Mindscape save disk

Getting old DOS games working on modern hardware. (DOSBox topics belong in DOSBox areas below, not here).

Mindscape save disk

Postby zippyTpinhead » 2018-11-23 @ 19:22

I'm playing the old Mindscape text game Voodoo Island in DOSBox on a Windows 10 machine. I mount the game directory on my hard drive as a drive in DOSBox and everything works fine. But I'd like to save games. VI apparently expects everything to run from the floppy drive (5.25?), bc when I type "save" it asks that I remove the game disk and insert a save disk. It refuses to save to a "game disk". I've tried mounting an additional directory as another drive and pressing ctrl-F4, but I still get the message that I can't save to a game disk. Is there a way to emulate swapping out the floppy disk? THX!
zippyTpinhead
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2018-11-22 @ 12:13

Re: Mindscape save disk

Postby Malvineous » 2018-11-23 @ 23:18

If you look at the disk in the DOSBox command line ("dir a:") and then switch disks with Ctrl+F4, do you see the contents of the disk change?

I always thought Ctrl+F4 only worked for swapping disk images mounted with IMGMOUNT rather than actual folders, but I'm not sure.
User avatar
Malvineous
Oldbie
 
Posts: 597
Joined: 2006-6-11 @ 02:24
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Mindscape save disk

Postby zippyTpinhead » 2018-11-24 @ 01:28

Malvineous wrote:If you look at the disk in the DOSBox command line ("dir a:") and then switch disks with Ctrl+F4, do you see the contents of the disk change?

I always thought Ctrl+F4 only worked for swapping disk images mounted with IMGMOUNT rather than actual folders, but I'm not sure.


I think you have it right. With two directories mounted as disks, ctrl+F4 has no effect on contents. CHDIR works as expected.

Not sure what to do next. I'm wondering if I need image files to represent game and save disks, but I'm not sure how to create them. I have no floppy drive, let alone the media. Game was a download from the web.
zippyTpinhead
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2018-11-22 @ 12:13

Re: Mindscape save disk

Postby Malvineous » 2018-11-24 @ 04:39

A 1.44MB floppy image is just a blank file that's 1.44MB in size. There are programs that can create them, or I'm sure you could even download a blank one that's already been formatted and use that straight away.
User avatar
Malvineous
Oldbie
 
Posts: 597
Joined: 2006-6-11 @ 02:24
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Mindscape save disk

Postby zippyTpinhead » 2018-11-24 @ 05:43

Malvineous wrote:A 1.44MB floppy image is just a blank file that's 1.44MB in size. There are programs that can create them, or I'm sure you could even download a blank one that's already been formatted and use that straight away.


Thanks! Youve gotten me started. Further questions will probably belong under a DOSBox heading.
zippyTpinhead
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2018-11-22 @ 12:13

Re: Mindscape save disk

Postby root42 » 2018-11-24 @ 08:08

What about simply installing VirtualBox with FreeDos? Then you can use multiple floppy images and swap them at will.
Soldering, retro game reviews and more on YouTube and Bonus videos
80386DX@25 MHz, 8 MiB RAM, Tseng ET4000 1 MiB, Jazz16, PC MIDI Card + SC55MkII + MT32, XT CF Lite, OSSC 1.6
User avatar
root42
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1250
Joined: 2018-1-27 @ 13:23

Re: Mindscape save disk

Postby Malvineous » 2018-11-24 @ 11:52

...which you can do with DOSBox just fine without needing to install anything :-P
User avatar
Malvineous
Oldbie
 
Posts: 597
Joined: 2006-6-11 @ 02:24
Location: Brisbane, Australia


Return to DOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 1 guest