card. (Oh, and this should still give you enough memory even with two CD-ROM drives.)