How do I screen record with Windows 95?

Discussion about old PC hardware.

How do I screen record with Windows 95?

Postby dickkickem » 2018-6-13 @ 22:51

I finally got my hands on a Windows 95 laptop, and I want to make gameplay videos with it. I've seen people benchmark old computers and such with screen recording software, and I want to know how to do this, and what software they did it with.

How do I do so?
DOS game collection
YouTube
Instagram

My vintage rigs:
Fujitsu Lifebook E330 - Working w/ Win95
Fujitsu Lifebook C352 - Nonworking :(
HP Pavilion A520N - Working w/ WinXP
AST Ascentia M 5260X - Working w/ WinME
IBM ThinkPad 770 - Working w/ Win2K
User avatar
dickkickem
Member
 
Posts: 100
Joined: 2018-3-26 @ 05:03
Location: Nebraska

Re: How do I screen record with Windows 95?

Postby leileilol » 2018-6-13 @ 22:55

Another computer and a way to capture VGA (expensive) or svideo (relatively inexpensive but worse quality and a limited support for resolutions, some laptops have svideo out)
by the way, DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9579
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: How do I screen record with Windows 95?

Postby BeginnerGuy » 2018-6-13 @ 23:03

It can get a bit costly if you want to do VGA recording, obviously you'll need a modern desktop for a capture card..here's the route I went:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009T ... ge_o00_s00
VGA to HDMI, another user posted a thread about using this on his 4k TV so I grabbed one... 30 USD. It works surprisingly well with 320x200 and other unusual resolutions I've tried with games or programming (mode x).

https://www.amazon.com/AVerMedia-Stream ... B007UXJ6LE
Avermedia C985.. I got mine used on ebay for 65 USD, they are quite ubiquitous on ebay these days as streamers are going after 1080P/60FPS cards. But you get the idea.

My favorite perk about it is that when I'm not recording, I can put my DOS machine on my living room TV via HDMI and play Ultima from the couch at unfathomable screen sizes :cool:
Sup. I like computers. Are you a computer?
User avatar
BeginnerGuy
Oldbie
 
Posts: 771
Joined: 2016-12-19 @ 08:32
Location: North Carolina, US

Re: How do I screen record with Windows 95?

Postby Jo22 » 2018-6-18 @ 11:04

"How do I screen record with Windows 95?"
Use a VHS camcorder. It's period-correct. :cool:

(Seriously, though: Some S3 graphics cards had CVBS/S-Video out.
Since you're using a laptop, there are also VGA to CVBS/S-Video boxes.
You can then grab these signals with those cheap VHS to PC adapters from the 2000s)

Edit: Writing fixed.
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 3196
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: How do I screen record with Windows 95?

Postby bregolin » 2018-6-18 @ 18:48

There used to be an old screen capture software called HyperCam- though I don't think it would be capable of capturing full screen gameplay footage, but one could try :)
IBM Aptiva 2162 - P55 166 MMX, 32MB, CS4237B + Wavetable, ATI Mach64 2MB / Win98SE
PIII 750, 64MB, SB AWE64, Voodoo 3 3000 AGP / Win98SE
Compaq Evo n1000v - P4 2.2, 256MB, AD audio codec, ATI MOBILITY RADEON 7500 / WinME
bregolin
Newbie
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 2016-12-29 @ 22:46
Location: Curitiba, Brazil

Re: How do I screen record with Windows 95?

Postby ATauenis » 2018-6-18 @ 20:19

SnagIt 5.0 can record AVIs too.
2×Soviet ZX-Speccy, 1×Mac, 1×086, 1×286, 2×386DX, 1×386SX, 2×486, 1×P54C, 6×P55C, 5×Slot1, 4×S370, 1×SlotA, 1×S462, ∞×Modern.
User avatar
ATauenis
Newbie
 
Posts: 78
Joined: 2018-5-22 @ 13:06
Location: Moscow, Russia


Re: How do I screen record with Windows 95?

Postby Stiletto » 2018-6-29 @ 14:23

Moved.
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 4224
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57

Re: How do I screen record with Windows 95?

Postby Deksor » 2018-6-29 @ 15:45

VGA to composite/svideo are quite inexpensive as well, I can record any old computer with that
Deksor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1369
Joined: 2016-6-07 @ 14:37


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: brostenen, Dragon Caesar, Google [Bot], hard1k, istellabot [Bot], iwazaru, luckybob, NoMis, PTherapist, rasz_pl and 9 guests