Some confusion over versions of Starflight

Getting old DOS games working on modern hardware. (DOSBox topics belong in DOSBox areas below, not here).

Some confusion over versions of Starflight

Postby thecrankyhermit » 2014-8-11 @ 17:06

I don't have any version of Starflight yet, but I am gathering some information before playing it. There are a few facts I think I have learned:
* There are two versions released for DOS.
* Version 1 supports Hercules, CGA/RGB, CGA/Composite, and Tandy
* Version 2 supports all of the above, and EGA
* There are a number of differences with version 2 that make purists prefer version 1
* GOG offers version 2

First of all, are all of these facts correct?

Second, is there a difference between playing version 1, and playing version 2 in any mode other than EGA?

Third, what are these differences, exactly? I've gathered vague details regarding missing animations and bugs, but I can't confirm specifics, or which version/modes these things effect.
Running:
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Core 2 Duo 2.53Ghz
Geforce 9600 GT
2GB RAM
thecrankyhermit
Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 2006-5-12 @ 03:47

Re: Some confusion over versions of Starflight

Postby Thraka » 2019-8-21 @ 00:14

Bringing this thread back...

I'm curious about this too. I just installed my copy of Starflight that I've been sitting on forever and it doesn't have an EGA mode so I can't play it. I am confused. :( is there a patch I can apply?
User avatar
Thraka
Member
 
Posts: 227
Joined: 2003-10-29 @ 12:16

Re: Some confusion over versions of Starflight

Postby Jo22 » 2019-8-21 @ 08:05

I'm in the same situation, I'm afraid. My copy of Starflight provides these 4 choices only..
Attachments
starfl_sel.jpg
starfl_sel.jpg (10.31 KiB) Viewed 123 times
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 3778
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: Some confusion over versions of Starflight

Postby Akuma » 2019-8-21 @ 10:09

create a dosbox.conf file in the game directory:
Code: Select all
[dosbox]
machine=tandy
memsize=31

[cpu]
core=dynamic
cycles=5000
cycleup=500
cycledown=500

[mixer]
nosound=false
rate=44100
blocksize=2048
prebuffer=10

[sblaster]
type=none

[speaker]
pcspeaker=true
tandyrate=44100
Akuma
Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2019-7-24 @ 14:47


Return to DOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests