VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by LSS10999

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

The way to enable SSE is well known and thanks to SIMD95 we now have basic SSE capability in DOS as well as DOS-based Windows (95, or maybe 3.x also).

Setting the configuration registers only takes care of enabling the use of these instructions (so SSE instructions won't #UD from that point on) but so far nothing I know has touched the subject on context switching (FXSAVE/FXRSTOR).

I'm not an expert, but from what I read it seems context switching is mostly about multithreading. Per SIMD95's documentation:

"You cannot have two or more application running with new instructions or one multi-thread application."

I'm not sure how relevant SSE context switching would be for DOS, as I don't think DOS has the concept of threads compared to Windows, but I wonder if things like TSRs or INT handlers can be considered as such...

Here's a thread on OSDev regarding to adding SSE support in an OS kernel. It's not about DOS but it might contain some useful info on performing context switching.

Reply 1 of 9, by MERCURY127

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
LSS10999 wrote on 2023-07-09, 14:10:

I'm not sure how relevant SSE context switching would be for DOS, as I don't think DOS has the concept of threads compared to Windows, but I wonder if things like TSRs or INT handlers can be considered as such...

i can not imagime tsr/int/irq handler for dos, which want use sse or avx by any reason...
but even if such hanlders exist (for sample, as part BIOS code), on my think, they must save/restore this context by self.

Reply 3 of 9, by marxveix

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

SSE 1.0 should enable SSE in dos, win31 and windows95:
http://falcosoft.hu/dos_softwares.html#sse
http://falcosoft.hu/sse.zip

NT4.0 SSE:
http://web.archive.org/web/20170825035744/htt … s.cf/nt4sse.zip

31 different MiniGL/OpenGL Win9x files for all Rage 3 cards: Re: ATi RagePro OpenGL files

Reply 4 of 9, by LSS10999