Mechwarrior 2 matrox mystique version

Getting old software/games running on older hardware.

Mechwarrior 2 matrox mystique version

Postby Blades » 2015-5-25 @ 22:27

Howdy

I have myself an older Windows 98se machine.
400 p2
512 ram
Mattox mystique with 8meg
Etc..

Anyways everything runs fine however it seems on mechwarrior it likes to lock in the screen resolution at 640x400 which 4 out of my 5 flat panel monitors will not support. Just says "resolution not supported. The fifth one that kind of does show something will have a banner saying "this resolution not supported bouncing around(with no way to get rid of it)" while you can clearly see the game playing. My question is that it doesn't do it on ALL mystique games. But just a few. Others it will run in flat panel friendlier solutions.

Basically is this game resolution adjustable somehow? Or is it not just going to be friendly with flat panel monitors? (no I don't want to go the 3dfx route I like the mystique version of mech warrior) any suggestions? Thanks in advance!
Blades
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2015-4-28 @ 21:09

Re: Mechwarrior 2 matrox mystique version

Postby vetz » 2015-5-26 @ 11:12

You can use PowerStrip to force the game to run in another horizontal refresh rate which might work on your flatscreen. The resolution itself can't be changed.

I btw had no problems on my Samsung LCD screens, but I used the refresh trick when capturing on my Avermedia.
User avatar
vetz
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 3209
Joined: 2012-4-23 @ 17:13

Re: Mechwarrior 2 matrox mystique version

Postby Blades » 2015-5-26 @ 19:34

ok i will give it a try. the game loads up just fine, but when you go into and launch the actual mission and the resolution switches to 640x400 all but one flat screen comes up as unsupported resolution(you can hear the game just fine). And the one monitor that does work, the screen is mega squashed with a logo saying the resolution is unsupported (the monitor menu sayingnthat not windows) and will eventually put the monitor in sleep mode. But i will try powerstrip and see if that will help. Thanks again for the reply!
Blades
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2015-4-28 @ 21:09

Re: Mechwarrior 2 matrox mystique version

Postby SteveC » 2018-2-09 @ 23:32

Very old thread but I'm trying to do the same - it's coming up at 640x480 I think, but it's 85Hz which no LCD panels (or any of my VGA-HDMI converters) can cope with. I'll give PowerStrip a go.

Edit - can't seem to get PowerStrip to make any difference :(
SteveC
Newbie
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 2017-11-25 @ 22:05
Location: Rayleigh, Essex, UK

Re: Mechwarrior 2 matrox mystique version

Postby collector » 2018-2-10 @ 01:49

For old hardware ask in Marvin. This forum is for Windows games on modern systems.

viewforum.php?f=60
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4124
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Re: Mechwarrior 2 matrox mystique version

Postby Stiletto » 2018-2-10 @ 06:55

Moved to Marvin -> Software.
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 3946
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57


Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest