VOGONS

Common searches


First post, by kolano

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

The "3DMark01 Mega Thread" got me thinking about the old 3DMark benchmarks again. Have been trying to get 3dMark2000 going on my nVidia GeForce 580, but am currently unable to.

It starts up, initializes the display, but then drops out with an error...
"3dMark requires a 3D-accelerator with 4MB or more video memory

Please go to MadOnion.com and find the best upgrades for your system or use 3dMark 99 Max"
...which I'm guessing is related to it being confused by a graphics card more than a gig of video memory.

Does anyone know of a way around the check, or to restrict the amount of video memory reported to 3dMark to avoid the issue?

Reply 1 of 34, by pinkdonut666

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I've had great success using 3Dmark 2001se on modern hardware, but i have not tried anything older, Though i know if you have more than 3gb's of system ram you will get an error but it's skip able.

my life runs on X86

Reply 2 of 34, by RoyBatty

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Hrm, I haven't tried it on Win7, but I did get it working in XP with my 9800GX2, did not try with my 580, so I think it's probably an issue with how much ram the video card has. I don't have my installer handy or I would have a look and see if I can get it to run. It's probably a simple patch to allow it to do so.

Reply 3 of 34, by kolano

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Was able to get 3dMark 99 Max running via the instructions here...
http://community.futuremark.com/forum/showthr … l=1#post1281703
...though 7zip will now also extract the installer exe.

Still hoping for a fix for 3dMark2000.

Eyecandy: Turn your computer into an expensive lava lamp.

Reply 4 of 34, by teleguy

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I got 3dMark 2000 to work on my 3 GB 7970 by modifying SystemInfomfc.dll. Just put the file into the benchmark directory. You'll have to use Win 98 compatibility mode and accessing the systeminfo menu will result in a crash.

3dmark2000p.jpg
Filename
3dmark2000p.jpg
File size
210.67 KiB
Views
11486 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Attachments

  • Filename
    3DMK2000patch.zip
    File size
    43.05 KiB
    Downloads
    1167 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 6 of 34, by kolano

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Thanks teleguy.

With your patch I no longer get the "4MB or more video memory" error but instead get a similar error "3dMark2000 requires 64MB of memory to be able to run."

Any chance you can further patch it to work around systems with multiple gigabytes of memory?

Eyecandy: Turn your computer into an expensive lava lamp.

Reply 7 of 34, by teleguy

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
kolano wrote:

Thanks teleguy.

With your patch I no longer get the "4MB or more video memory" error but instead get a similar error "3dMark2000 requires 64MB of memory to be able to run."

Any chance you can further patch it to work around systems with multiple gigabytes of memory?

Using Windows 98 or XP compatibility should fix that.

Reply 8 of 34, by kolano

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Thanks again. I was able to get it running again this afternoon thanks to you, "37700 3D marks".

So the issue was that I'm also trying to run it off of a network share. Apparently the Compatibility Mode settings can't be applied to apps on network shares. I found a few "workarounds" but none of them actually seem to work, which is why I though it was still broken in Win98 mode.

Not sure if anyone has a working workaround. Thus far I've tried...

  • Launching with a bat file that has Compatibility Mode set on it:
    http://www.sevenforums.com/network-sharing/14 … -drive-app.html
    @echo off
    start V:\Demos\Commercial\Futuremark\3DMark2000\3DMark2000.exe
    exit
  • Launching with a bat file that sets an environment variable to set Compatibility Mode:
    http://netport.org/?p=1616
    @echo off
    set __COMPAT_LAYER=WIN98
    V:\Demos\Commercial\Futuremark\3DMark2000\3DMark2000.exe
    exit
    or
    @echo off
    set __COMPAT_LAYER=WIN98
    start V:\Demos\Commercial\Futuremark\3DMark2000\3DMark2000.exe
    exit
    This seems to no longer work /w Windows 7. Though it might up to Vista.
  • Setting Compatibility Mode for the app directly in the registry:
    https://www.corelan.be/index.php/2009/04/27/f … ws-2008-server/

Since it seems as though it may not be possible, I may just break down to a revised bat that would copy things to a local drive and run them from there though it's not really the approach I'd prefer.

Last edited by kolano on 2015-02-26, 20:37. Edited 1 time in total.

Eyecandy: Turn your computer into an expensive lava lamp.

Reply 9 of 34, by kolano

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Two other bits of feedback on the patch.

  • The 64Mb texture test fails to run.
  • It would be nice if some additional resolutions (i.e. above 1280x720 and 16b color) could be made available.

Eyecandy: Turn your computer into an expensive lava lamp.

Reply 10 of 34, by teleguy

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

It's possible to apply compatibility mode to apps on network shares through Microsoft's Application Compatibility Toolkit. Actually you don't even need the full Windows compatibility mode, just "GlobalMemoryStatusLie" and a parameter of 1536 for instance should be enough.

kolano wrote:
Two other bits of feedback on the patch. […]
Show full quote

Two other bits of feedback on the patch.

  • The 64Mb texture test fails to run.
  • It would be nice if some additional resolutions (i.e. above 1280x720 and 16b color) could be made available.

The texture test fails because there is not enough AGP memory. Currently I don't know how to fix that.

Resolutions seem to be dependant on (video) memory size. XP compatibility mode allocates more memory than 98 compatibility mode so more resolutions are availabe.

file.php?id=17139&mode=view

Attachments

  • 3dmark.jpg
    Filename
    3dmark.jpg
    File size
    220.95 KiB
    Views
    11309 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 12 of 34, by teleguy

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I managed to remove the restrictions for the texture rendering tests.

Attachments

  • Filename
    3DMK2000patch3.zip
    File size
    593.5 KiB
    Downloads
    566 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 13 of 34, by kolano

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
teleguy wrote:

I managed to remove the restrictions for the texture rendering tests.

I can confirm 64Mb Texture test now works with my nVidia GeForce 580.

I was able to get an expanded resolution list /w WinXP instead of Win98 mode, but there seem to be a number of remaining oddities...

  • My native 2560x1600x16/2560x1600x32 modes aren't shown.
  • 2560x1440x16 mode is shown, but selecting that mode results in "3DMark could not initialize your 3d Accelerator. Try to downgrade your display settings. DirectX Error Message: Create Device: DDERR_INVALIDOBJECT".
  • The highest 16b color mode that will run is 2048x1536.
  • 32b color modes top out at 1920x1200, which does run at least.
  • CPU test is unable to run in 32b color modes (Though perhaps this was always the case).

Eyecandy: Turn your computer into an expensive lava lamp.

Reply 14 of 34, by teleguy

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
kolano wrote:
I can confirm 64Mb Texture test now works with my nVidia GeForce 580. […]
Show full quote

I can confirm 64Mb Texture test now works with my nVidia GeForce 580.

I was able to get an expanded resolution list /w WinXP instead of Win98 mode, but there seem to be a number of remaining oddities...

  • My native 2560x1600x16/2560x1600x32 modes aren't shown.
  • 2560x1440x16 mode is shown, but selecting that mode results in "3DMark could not initialize your 3d Accelerator. Try to downgrade your display settings. DirectX Error Message: Create Device: DDERR_INVALIDOBJECT".
  • The highest 16b color mode that will run is 2048x1536.
  • 32b color modes top out at 1920x1200, which does run at least.

Same here. No idea why that happens.

Edit: Apparently that's the highest resolution DirectX 7 allows. The only way to go any higher is using a wrapper or replacing the renderer.
https://www.google.de/search?q=directx+7++204 … OOpM8rDPISWgKgM

CPU test is unable to run in 32b color modes (Though perhaps this was always the case).

I think it's supposed to be like that. I'll be able to test the benchmark on a few older systems on monday and see what happens.

Reply 17 of 34, by teleguy

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

New version with a few modifications.

-system memory checks removed->compatibility mode should no longer be required
-4 MB vram message bypassed in a different way so that the patched SystemInfomfc.dll is no longer needed->settings menu should now reflect the actual video memory size
-all possible resolutions should now be available

Attachments

  • Filename
    3DMK2000patch4.zip
    File size
    593.53 KiB
    Downloads
    1686 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 18 of 34, by kolano

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
teleguy wrote:
New version with a few modifications. […]
Show full quote

New version with a few modifications.

-system memory checks removed->compatibility mode should no longer be required
-4 MB vram message bypassed in a different way so that the patched SystemInfomfc.dll is no longer needed->settings menu should now reflect the actual video memory size
-all possible resolutions should now be available

Thanks for your work here,teleguy.

  • Can confirm things now seems to run fine without compatibility mode.
  • All resolutions are now listed. Though it might be better to limit them to those that are 2048px or less in dimention, as the "DDERR_INVALIDOBJECT" error still occurs if attempting to use higher resolutions (i.e. 2560x1600).

Eyecandy: Turn your computer into an expensive lava lamp.

Reply 19 of 34, by u1comp1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
teleguy wrote:
New version with a few modifications. […]
Show full quote

New version with a few modifications.

-system memory checks removed->compatibility mode should no longer be required
-4 MB vram message bypassed in a different way so that the patched SystemInfomfc.dll is no longer needed->settings menu should now reflect the actual video memory size
-all possible resolutions should now be available

Thank you very much for the patch !
And you can do the same patch for 3DMark 2001SE? When it starts not written a mistake and did not include compatibility mode?

Attachments

  • 3DMark2001SE.jpg
    Filename
    3DMark2001SE.jpg
    File size
    46.25 KiB
    Views
    10544 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception