Elite 2 Frontier

Getting old DOS games working on modern hardware. (DOSBox topics belong in DOSBox areas below, not here).

Elite 2 Frontier

Postby Serious Callers Only » 2017-7-28 @ 20:19

Is it just my impression, or does this game not have a quit key? I know it's a conversion from a booter machine, but are you supposed to just turn off your computer when you quit playing this? Lol.
Serious Callers Only
Member
 
Posts: 376
Joined: 2003-4-26 @ 21:34

Re: Elite 2 Frontier

Postby stamasd » 2018-8-31 @ 16:07

Yes, IIRC FE2 doesn't have a way to exit the game.
(edit) just fired it up, yes it's as I recalled, the exit button just restarts the game. Time to reach for that reset button.
Last edited by stamasd on 2018-8-31 @ 16:36, edited 1 time in total.
I/O, I/O,
It's off to disk I go,
With a bit and a byte
And a read and a write,
I/O, I/O
stamasd
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1657
Joined: 2014-8-31 @ 19:59
Location: Connecticut

Re: Elite 2 Frontier

Postby root42 » 2018-8-31 @ 16:29

I used to play it, but don’t remember. Did you try Ctrl+C or Ctrl+Break?
Soldering, retro game reviews and more on YouTube and Bonus videos
80386DX@25 MHz, 8 MiB RAM, Tseng ET4000 1 MiB, Jazz16, PC MIDI Card + SC55MkII + MT32, XT CF Lite, OSSC 1.6
User avatar
root42
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1250
Joined: 2018-1-27 @ 13:23

Re: Elite 2 Frontier

Postby Errius » 2018-8-31 @ 16:33

No, it doesn't have a quit option. It is also very demanding of memory so you would usually have to boot the computer specially to run it anyway.
"EA simply loved Syndicate so much they did it IRL."
User avatar
Errius
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1484
Joined: 2015-12-16 @ 19:16
Location: Lave Station

Re: Elite 2 Frontier

Postby stamasd » 2018-8-31 @ 16:41

Errius wrote:No, it doesn't have a quit option. It is also very demanding of memory so you would usually have to boot the computer specially to run it anyway.


580kB conventional and 768kB expanded memory.
I/O, I/O,
It's off to disk I go,
With a bit and a byte
And a read and a write,
I/O, I/O
stamasd
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1657
Joined: 2014-8-31 @ 19:59
Location: Connecticut

Re: Elite 2 Frontier

Postby VileRancour » 2018-9-04 @ 19:24

Serious Callers Only wrote:...a booter machine...

Hahah. Somehow that reminds me of that highretrogamelord dude on youtube and his imperial craptonne of videos, whose descriptions go like "Clusterduck Pro II came out in 1987 for the PC Booter". One might get the impression that it was some unlicensed clone of the PC Engine or something.

It's quite possible that because of those conventional memory demands (and/or laziness) the programmers simply elected to stomp all over DOS, so that returning to it is no longer possible.
web  /   blog   /   tube
User avatar
VileRancour
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1722
Joined: 2003-5-14 @ 22:11
Location: 1-01-80 0:00a

Re: Elite 2 Frontier

Postby Azarien » 2018-9-07 @ 11:42

I may be wrong, but I remember Alt+X.
Azarien
Oldbie
 
Posts: 613
Joined: 2015-5-14 @ 07:14

Re: Elite 2 Frontier

Postby Errius » 2018-9-07 @ 12:19

We're both wrong. It's actually CTRL+C, at least for the CD-ROM version. Strange, I was sure there was no quit option. Can someone check if this also works with the original floppy release?
"EA simply loved Syndicate so much they did it IRL."
User avatar
Errius
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1484
Joined: 2015-12-16 @ 19:16
Location: Lave Station


Return to DOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests