Far Cry

Getting old Windows games working.

Far Cry

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2014-9-28 @ 23:17

Tried out Far Cry on my Socket 478 Pentium 4 3.2 GHz machine with 2 GB DDR and an AGP 6600GT with Windows XP SP2. It's the GOG.com version because I find it the easiest to get going without connecting online.

I noticed a few things:

- Under Vista and later operating systems, mountains do not reflect properly in the water. This works fine in XP.
- I've heard of loading issues with certain detail level but had no such issues.
- EAX and surround over headphones works very well on an X-Fi PCI card
- The latest XP driver (2013) for the 6600GT is 307.83 and causes severe graphics bugs (missing objects)
- 175.19 (2008) works fine, no issues to report
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Far Cry

Postby leileilol » 2014-9-29 @ 00:44

You should also try OpenGL mode. Yes it's in there, you gotta run the config program to access it :)
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 8788
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Far Cry

Postby Davros » 2014-9-29 @ 17:38

does opengl mode support hdr ?
Guardian of the Sacred Five Terabyte's of Gaming Goodness
User avatar
Davros
l33t
 
Posts: 2457
Joined: 2004-3-01 @ 03:08

Re: Far Cry

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2014-9-30 @ 14:21

Been looking at some older benchmarks online and it seems that on AGP system the game quickly becomes CPU limited. It seems that the Core 2 Duo platform (or later) is the way to go.

The 175.19 driver supports GeForce 7 and 8 series cards and I believe a GeForce 7600GT or 8800GT should work well with this game. Benchmarks show the 7600GT ahead of 6800GT SLI.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Far Cry

Postby mirh » 2014-10-04 @ 17:35

Between 175.19 and 307.83 drivers there had to be a TONS of others drivers you may want to try for improved performance or fixed bugs (and understanging the release where everything broke may be helpful)

Though, I think 307.83 may simply do not work.. because you are still sticking with XP SP2.. why that? It's so old and I'm not aware of any backward compatibility issue
Or maybe it might be that AGP bus... 301.42 is reported working nevertheless.
Besides, some AGP features were cut since firsts windows vista drivers (check release notes)... it may be interesting to test if performance has been somewhat affected

Anyway, what do you mean with missing objects? This?

And for reflections.. it's just LAME. I mean.. that is a common bug which should have been introduced with patch 1.3...
But... according to changelog your GeForce 6 series should be the only cards that should still be unaffected!
What happens if you lower water details?

And least but not least.. I found a mod.. for the demo version of the game.. is this working even in full game?
I'd like to test something on my own too, but FC DVD is lost in my house (curiously)

Cheers
pcgamingwiki.com
mirh
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: 2014-9-13 @ 21:39

Re: Far Cry

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2014-10-04 @ 17:53

Hi there!

It was the only two drivers I could get from the Nvidia site. 307.83 it gave me when looking for GeForce 6 (2013). 175.19 it gave me for GeForce FX (2008).

They should really do a decent driver archive.

I use Windows XP SP2 on my retro PC. My main PC has Windows 8.1 64 bit :) I kind of "specialise" on mucking around with old hardware you see.

The GeForce 6 is in the XP machine. Landmass reflections work fine here. I doubt anyone would run a GeForce 6 card on a machine with Windows 8.1.

I'm currently playing with FCAM 1.99 patch / mod but the water reflections are still broken.

Far Cry is on special at GOG.com today :)
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Far Cry

Postby leileilol » 2014-10-04 @ 18:39

I had to play FarCry with Forceware before 66.xx for it to not corrupt so badly on a Geforce2.

(which looks alright if you don't mind water being a two stage texture shader an a lack of glossy bumpmapping in a few places, should look similar to Isle of Morg)
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 8788
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Far Cry

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2014-10-04 @ 18:55

GeForce 2? Must have been a slideshow.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Far Cry

Postby leileilol » 2014-10-04 @ 19:14

It was actually playable and supported :) as a matter of fact some terrible GF2 bugs in the beta were fixed in the final release.
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 8788
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Far Cry

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2014-10-11 @ 12:34

I made an extensive video covering Far Cry and how you can get it to run on modern machines, what to watch out for.

For those who just want to get on with it, I highly recommend using either the Far Cry Community Patch 1.6: http://www.farcrypatch16.de/

or

Far Cry Adoon Mod 1.99: http://www.moddb.com/mods/farcry-addon-mod-fcam

Version 1.4 (Which Steam and GOG.com come with) have this bug with enemies that can see and shoot your through tents. Game breaking IMO. Apart from these patches and mods you can also go back to version 1.33 (Patch 1.4 only has online player fixes) or use the AMD64 bit which is version 1.32 and also has some extra graphics.

Version 1.6 also fixes the FOV issue and when you play at 1920 x 1080 for example it applies correct FOV. In the vanilla version you need to run the executable with -devmode and then bring down the console with ~ and type \FOV 106 then aim down sight. Got to this every level I believe.

HDR enable via ~ then \r_hdrrendering 7

But doesn't work with AA.

Link to the video: http://youtu.be/Szf65BX2XB4



It is 10 years ago that Far Cry launched.

What a great game and so I just had to do a video covering Far Cry!

It is quite technical because running a 10 year old game on modern computers has some challenges.

Topics I cover:

- Buying the game on Steam, GOG.com and eBay
- The specifications of the computer I used
- Configuring the video and sound options
- Enabling 16x AF texture filtering
- Creative ALchemy for restoring surround 3D Audio and EAX environmental effects
- How to enable HDR High Dynamic Range
- Black screen issue when loading the game
- Corrupt textures on some Nvidia drivers
- Patches and version differences
- Mods
AMD64 64 bit patch and Exclusive Content

I then cover the game sort of like a review:

- How the story begins
- Basic controls
- Use of the compass
- Health, armour and sprint bars
- Using the binoculars
- Switching weapons mode
- Swimming and diving
- Vehicles
- Enemies raising alarms
- Different ways of approaching the game
- Using stationary turrets
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Far Cry

Postby mirh » 2014-10-15 @ 14:55

philscomputerlab wrote:Hi there!
It was the only two drivers I could get from the Nvidia site. 307.83 it gave me when looking for GeForce 6 (2013). 175.19 it gave me for GeForce FX (2008).
They should really do a decent driver archive.
I use Windows XP SP2 on my retro PC. My main PC has Windows 8.1 64 bit :) I kind of "specialise" on mucking around with old hardware you see.
The GeForce 6 is in the XP machine. Landmass reflections work fine here. I doubt anyone would run a GeForce 6 card on a machine with Windows 8.1.
I'm currently playing with FCAM 1.99 patch / mod but the water reflections are still broken.
Far Cry is on special at GOG.com today :)

You still have not answered :p
Why SP2 and not SP3? Has it any downside?

And I'd really like to know what's the latest driver that work for you.. I mean if everything goes well, we could even find it's just a .dll that need to be put from older driver release to game folder, and that's all

EDIT: fixed wrong quote
Last edited by mirh on 2014-10-15 @ 17:04, edited 1 time in total.
pcgamingwiki.com
mirh
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: 2014-9-13 @ 21:39

Re: Far Cry

Postby leileilol » 2014-10-15 @ 16:51

Whjy are you asking me about Windows XP? I'm speaking from experience on Win98SE
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 8788
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Far Cry

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2014-10-15 @ 20:05

mirh wrote:You still have not answered :p
Why SP2 and not SP3? Has it any downside?

And I'd really like to know what's the latest driver that work for you.. I mean if everything goes well, we could even find it's just a .dll that need to be put from older driver release to game folder, and that's all

EDIT: fixed wrong quote


Far Cry is from 2004. SP3 is from 2009.

Have you been able to solve the issue? What system do you use to test Far Cry?

Lowering quality doesn't fix the issue. It's like saying "You got a sound problem, mute the sound". It's about Water = Ultra quality and doesn't work.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Far Cry

Postby mirh » 2014-10-15 @ 22:14

In fairness, I don't even have FC installed atm (I can't find the damn DVD). But I would have W7x64 with an ati 5770 for testings

Anyway service packs shouldn't really affect compatibility. They just throw in more features and fixes bug here and there (and newer drivers might need it)
pcgamingwiki.com
mirh
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: 2014-9-13 @ 21:39

Re: Far Cry

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2014-10-15 @ 22:20

With these old games there are so many variables. So by using mostly period correct software and hardware you can minimise them. I still want to test it with a slightly newer Core 2 Duo system and a GeForce 7 series card but currently don't have such a system.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Far Cry

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2014-10-26 @ 02:52

Just a small update.

Tried Far Cry with a GeForce 7800GTX under XP SP2 and the land masses display correctly!

Details:

Image

Image

Full size image: http://i.imgur.com/vOhBgKP.jpg
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Far Cry

Postby mirh » 2015-2-01 @ 14:51

I found here 2 patches for FC and geforce 5 and 6 series..
Do you know why somebody would have need them?
pcgamingwiki.com
mirh
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: 2014-9-13 @ 21:39

Re: Far Cry

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2015-2-01 @ 15:16

Usually I don't say anything, but is it really so hard to read the documentation? At least a tiny bit of effort.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Far Cry

Postby mirh » 2015-2-01 @ 22:15

philscomputerlab wrote:Usually I don't say anything, but is it really so hard to read the documentation? At least a tiny bit of effort.

I read it enables the R3xx path on nvidia cards..

But my question wasn't what it did. It was why somebody should bother
pcgamingwiki.com
mirh
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: 2014-9-13 @ 21:39

Re: Far Cry

Postby BuckoA51 » 2015-2-01 @ 22:35

Interesting findings there, I will need to look into this and update my own article. I didn't come across the 1.6 patch last time I played the game (a few months back), I wasn't able to get HDR working at all but everything else seemed ok.
play-old-pc-games.com
BuckoA51
Member
 
Posts: 203
Joined: 2012-11-04 @ 16:28

Next

Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest