VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by dr.zeissler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Hi,

I like the old DOS ports of 68K Games (Amiga,Atari) very much. But they have always the same issue. The PC-Beepser Sound 🙁
Is it possible to add the music and sound effects from the existing Amiga, Atari Version ?
I read some articles that say, there had been Sound and Music in the PC-Version if there was a standard for this at the release-time.

Some early Dos-Games used fine Sound and Music, but this was only available with an Tandy PC.
No Soundcard ever emulated the Tandymachines.

I don't linke DosBox, Scumm or whatever. Gaming on a real machine that's my flavour.

Would it not be nice to play Xenon,Last-Ninja, Testdrive, Speedball with nice sound effects on an 286-10 or 12MHz ?

I am not a programmer, I don't know if this possible...but it would be VERY NICE.

Greetings
Doc

Last edited by dr.zeissler on 2014-03-02, 15:03. Edited 1 time in total.

Retro-Gamer 😀 ...on different machines

Reply 2 of 15, by Great Hierophant

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
dr.zeissler wrote:
Some early Dos-Games used fine Sound and Music, but this was only available with an Tandy PC. No Soundcard ever emulated the Ta […]
Show full quote

Some early Dos-Games used fine Sound and Music, but this was only available with an Tandy PC.
No Soundcard ever emulated the Tandymachines.

I don't linke DosBox, Scumm or whatever. Gaming on a real machine that's my flavour.

Would it not be nice to play Xenon,Last-Ninja, Testdrive, Speedball with nice sound effects on an 286-10 or 12MHz ?

I am not a programmer, I don't know if this possible...but it would be VERY NICE.

Its not feasible, and none of the games you mentioned support Tandy sound. Try Speedball 2, it supports Adlib, Tandy, Sound Blaster and Roland, or Xenon 2, which supports Adlib. Or better still get an Amiga.

http://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/ - Nerdly Pleasures - My Retro Gaming, Computing & Tech Blog

Reply 4 of 15, by leileilol