Windows port from DOS games

Getting old DOS games working. (DOSBox topics belong in DOSBox areas below, not here).

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby leileilol » 2013-7-22 @ 10:10

If it's going to be full of scummvm as 'ports', you might as well list dosbox for every games' windows port

i'm going to ignore this misleading list...
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
SGL != Glide
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9330
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby theelf » 2013-7-22 @ 12:05

Ok leileilol, do this

Take a DOS game, whatever, erease the executable, left only the -data-
Open DOSBox
play the game

If you can do this, I will be very happy to add dosbox in the list




Add 2 new game to the list

Boppin - http://jenniverse.com/boppin%20main.html
Atomix - Windows 3.1 version called Atomic - not exact port http://www.classic-retro-games.com/Atomic_172.html
User avatar
theelf
Member
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 2011-9-25 @ 19:39


Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby theelf » 2013-7-22 @ 20:07

Oh, by the way, I found this port of game Jumpman from DOS to DOS :blush: but works perfect in ntvdm

http://www.icfs.de/english/jumpman.html


Ok, new games:

Arcade volleyball - http://gav.sourceforge.net/
Atomino -Remake - http://www.minionsoft.com/wordpress/?page_id=136
Colonization - FreeCol - http://www.freecol.org/index.php
Dungeon master - http://www.ragingmole.com/RTC/
Frogger - Remake - http://www.minionsoft.com/wordpress/?page_id=96
Gods - http://jotd.pagesperso-orange.fr/gods/index.html
User avatar
theelf
Member
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 2011-9-25 @ 19:39

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby Qbix » 2013-7-22 @ 20:13

You know, you can edit your own posts.
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10635
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby theelf » 2013-7-22 @ 20:21

better to post again, easy for me

Oh, by the way, Dosbox developer? congratulation , a great app! thanks
User avatar
theelf
Member
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 2011-9-25 @ 19:39

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby Jorpho » 2013-7-22 @ 22:07

theelf wrote:better to post again, easy for me
Not so easy for anyone else reading the thread.
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby leileilol » 2013-7-22 @ 22:45

theelf wrote:but works perfect in ntvdm

You continue to miss the point....
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
SGL != Glide
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9330
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby Jorpho » 2013-7-22 @ 22:56

leileilol wrote:
theelf wrote:but works perfect in ntvdm
You continue to miss the point....
It vaguely makes sense to me, given that there's no NTVDM in 64-bit Windows.

theelf wrote:Atomix - Windows 3.1 version called Atomic - not exact port http://www.classic-retro-games.com/Atomic_172.html
...At least, until we start talking about 16-bit Windows games.
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby idspispopd » 2013-7-23 @ 08:18

Jorpho wrote:
leileilol wrote:
theelf wrote:but works perfect in ntvdm
You continue to miss the point....
It vaguely makes sense to me, given that there's no NTVDM in 64-bit Windows.


That's not really Microsoft's fault, AMD chose to not support 16 bit processes when the CPU is running in 64 bit mode, and Intel was stuck with AMD's 64 bit implementation.
idspispopd
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1210
Joined: 2012-2-15 @ 21:08
Location: Hamburg / Germany

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby theelf » 2013-7-23 @ 11:59

leileilol wrote:
theelf wrote:but works perfect in ntvdm

You continue to miss the point....


And you continue to do useless posts

If you wanna explain something, do, but with more than 1 line, and with good arguments


Jorpho wrote:
leileilol wrote:
theelf wrote:but works perfect in ntvdm
You continue to miss the point....
It vaguely makes sense to me, given that there's no NTVDM in 64-bit Windows.

theelf wrote:Atomix - Windows 3.1 version called Atomic - not exact port http://www.classic-retro-games.com/Atomic_172.html
...At least, until we start talking about 16-bit Windows games.


I found Jumpman looking for ports, Is not in my list, cause is a DOS game, but I never had luck with the original game in ntvdm, I wanna share this port I found, is a great game from old times

I have Windows XP, no idea about ntvdm in vista or 7, but at least in x32 XP most win3.1 games works like a charm


If you play Atomix, you will see how much similar is to original DOS game, a great port to windows
User avatar
theelf
Member
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 2011-9-25 @ 19:39

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby leileilol » 2013-7-23 @ 14:03

theelf wrote:And you continue to do useless posts

If you wanna explain something, do, but with more than 1 line, and with good arguments


IT'S NOT A WINDOWS PORT IF IT'S THROUGH AN ABSTRACTION OR EMULATION LAYER.
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
SGL != Glide
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9330
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby Malik » 2013-7-23 @ 15:26

@leileilol : he simply does not understand what is a "port", yet he's stubborn and remains ignorant and defiant. I just wish he changes the thread title and then do whatever he wants with the list so that others won't be misled with the so called list. Oh well, no use arguing with him anyway, if he does not want to correct himself.

I seldom post harsh comments against other members but this guy made me do it. Sigh.
User avatar
Malik
l33t
 
Posts: 2483
Joined: 2004-4-10 @ 14:37
Location: Malaysia

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby theelf » 2013-7-23 @ 18:10

I understand very well, what is a port, I did ports of source code in the past, and I understand very well what is a remake, but this discussion is not the main line of my post. I want a good title to invite people to participate

Here is my website, I made for example a "remake", a "version" whatever you wanna call of Metal Slug from neogeo to megadrive in assembler
I understand is not a source port, cause *sad* I don't have the original code. Only if I finish a perfect port to megadrive, still, I have my doubts, because the differences of both machines. I preffer to call just a version

http://www.theelf-megadev.com/mslug.htm

The main goal of this thread is...

I wanna compile all way to play DOS games in windows, without emulation of DOS

But, users like us, the only good stuff that aport to this is NOTHING, just make lost time

If you don't like my thread, while you need to lost my time, your time, writing nonsense stuff? just ignore!

If you wanna participate, you are welcome, doing some useful comments, like participating with new titles for my list
Last edited by theelf on 2013-7-23 @ 19:18, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
theelf
Member
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 2011-9-25 @ 19:39

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby Jorpho » 2013-7-23 @ 18:14

If every single ScummVM game is going to be listed, one could just as well list every single Infocom text adventure, given the availability of WinFrotz.

The utility of listing every single Infocom text adventure is questionable.
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby theelf » 2013-7-23 @ 18:18

Jorpho wrote:If every single ScummVM game is going to be listed, one could just as well list every single Infocom text adventure, given the availability of WinFrotz.

The utility of listing every single Infocom text adventure is questionable.


mm..interesting, I never heard of Infocom text adventures, they are normal DOS games? I say, they sell on stores?

googling right now, thanks
User avatar
theelf
Member
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 2011-9-25 @ 19:39

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby leileilol » 2013-7-24 @ 00:06

if only there were a forum based on the idea of getting dos games running on windows....
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
SGL != Glide
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9330
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby collector » 2013-7-24 @ 02:34

leileilol wrote:if only there were a forum based on the idea of getting dos games running on windows....

I wish that the new forum had a like button.
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4209
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby Sol_HSA » 2013-7-26 @ 08:24

may I just beat my own drum for a bit? http://iki.fi/sol/dr_gdm.html
http://iki.fi/sol - my schtuphh
User avatar
Sol_HSA
Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: 2004-3-03 @ 14:04
Location: Finland

Re: Windows port from DOS games

Postby sliderider » 2013-7-26 @ 12:14

Sol_HSA wrote:may I just beat my own drum for a bit? http://iki.fi/sol/dr_gdm.html


How the heck did the system specs to play the game increase so much?
User avatar
sliderider
l33t++
 
Posts: 5754
Joined: 2010-6-25 @ 13:02

PreviousNext

Return to DOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: knowledge [bot] and 1 guest