CD audio missing - my research [fixed!]

Getting old Windows games working.

Re: CD audio missing - my research

Postby Jorpho » 2016-9-28 @ 00:22

VirtuaIceMan wrote:So far I tried renaming winm0 to winmm with no success, and have tried various other versions that are supposed to work with Win10. I'd be keen to know how ZellSF got the Shadows Of The Empire winmm implementation to work for other games, as he mentions above, but I'm not sure he visits these parts so often...

If I did need to edit an executable to search for winm0 instead of winmm, what sort of program might you advise would be useful?

Any old hex editor should do. I favor XVI32, personally.
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada


Re: CD audio missing - my research

Postby ZellSF » 2016-9-28 @ 08:44

Try the attached files, just rename winmm_mciclose.dll or winmm_nomciclose.dll to winmm.dll and put a music folder with the tracks in track01.ogg, track02.ogg format.

It's this compiled:
https://github.com/rkkoszewski/ogg-winmm/
Attachments
winmm.rar
(136.15 KiB) Downloaded 874 times
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1025
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: CD audio missing - my research

Postby VirtuaIceMan » 2016-9-28 @ 09:01

ZellSF wrote:Try the attached files, just rename winmm_mciclose.dll or winmm_nomciclose.dll to winmm.dll and put a music folder with the tracks in track01.ogg, track02.ogg format.

It's this compiled:
https://github.com/rkkoszewski/ogg-winmm/


Should tracks begin with track01.ogg? I thought it was track02 onwards (as 01 = data track on CD originally)?

Thanks for getting back to me, it's been driving me a bit mad that it works for SOTE but nothing else!
My PC spec: Win10 64bit, i7-4970K (not overclocked) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Creative Soundblaster ZXr, 16GB RAM, Asus Z97-A motherboard, NZXT 410 case, ROG Swift GSYNC monitor
User avatar
VirtuaIceMan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 879
Joined: 2003-12-22 @ 00:57

Re: CD audio missing - my research

Postby dr.zeissler » 2016-9-28 @ 09:35

Does this solution work for:

- Win9x
- and Games like MotoRacer etc.?
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: CD audio missing - my research

Postby VirtuaIceMan » 2016-9-28 @ 09:44

I'm not sure you'd need this fix for Win9x, as it's solving the inability of new Windows to talk to the CD-ROM drive. If the games were programmed for Win9x they should work?

MotoRacer I "upgraded" my copy to the re-released one (so I could get the 15th anniversary game bundled in), but that had flaws which only the GOG release really fixed. GOG do use this sort of approach to wrapper CD audio calls to .ogg files.
My PC spec: Win10 64bit, i7-4970K (not overclocked) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Creative Soundblaster ZXr, 16GB RAM, Asus Z97-A motherboard, NZXT 410 case, ROG Swift GSYNC monitor
User avatar
VirtuaIceMan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 879
Joined: 2003-12-22 @ 00:57

Re: CD audio missing - my research

Postby dr.zeissler » 2016-9-28 @ 09:49

I want to play the game with CD-Music but not with the CD in the drive.
I own the original but "mounting" a CD-Image with "Deamon-Tools" does not work.
I can't hear the music. So the other idea was, ripping the tracks and configuring the game to play mp3's /ogg's or whatever.
I do not own the GOG release, but I own the 15th anniversary edition. The 15th av-ed. does not work with Win9x anymore.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: CD audio missing - my research

Postby VirtuaIceMan » 2016-9-28 @ 10:03

Maybe something mentioned here? https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=47380
My PC spec: Win10 64bit, i7-4970K (not overclocked) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Creative Soundblaster ZXr, 16GB RAM, Asus Z97-A motherboard, NZXT 410 case, ROG Swift GSYNC monitor
User avatar
VirtuaIceMan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 879
Joined: 2003-12-22 @ 00:57

Re: CD audio missing - my research

Postby dr.zeissler » 2016-9-28 @ 10:11

That's interesting thx! I did not know that there are different drivers (wdm/vxd) ? I alway upgraded the standard win98se drivers with the sb-updatet win9x drivers.
I don't know if they are WDM or VXD drivers. All I know is, I can't hear CD-Audio Tracks in Win9x with mounted Images. Original CD's just do fine.
I don't know if playing CD-Audio is implemented as a standard, so that a fix with ogg/mp3 can possibly work for all titles and not especiall for each game with modifying the game-code.

I think I should read the linked pages carefully, perhaps I get it.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: CD audio missing - my research

Postby Jorpho » 2016-9-28 @ 14:58

collector wrote:A hex editor?
Yes? That is the standard nomenclature for a tool used to make arbitrary edits to binary files such as executables.

You probably wouldn't want to use a text editor, since a lot of binary data has no text equivalent and some text editors might end up stripping out data that they can't understand.
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: CD audio missing - my research

Postby collector » 2016-9-28 @ 15:55

Jorpho wrote:
collector wrote:A hex editor?
Yes? That is the standard nomenclature for a tool used to make arbitrary edits to binary files such as executables.

You probably wouldn't want to use a text editor, since a lot of binary data has no text equivalent and some text editors might end up stripping out data that they can't understand.

Obviously. Sarcasm does not convey well over the internet.
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4140
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Re: CD audio missing - my research

Postby Jo22 » 2016-9-28 @ 18:52

collector wrote:Obviously. Sarcasm does not convey well over the internet.


Obviously. In real life, I used to be a bit sarcastic at times, too (in a cheerily, humorous way).
But most people, except my family, got it the wrong way. They thought it was cynical. Ouch.
So yeah, the world needs a new smileycon for that - one that looks like Garfield. :-D
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2549
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: CD audio missing - my research

Postby VirtuaIceMan » 2016-9-29 @ 00:10

ZellSF wrote:Try the attached files, just rename winmm_mciclose.dll or winmm_nomciclose.dll to winmm.dll and put a music folder with the tracks in track01.ogg, track02.ogg format.

It's this compiled:
https://github.com/rkkoszewski/ogg-winmm/


Thanks for these! The winmm_nomciclose.dll version works for all 4 games! It even replicates the actual bug in Mad Trax where only 3 of the 4 tracks get played, and the first one is played twice, when you use the next track/previous track feature on the pause menu!

Tracks do need to be named from track02.ogg though (although in Mad Trax, naming them from track01.ogg allows all 4 tracks to be played in the pause menu; bad programming in the original game!).
My PC spec: Win10 64bit, i7-4970K (not overclocked) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Creative Soundblaster ZXr, 16GB RAM, Asus Z97-A motherboard, NZXT 410 case, ROG Swift GSYNC monitor
User avatar
VirtuaIceMan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 879
Joined: 2003-12-22 @ 00:57

Re: CD audio missing - my research [fixed!]

Postby VirtuaIceMan » 2016-9-29 @ 00:28

I wonder if that rewrite of the winmm.dll could ever be used to redirect CD audio to play from the disc, as it was originally? The fix for Sentinel Returns earlier (http://www.old-games.ru/forum/showthread.php?t=51778) replaced the game exe with a patched one that called MCI differently, so that _inmm.dll could be put in the game folder and the CD audio would play from disc.

Just a thought, for those who use CDs to store CD music still! The .ogg fix is ideal for portable/no-CD versions of games (and archiving, as CDs may degrade).
My PC spec: Win10 64bit, i7-4970K (not overclocked) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Creative Soundblaster ZXr, 16GB RAM, Asus Z97-A motherboard, NZXT 410 case, ROG Swift GSYNC monitor
User avatar
VirtuaIceMan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 879
Joined: 2003-12-22 @ 00:57

Re: CD audio missing - my research [fixed!]

Postby Gamecollector » 2016-9-30 @ 11:50

VirtuaIceMan wrote:patched one that called MCI differently, so that _inmm.dll could be put in the game folder and the CD audio would play from disc.

The patch just replaces the winmm.dll string in the .exe to the _inmm.dll one.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400B,
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
Voodoo2 12 MB SLI, Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Gamecollector
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1292
Joined: 2010-10-06 @ 22:17

Re: CD audio missing - my research [fixed!]

Postby VirtuaIceMan » 2016-9-30 @ 12:45

Ah of course, sounds simple! I might have to look into that option, out of interest.
My PC spec: Win10 64bit, i7-4970K (not overclocked) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Creative Soundblaster ZXr, 16GB RAM, Asus Z97-A motherboard, NZXT 410 case, ROG Swift GSYNC monitor
User avatar
VirtuaIceMan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 879
Joined: 2003-12-22 @ 00:57

Re: CD audio missing - my research [fixed!]

Postby dr.zeissler » 2017-11-06 @ 08:29

I have a new retro-machine equipped with Celeron300 and Win95b, so no WDM-Drivers available.
So I need to try another fix for the missing audio. I will try to rip my Motoracer1 AudioTracks to OGG.
And check out the winmm.dll you mentioned above. Hopefully this will do je Job.
There are lot's of Games with CD-Audio, it would be a really big Deal, if this works on many other Games too.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: CD audio missing - my research [fixed!]

Postby Davros » 2017-11-06 @ 15:54

Mcicda.drv is also referenced in system.ini

[mci]
cdaudio=mcicda.drv
sequencer=mciseq.drv
waveaudio=mciwave.drv
avivideo=mciavi.drv
videodisc=mcipionr.drv
vcr=mcivisca.drv

the driver for cd audio in XP is redbook.sys.
Guardian of the Sacred Five Terabyte's of Gaming Goodness
User avatar
Davros
l33t
 
Posts: 2476
Joined: 2004-3-01 @ 03:08

Re: CD audio missing - my research

Postby s997863 » 2017-11-07 @ 08:18

dr.zeissler wrote:That's interesting thx! I did not know that there are different drivers (wdm/vxd) ? I alway upgraded the standard win98se drivers with the sb-updatet win9x drivers.
I don't know if they are WDM or VXD drivers. All I know is, I can't hear CD-Audio Tracks in Win9x with mounted Images. Original CD's just do fine.
I don't know if playing CD-Audio is implemented as a standard, so that a fix with ogg/mp3 can possibly work for all titles and not especiall for each game with modifying the game-code.

I think I should read the linked pages carefully, perhaps I get it.


Try swapping your cd drive letters so that the image drive comes first. Re-install the game from image and see if this works.

I remember quake-2 and some other games that wouldn't play cd audio unless the cd was in the first drive. e.g. If I had cd drives with letters D & E & F ... etc., then I must install & play the game from drive D, regardless whether it's a real CD or virtual image drive.
s997863
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2013-6-08 @ 15:34

Re: CD audio missing - my research [fixed!]

Postby dr.zeissler » 2017-11-07 @ 12:15

I am sure that this is not the point here, because the cd-audio from the mounted daemon-tools cd-image plays on desktop while running the game,
but it's instantly muted if I go back to the game. I think it has to do with the parallel features of DX/Windows/Soundcard-Mixer.
I can tell you that it's working fine with Win2k and WDM Driver.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

PreviousNext

Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests