Far Cry

Getting old Windows games working.

Re: Far Cry

Postby lowenz » 2016-10-23 @ 20:50

FPS comparison (pure d3d9 vs wined3d)

Image

Image

Look at the MISSING water transparency with WineD3D 1.9.21.....
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 991
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Far Cry

Postby lowenz » 2016-10-23 @ 21:01

Transparency back in proximity of the water:

Image
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 991
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Far Cry

Postby lowenz » 2016-10-23 @ 21:08

lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 991
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Far Cry

Postby Oubadah » 2017-2-22 @ 19:41

lowenz wrote:Look at the MISSING water transparency with WineD3D 1.9.21.....


I wasn't missing anything with 1.9.21:

Image
Oubadah
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2016-7-20 @ 02:30

Re: Far Cry

Postby lowenz » 2017-2-22 @ 22:28

The *water* transparency.

Time to test with 2.2 staging.
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 991
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Far Cry

Postby Oubadah » 2017-2-22 @ 22:31

lowenz wrote:The *water* transparency.

Time to test with 2.2 staging.


My screenshot shows the same area of water that yours does. If you can't see the whole image, right click and open in new tab/window. This site can't properly reformat big images evidently.
Oubadah
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2016-7-20 @ 02:30

Re: Far Cry

Postby lowenz » 2017-2-22 @ 23:17

Well, now the problem is gone with 2.2

http://fdossena.com/index.php?p=wined3d/index.frag
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 991
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Far Cry

Postby Oubadah » 2017-2-22 @ 23:22

There was something weird going on it those screenshots of yours anyway. Where were the tree and rock reflections?
Oubadah
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2016-7-20 @ 02:30

Re: Far Cry

Postby teleguy » 2017-2-23 @ 10:36

Oubadah wrote:There was something weird going on it those screenshots of yours anyway. Where were the tree and rock reflections?


He probably has r_Quality_Reflection set to 0.
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 392
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: Far Cry

Postby Res1s7 » 2017-12-26 @ 16:03

Hi. Has there been any update to this ? Is it a frame rate killer ? Or maybe I just had it setup badly last time. GOG: Should Far Cry bought from GOG have this problem fixed ? Is it responsibility of GOG ? I know it can't always be done. Original IP owner has to want to fix it. Availability of original source code, etc, etc.
Res1s7
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2016-5-19 @ 19:30

Re: Far Cry

Postby lowenz » 2017-12-26 @ 17:25

First Binocular Point save: 290 FPS vs 120 FPS (i3 6300 + GeForce 1050 Ti) using Wine 3.0 RC1

Wine always necessary to fix the landmass reflections with the Steam version.
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 991
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Far Cry

Postby CookiePLMonster » 2018-4-01 @ 19:04

Hey there,

Looks like WineD3D is still the only solution to fix water reflections and I never really was satisfied with this solution, so decided to give it a try and... there it is!

Water reflections rely heavily on user clip planes (so bottom surfaces of water pools don't get reflected), and for reasons unknown behaviour of IDirect3DDevice9::SetClipPlane has changed between XP and Vista/7/8.1/10. Even though D3D9 is supposed to work like a finite state machine, state of clip planes did not persist properly between draw calls (either that or maybe there is some precomputation applied to it) - so my fix is to re-apply clip planes before every draw call.

Works flawlessly, native D3D9, no performance hit!

Image

For reference that it's legit (though I admit the timing is sub-par), I'm an author of several unofficlal patches for other games.

Cheers!
User avatar
CookiePLMonster
Newbie
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 2018-4-01 @ 18:53

Re: Far Cry

Postby lowenz » 2018-4-01 @ 20:15

Thanks man!
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 991
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Far Cry

Postby Johnylyr » 2018-4-01 @ 20:42

CookiePLMonster wrote:Hey there,

Looks like WineD3D is still the only solution to fix water reflections and I never really was satisfied with this solution, so decided to give it a try and... there it is!

Water reflections rely heavily on user clip planes (so bottom surfaces of water pools don't get reflected), and for reasons unknown behaviour of IDirect3DDevice9::SetClipPlane has changed between XP and Vista/7/8.1/10. Even though D3D9 is supposed to work like a finite state machine, state of clip planes did not persist properly between draw calls (either that or maybe there is some precomputation applied to it) - so my fix is to re-apply clip planes before every draw call.

Works flawlessly, native D3D9, no performance hit!

Image

For reference that it's legit (though I admit the timing is sub-par), I'm an author of several unofficlal patches for other games.

Cheers!


So where is the patch? And what about d3d10;
User avatar
Johnylyr
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2003-11-30 @ 05:38

Re: Far Cry

Postby CookiePLMonster » 2018-4-01 @ 21:21

Johnylyr wrote:So where is the patch? And what about d3d10;


Soon! And not sure what you mean by D3D10, as far as I'm aware FC1 doesn't have a D3D10 renderer.

Actually, is there anyone with AMD (or Intel) GPUs here who could volunteer as a tester for this? So far I could only confirm it working on NVidia GPUs.
User avatar
CookiePLMonster
Newbie
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 2018-4-01 @ 18:53

Re: Far Cry

Postby Srandista » 2018-4-02 @ 00:11

CookiePLMonster wrote:Actually, is there anyone with AMD (or Intel) GPUs here who could volunteer as a tester for this?

I have both of them, if you want to test it on Win 10.
My overkill "retro" PC - Pentium E6500K, 512MB/2GB RAM, Radeon 9500@9700 (Softmod), 80GB HDD, Win 98/XP
User avatar
Srandista
Member
 
Posts: 254
Joined: 2017-4-07 @ 17:14
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Far Cry

Postby lowenz » 2018-4-02 @ 00:34

The patch will be a modified D3D9.dll? I ask 'cause of reshade......
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 991
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Far Cry

Postby CookiePLMonster » 2018-4-02 @ 09:25

Srandista wrote:
CookiePLMonster wrote:Actually, is there anyone with AMD (or Intel) GPUs here who could volunteer as a tester for this?

I have both of them, if you want to test it on Win 10.

Cool! I'll post when I have something which can be tested.

lowenz wrote:The patch will be a modified D3D9.dll? I ask 'cause of reshade......

That's what I was worried about... I did want it to be d3d9.dll (because the game breaks Ultimate ASI Loader badly at the moment), but you have a good point... I'll see if I can make it into an ASI plugin. Will most likely need to ship ASI Loader as gdi32.dll then, as pretty much no other DLL works well (dinput8 loads too late and dsound is unreliable).

However, I may also publish this as d3d9.dll and issue a pull request to ReShade with the same changes.


EDIT:
Interesting - looks like the game supports a D3D8 renderer! Did any version of the game come with XRenderD3D8.dll?
User avatar
CookiePLMonster
Newbie
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 2018-4-01 @ 18:53

Re: Far Cry

Postby lowenz » 2018-4-02 @ 09:41

Interesting - looks like the game supports a D3D8 renderer! Did any version of the game come with XRenderD3D8.dll?

The "pure" D3D8 renderer isn't removed in the 1.4 update?
Last edited by lowenz on 2018-4-02 @ 09:48, edited 1 time in total.
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 991
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Far Cry

Postby lowenz » 2018-4-02 @ 09:48

CookiePLMonster wrote:dsound is unreliable

And taken for Indirect Sound :D -> http://www.indirectsound.com/

However, I may also publish this as d3d9.dll and issue a pull request to ReShade with the same changes.

Good idea!
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 991
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

PreviousNext

Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest