VOGONS

Common searches


First post, by Nikoh

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

hi folks, i'm trying to play alone in the dark on my DOS 7.1 CDU but I can not make it, it's strange because i didn't do anything special, i installed from cd and then i launched indark.exe but it gives me attached error.
I also attached the output of mem

Attachments

Discord server for italian retrogamers that love CRT
https://discord.gg/x7HQqDWmvw

Reply 1 of 18, by Gmlb256

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Hello.

First of all that MS-DOS 7.1 distribution is unofficial, being bundled with third party software. A "proper" MS-DOS 7.1 comes from a installation of Windows 95 OSR2 or Windows 98.

Second, could you display how CONFIG.SYS and AUTOEXEC.BAT are set?

Reply 2 of 18, by Nikoh

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Gmlb256 wrote on 2022-05-07, 21:26:

Second, could you display how CONFIG.SYS and AUTOEXEC.BAT are set?

Of course:
Config.sys:

[menu]
menuitem=A, Extended memory (HIMEM+EMM386 NOEMS)
menuitem=B, Extended + Expanded memory (HIMEM+EMM386)
menuitem=C, Extended memory (JEMMEX NOEMS)
menuitem=D, Extended + Expanded memory (HIMEMX+JEMM386)
menuitem=E, Conventional memory only

menudefault=A,10

[A]
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\EMM386.EXE NOEMS I=B000-B7FF

[B]
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\EMM386.EXE RAM /MIN=0 I=B000-B7FF /V

[C]
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\JEMMEX.EXE NOEMS X=TEST I=TEST I=B000-B7FF NOVME NOINVLPG

[D]
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\HIMEMX.EXE
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\JEMM386.EXE X=TEST I=TEST I=B000-B7FF NOVME NOINVLPG

[E]

[COMMON]
SET PATH=C:\DOS71;..;
FILES=40
BUFFERS=20,0
LASTDRIVE=Z
STACKS=9,256
DOS=HIGH,UMB
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\ECHO.SYS W/e/l/c/o/m/e /t/o MS-DOS 7.10...
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\ECHO.SYS C/o/p/y/r/i/g/h/t M/i/c/r/o/s/o/f/t C/o/r/p. A/l/l /r/i/g/h/t/s /r/e/s/e/r/v/e/d.
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS71\SETVER.EXE
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS71\VIDE-CDD.SYS /D:IDE-CD
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS71\DISPLAY.SYS CON=(,,1)
COUNTRY=039,850,C:\DOS71\COUNTRY.SYS
REM SHELL=COMMAND.COM /P /E:640
REM DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS71\SMARTDRV.EXE /DOUBLE_BUFFER
REM DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS71\IFSHLP.SYS
DEVICE=C:\CTCM\CTCM.EXE

autoexec.bat:

@ECHO OFF
PATH C:\DOS71\NORTON\NC;C:\DOS71\DOSLFN;C:\DOS71\SHSU3-6;%PATH%
PROMPT $P$G
SET DIRCMD=/4
MODE CON RATE=32 DELAY=1
MODE CON CP PREPARE=((850)C:\DOS71\EGA.CPI)
MODE CON CP SELECT=850
LH KEYB IT,,C:\DOS71\KEYBOARD.SYS
LH KILLER
LH DOSKEY
LH SHSUCDX /D:IDE-CD /V /C
REM MSCDEX /D:IDE-CD
LH DOSLFN /Z:C:\DOS71\DOSLFN\CP850UNI.TBL
LH CTMOUSE

SET SOUND=C:\SBLASTER
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 P330 E620 T6
SET MIDI=SYNTH:1 MAP:E MODE:0
SET CTCM=C:\CTCM
LH C:\SBLASTER\DIAGNOSE /S
LH C:\SBLASTER\AWEUTIL /S
LH C:\SBLASTER\MIXERSET /P /Q
LH C:\CTCM\CTCU /S

ECHO.
REM For locking volumes to enable "direct disk access":
REM CALL LOCKDRV.BAT
BREAK ON
LFNFOR ON
ECHO Now you are in MS-DOS 7.10 prompt. Type 'HELP' for help.
ECHO.

Discord server for italian retrogamers that love CRT
https://discord.gg/x7HQqDWmvw

Reply 3 of 18, by Gmlb256

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Ok.

Which configuration menu are you using to load Alone in the Dark?

Is latest version of SHSUCDX installed which improves compatibility? If not, you could get it here: http://adoxa.altervista.org/shsucdx/. Otherwise I suggest trying to run the game with MSCDEX.

You don't need DIAGNOSE and CTCU for that AWE PnP card initialization since CTCM already does it. All of this can be done in AUTOEXEC.BAT once you removed CTCM from CONFIG.SYS:

SET SOUND=C:\SBLASTER
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 P330 E620 T6
SET MIDI=SYNTH:1 MAP:E MODE:0
SET CTCM=C:\CTCM
C:\CTCM\CTCM
LH C:\SBLASTER\AWEUTIL /S
LH C:\SBLASTER\MIXERSET /P /Q

Reply 4 of 18, by Nikoh

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

@Gmlb256 thanks for advices, I do it immediately.
coming back to my problem, i already use latest shsucdx you have linked and i also tried with mscdex...

Discord server for italian retrogamers that love CRT
https://discord.gg/x7HQqDWmvw

Reply 5 of 18, by Gmlb256

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Did you try with a different EMM?

Seeing again the first picture that you posted, MEM doesn't show the message that XMS memory was used to simulate EMS memory which usually happens if EMM386 is loaded with that version of MS-DOS.

Reply 6 of 18, by Nikoh

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Gmlb256 wrote on 2022-05-07, 22:50:

Did you try with a different EMM?

Seeing again the first picture that you posted, MEM doesn't show the message that XMS memory was used to simulate EMS memory which usually happens if EMM386 is loaded with that version of MS-DOS.

Can you provide a right link where i can download it...? please 😉

Discord server for italian retrogamers that love CRT
https://discord.gg/x7HQqDWmvw

Reply 7 of 18, by Gmlb256

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Nikoh wrote on 2022-05-07, 23:24:
Gmlb256 wrote on 2022-05-07, 22:50:

Did you try with a different EMM?

Seeing again the first picture that you posted, MEM doesn't show the message that XMS memory was used to simulate EMS memory which usually happens if EMM386 is loaded with that version of MS-DOS.

Can you provide a right link where i can download it...? please 😉

No, I can't provide you a link for legal reasons. The sole exception to this rule are JEMM386 and JEMMEX. 🙁

At least you could try running the game using EMM386 with EMS memory enabled as I noticed that some games doesn't work correctly with a different EMM and remove that /MIN=0 parameter from the second configuration menu.

Reply 9 of 18, by Nikoh

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Update:
Tried with exodos and TDC CD imgaes, same results...
Applied all your advice (and more) but no progress here...
DOSLFN, SHSUCD, HIMEMX, JEMMEX, JEMM386, they are at the latest version available
I'm going crazy!

Now my config.sys:

[menu]
menuitem=A, Extended memory (HIMEM+EMM386 NOEMS)
menuitem=B, Extended + Expanded memory (HIMEM+EMM386)
menuitem=C, Extended memory (JEMMEX NOEMS)
menuitem=D, Extended + Expanded memory (HIMEMX+JEMM386)
menuitem=E, Conventional memory only

menudefault=A,10

[A]
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\EMM386.EXE NOEMS I=B000-B7FF

[B]
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\EMM386.EXE AUTO RAM

[C]
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\JEMM\JEMMEX.EXE NOEMS X=TEST I=TEST I=B000-B7FF VME

[D]
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\HIMEMX\HIMEMX.EXE
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\JEMM\JEMM386.EXE X=TEST I=TEST I=B000-B7FF VME

[E]

[COMMON]
SET PATH=C:\DOS71;..;
FILESHIGH=40
BUFFERSHIGH=50,0
FCBSHIGH=16,0
LASTDRIVEHIGH=Z
STACKSHIGH=11,512
DOS=HIGH,UMB,NOAUTO
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\ECHO.SYS W/e/l/c/o/m/e /t/o MS-DOS 7.10...
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\ECHO.SYS C/o/p/y/r/i/g/h/t M/i/c/r/o/s/o/f/t C/o/r/p. A/l/l /r/i/g/h/t/s /r/e/s/e/r/v/e/d.
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS71\SETVER.EXE
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS71\XCDROM\XCDROM.SYS /D:IDE-CD
REM DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS71\VIDE-CDD.SYS /D:IDE-CD
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS71\DISPLAY.SYS CON=(,,1)
NUMLOCK=ON
COUNTRY=039,850,C:\DOS71\COUNTRY.SYS
REM SHELL=COMMAND.COM /P /E:640
REM DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS71\SMARTDRV.EXE /DOUBLE_BUFFER
REM DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS71\IFSHLP.SYS
REM DEVICE=C:\CTCM\CTCM.EXE

and my autoexec.bat:

@ECHO OFF
PATH C:\DOS71\NORTON\NC;C:\DOS71\DOSLFN;C:\DOS71\SHSU3-6;%PATH%
PROMPT $P$G
SET DIRCMD=/A/4/O:GEN
MODE CON RATE=32 DELAY=1
MODE CON CP PREPARE=((850)C:\DOS71\EGA.CPI)
MODE CON CP SELECT=850
LH KEYB IT,,C:\DOS71\KEYBOARD.SYS
LH KILLER
LH DOSKEY
LH SHSUCDX /D:IDE-CD /V /C
REM MSCDEX /D:IDE-CD
LH DOSLFN /Z:C:\DOS71\DOSLFN\CP850UNI.TBL
LH CTMOUSE

SET SOUND=C:\SBLASTER
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 P330 E620 T6
SET MIDI=SYNTH:1 MAP:E MODE:0
SET CTCM=C:\CTCM
C:\CTCM\CTCM
REM LH C:\SBLASTER\DIAGNOSE /S
LH C:\SBLASTER\AWEUTIL /S
LH C:\SBLASTER\MIXERSET /P /Q
REM LH C:\CTCM\CTCU /S

ECHO.
REM For locking volumes to enable "direct disk access":
REM CALL LOCKDRV.BAT
BREAK ON
LFNFOR ON
ECHO Now you are in MS-DOS 7.10 prompt. Type 'HELP' for help.
ECHO.

It does not work with any of the menu choices, same error described above.
would it look like something related to crack? could be?

Thank you all for trying to help me.
If you still want to help me, I'll be happy

Discord server for italian retrogamers that love CRT
https://discord.gg/x7HQqDWmvw

Reply 11 of 18, by Nikoh

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Plasma wrote on 2022-05-08, 16:17:

Maybe it doesn't like DOSLFN?

tried with:

REM LH DOSLFN /Z:C:\DOS71\DOSLFN\CP850UNI.TBL
LFNFOR OFF

nothing changes.... damn

it looks like it is not going to read the CD-ROM

Discord server for italian retrogamers that love CRT
https://discord.gg/x7HQqDWmvw

Reply 14 of 18, by Gmlb256

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Nikoh wrote on 2022-05-08, 16:33:

it looks like it is not going to read the CD-ROM

Perhaps with a CD-ROM driver other than VIDE-CDD.SYS could work?

In many cases that one works fine, but it isn't the ideal one for all CD drives.

Edit: I have now noticed that you already tried with XCDROM.SYS, try with OAKCDROM.SYS or GSCDROM.SYS instead which are more compatible but consumes more memory when loaded.

Last edited by Gmlb256 on 2022-05-08, 18:41. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 15 of 18, by keropi

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

try a bog standard 6.22 boot disk with cd-rom drivers installed and see what happens?
also I do not see on the box any EMS requirement , all it states that is needed is 575kb of conventional ram so this could easily be achieved with no tricks

🎵 🎧 PCMIDI MPU , Orpheus , Action Rewind , Megacard and MK8330 soundcard website

Reply 16 of 18, by Nikoh

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Ok, a big step forward, with dos7.1 default autoexec and config Alone in the dark CD version now work:
autoexec.bat

@ECHO OFF
PROMPT $P$G
SET DIRCMD=/4
MODE CON RATE=32 DELAY=1
MODE CON CP PREPARE=((850)C:\DOS71\EGA.CPI)
MODE CON CP SELECT=850
LH KEYB IT,,C:\DOS71\KEYBOARD.SYS
LH KILLER
LH DOSKEY
LH C:\DOS71\DOSLFN\DOSLFN /Z:C:\DOS71\DOSLFN\CP850UNI.TBL
LH MSCDEX /D:IDE-CD
REM LH SHARE /L:30
REM LH NLSFUNC
REM LH SMARTDRV
LH CTMOUSE
REM For compatiblity purpose:
LH CTMOUSE > NUL
ECHO.
REM For locking volumes to enable "direct disk access":
CALL LOCKDRV.BAT
BREAK ON
LFNFOR ON
ECHO Now you are in MS-DOS 7.10 prompt. Type 'HELP' for help.
ECHO.

config.sys

DEVICE=C:\DOS71\ECHO.SYS W/e/l/c/o/m/e /t/o MS-DOS 7.10...
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\ECHO.SYS C/o/p/y/r/i/g/h/t M/i/c/r/o/s/o/f/t C/o/r/p. A/l/l /r/i/g/h/t/s /r/e/s/e/r/v/e/d.
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\HIMEM.SYS
DEVICE=C:\DOS71\EMM386.EXE RAM
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS71\SETVER.EXE
REM DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS71\POWER.EXE
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS71\VIDE-CDD.SYS /D:IDE-CD
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DOS71\DISPLAY.SYS CON=(,,1)
COUNTRY=044,850,C:\DOS71\COUNTRY.SYS
SHELL=COMMAND.COM /P /E:640
DOS=HIGH,UMB,AUTO
FCBS=4,0
FILES=30
BUFFERS=20,0
LASTDRIVE=26
STACKS=9,256
SET PATH=C:\DOS71;..;

in your opinion what could be the cause of the breakdown?

Discord server for italian retrogamers that love CRT
https://discord.gg/x7HQqDWmvw

Reply 17 of 18, by Nikoh

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

SOOOOOLLLVVVEEEEDDDDDD
the problem was this line commented in config.sys:

REM SHELL=COMMAND.COM /P /E:640

Decommented all work fine.
Many thanks to all and sorry for your time 😉

Discord server for italian retrogamers that love CRT
https://discord.gg/x7HQqDWmvw