Can you install command.com or 16 bit drivers on Windows 10?

Getting old DOS games working on modern hardware. (DOSBox topics belong in DOSBox areas below, not here).

Can you install command.com or 16 bit drivers on Windows 10?

Postby twiz11 » 2019-8-22 @ 19:40

To run legacy dos apps without dosbox?
twiz11
Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: 2011-2-04 @ 16:37

Re: Can you install command.com or 16 bit drivers on Windows 10?

Postby ShovelKnight » 2019-8-22 @ 19:41

No, it's impossible.
ShovelKnight
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2019-4-04 @ 19:00

Re: Can you install command.com or 16 bit drivers on Windows 10?

Postby AlaricD » 2019-8-22 @ 20:31

In the 32-bit version you can install the optional feature "NTVDM", then use fondue.exe to enable it. In the 64-bit version, no.

You could always use Hyper-V and create a generation 1 virtual machine and install MS-DOS there.
User avatar
AlaricD
Member
 
Posts: 437
Joined: 2017-6-28 @ 19:11
Location: Stillwater, America

Re: Can you install command.com or 16 bit drivers on Windows 10?

Postby schmatzler » 2019-8-25 @ 19:47

Well, there is NTVDMx64. It is based on leaked source code of the original NTVDM.

http://www.columbia.edu/~em36/ntvdmx64.html
schmatzler
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2017-1-08 @ 00:44

Re: Can you install command.com or 16 bit drivers on Windows 10?

Postby Jo22 » 2019-8-26 @ 13:23

There's also MS-DOS Player, which can run DOS programs off the command line.
Once installed in a directory that is in the path= variable, someone just has to type "msdos yourapp.exe".
http://takeda-toshiya.my.coocan.jp/msdos/
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 3778
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: Can you install command.com or 16 bit drivers on Windows 10?

Postby rswill » 2019-9-01 @ 05:03

Jo22 wrote:There's also MS-DOS Player, which can run DOS programs off the command line.
Once installed in a directory that is in the path= variable, someone just has to type "msdos yourapp.exe".
http://takeda-toshiya.my.coocan.jp/msdos/


Looking the same, I have 64bit of windows 10 and haven't found any solution for it, I will try this after my vacation hope it works :) thanks
rswill
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-8-23 @ 23:56


Return to DOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests