VOGONS

Common searches

Trying to play several old games through Dosbox...

Topic actions

• This topic is locked. You cannot reply or edit posts.

First post, by Veggieleezy

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I'm fairly new to the whole emulator/Dosbox process, so I'll try and be as specific as possible with my problem.

I'm currently trying to play some games that I found at Goodwill (Carmen Sandiego's ThinkQuick Challenge, Pajama Sam 1, Tonka Garage, and Where in Time is Carmen Sandiego, all original jewel case discs) on my computer (running Windows 7 Home Premium, 64-bit).

I've installed Dosbox and I think I've mounted everything properly. My e-drive is my disc drive, I've got a folder set up for the games to go into on my c-drive. I did the following steps to try playing one of the games. I put the disc in, opened Dosbox, and typed the following commands:

z:\>mount d e:\ -t cdrom
z:\>mount c c:\oldgames
z:\>d:\
d:\>

From here I tried to type setup but I got the error message "This program requires Microsoft Windows."

What do I need to do from here? Did I do something wrong? Am I missing something I need? If I need to download something, where do I put it? Bear in mind I'm still very much learning how to do this, so any help is appreciated.

Reply 7 of 20, by jaqie

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

9x means windows 95, 98, and windows m.e. your choice.

virtualbox is a freeware computer emulating software, you can run whatever os you want inside of it, and you can have multiple "virtual boxes", even running at the same time if you wish.

Reply 14 of 20, by leileilol

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

You can try to run the 32-bit games in Windows 7.

Some of these are 16-bit Windows games, so if you own those games there's a chance of Windows 3.1 floppies lying around as well so find those, install those. If you can't find those you'll have to buy those. Windows 3.1 runs in DOSBox okay, if you know what you're doing and is a better choice than: