DOSBox Editor

Getting old DOS games working on modern hardware. (DOSBox topics belong in DOSBox areas below, not here).

DOSBox Editor

Postby vlladislav45 » 2019-3-26 @ 08:13

Hello to everyone , i'm new user on the old dos . I have a question , how i can run the editor? On old dos i'm remembered that had a edit command?


Like: edit project.asm
vlladislav45
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-3-26 @ 08:09

Re: DOSBox Editor

Postby doaks80 » 2019-3-26 @ 08:20

Get freedos and put it inside dosbox. It has a modernish edit command plus many other useful programs.
k6-3+ 400 / s3 virge DX+voodoo1 / awe32(32mb)
via c3 866 / s3 savage4+voodoo2 sli / audigy1+awe64(8mb)
athlon xp 3200+ / voodoo5 5500 / diamond mx300
pentium4 3400 / geforce fx5950U / audigy2 ZS
core2duo E8500 / radeon HD5850 / x-fi titanium
doaks80
Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2018-11-16 @ 21:22

Re: DOSBox Editor

Postby root42 » 2019-3-26 @ 08:23

Dosbox has its own DOS implementation. You could get hold of a copy of MS DOS and use its qbasic.exe and edit.com (the latter uses the former). Or download one of the many freeware DOS editor programs and use that.

http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/micro/pc-stu ... -edit.html
Soldering, retro game reviews and more on YouTube and Bonus videos
80386DX@25 MHz, 8 MiB RAM, Tseng ET4000 1 MiB, Jazz16, PC MIDI Card + SC55MkII + MT32, XT CF Lite, OSSC 1.6
User avatar
root42
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1251
Joined: 2018-1-27 @ 13:23

Re: DOSBox Editor

Postby vlladislav45 » 2019-3-26 @ 08:37

Thanks for the fastest answers ever. + for you
vlladislav45
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-3-26 @ 08:09

Re: DOSBox Editor

Postby red_avatar » 2019-3-29 @ 10:53

What I recommend is to "simulate" the hard drive layout of a real DOS PC - copy DOS 6.22 files (easy to find online) to C:\DOS and include it in the PATH variable. Not all of these files will be usable (some may complain you're running the wrong DOS version) but you'll get a more authentic experience and will have all the extra apps for DOS.

I also recommend DOSSHELL which is not a standard part of DOS 6.22 but it's a very good Explorer-type program for DOS.
Retro game fanatic.
IBM PS1 386SX25 - 4MB
IBM Aptiva 486SX33 - 8MB - 2GB CF - SB16
IBM PC350 P233MMX - 64MB - 32GB SSD - AWE64 - Voodoo2
PIII600 - 320MB - 480GB SSD - SB Live! - GF4 Ti 4200
i5-2500k - 3GB - SB Audigy 2 - HD 4870
User avatar
red_avatar
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1057
Joined: 2004-4-12 @ 13:24

Re: DOSBox Editor

Postby jmarsh » 2019-3-29 @ 11:34

red_avatar wrote:(some may complain you're running the wrong DOS version)

"ver set 6 22" is your friend.
jmarsh
Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2014-1-04 @ 09:17

Re: DOSBox Editor

Postby Gene Wirchenko » 2019-4-05 @ 17:51

I use VDE (a WordStar derivative) under DOSBox. It works fine.. I downloaded it from:
https://sites.google.com/site/vdeeditor/Home/vde-files
Gene Wirchenko
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: 2005-7-14 @ 23:35
Location: Kamloops, BC, Canada


Return to DOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest