Unreal A3D?

Getting old Windows games working.

Unreal A3D?

Postby MrEWhite » 2016-5-23 @ 00:36

Hi, is there anyway to get A3D to work in Unreal with the 226 patch? I can only get it to work with the 221 beta and lower.
User avatar
MrEWhite
Oldbie
 
Posts: 958
Joined: 2014-8-19 @ 20:08

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2016-5-23 @ 00:41

MrEWhite wrote:Hi, is there anyway to get A3D to work in Unreal with the 226 patch? I can only get it to work with the 221 beta and lower.


I think A3D worked fine for me with the GOG version (Unreal Gold).
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby MrEWhite » 2016-5-23 @ 00:48

PhilsComputerLab wrote:
MrEWhite wrote:Hi, is there anyway to get A3D to work in Unreal with the 226 patch? I can only get it to work with the 221 beta and lower.


I think A3D worked fine for me with the GOG version (Unreal Gold).

I don't get the sound that you get when you usually start it up for some reason, and that usually shows me it's working. And I don't have Gold sadly, only the original.
User avatar
MrEWhite
Oldbie
 
Posts: 958
Joined: 2014-8-19 @ 20:08

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2016-5-23 @ 00:59

Oh the A3D jingle? Yea it doesn't play, but I don't think that means it's not working. Just put it in headphone mode and listen to headphones, it's very obvious if it works.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby MrEWhite » 2016-5-23 @ 01:03

PhilsComputerLab wrote:Oh the A3D jingle? Yea it doesn't play, but I don't think that means it's not working. Just put it in headphone mode and listen to headphones, it's very obvious if it works.

Don't have any headphones on me, have crap earbuds. :P
I thought the jingle always plays when it initializes A3D?
User avatar
MrEWhite
Oldbie
 
Posts: 958
Joined: 2014-8-19 @ 20:08

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2016-5-23 @ 03:06

Yes it does for most games. Earphones should work just as well!

I think in one of my videos (voodoo 5) I have Unreal Gold and A3D running.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby Tertz » 2016-5-23 @ 10:26

MrEWhite wrote:Don't have any headphones on me, have crap earbuds.


If you have no >=4 speakers properly placed, a headphones is the best way to get 3D sound. Earbuds are just the kind of headphones, the positioning effects should be same.
Tertz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 792
Joined: 2015-1-22 @ 21:44

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby MrEWhite » 2016-5-23 @ 11:16

Let me empasize on the word "crap." :P
User avatar
MrEWhite
Oldbie
 
Posts: 958
Joined: 2014-8-19 @ 20:08

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby lowenz » 2016-5-23 @ 17:15

Using a wrapper or an original A3D certified card?
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 859
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby MrEWhite » 2016-5-23 @ 18:36

lowenz wrote:Using a wrapper or an original A3D certified card?

I have a Diamond Monster MX300. I got the A3D logo/jingle on earlier versions 221 and earlier.
User avatar
MrEWhite
Oldbie
 
Posts: 958
Joined: 2014-8-19 @ 20:08

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby lowenz » 2016-5-23 @ 18:42

With the wrapper ( http://www.worknd.ru/A3D-Live.exe ) I can confirm that a3d.dll is loaded but the game (226f) freezes.
See the discussion on oldunreal board :D
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 859
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby Choum » 2017-8-07 @ 16:43

Someone can reupload the A3D-Live.exe package somewhere ?
It seems that the original website domain has expired.
:(
Choum
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2016-4-10 @ 10:18

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby Osprey » 2017-8-07 @ 17:41

Here you go, Choum.
Attachments
A3D-Live.exe
A3D-Live!
(1.74 MiB) Downloaded 21 times
Osprey
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: 2017-7-27 @ 21:32

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby tgod » 2017-8-07 @ 18:24

MrEWhite wrote:
lowenz wrote:Using a wrapper or an original A3D certified card?

I have a Diamond Monster MX300. I got the A3D logo/jingle on earlier versions 221 and earlier.

Everything is recorded in unreal's log file, it's easy to tell if its working.
Copy paste from my unreal.log file:

Init: Galaxy is using DirectSound
Init: Aureal A3D 2.x 3D sound hardware found!
Init: Galaxy initialized

If you're using an earlier versions of unreal it only supports A3D 1.0, the latest patch adds 2.0 support.
If you're using unreal gold, it uses a newer version of the engine and supports A3D 2.0 by default.
tgod
Newbie
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 2011-10-03 @ 14:16

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby Choum » 2017-8-08 @ 09:12

Osprey wrote:Here you go, Choum.


Thanks,
This version keep crashing game (test on jedi knight dark force 2).
I will stay on this version https://pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/Glossary:Sound_card#A3D
Choum
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2016-4-10 @ 10:18

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby lowenz » 2017-12-02 @ 22:37

Up!

Blood 2 too finds the A3D wrapper ("3D Sound" in the launcher -> A3D splash image http://i67.tinypic.com/30kr7l1.jpg ) but how can I use A3D in the game?

( https://www.winehq.org/pipermail/wine-b ... 95046.html )
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 859
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby Osprey » 2017-12-02 @ 23:49

lowenz wrote:Blood 2 too finds the A3D wrapper ("3D Sound" in the launcher -> A3D splash image http://i67.tinypic.com/30kr7l1.jpg ) but how can I use A3D in the game?

It doesn't appear to really be finding it on your system because, according to your screenshot, "Aureal Interactive" doesn't show up in the menu of drivers.

It does show up for me after installing the A3D package that I put together over the Summer and was going to release, but never did. If you'd like to give it a try, here it is.

Any feedback that you or anyone wants to give on how well it enables A3D in Blood II, Unreal, Jedi Knight II or any other A3D game is welcome and might help me make a decision on whether or not to release it officially or not.
Attachments
A3D-Alchemy-Setup.zip
(1.41 MiB) Downloaded 16 times
Osprey
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: 2017-7-27 @ 21:32

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby Asaki » 2017-12-03 @ 03:23

I wonder if my version of Unreal is too old. When I tried it with my A3D card (not a wrapper), it sounded very much like it was only using 1.0 positioning. I'll have to try updating (though I thought that I did).

Unless it had something to do with my card complaining that it wasn't in slot 1, even though it was.

So far, the only A3D supported game that has impressed me was Quake 3, but it has to be a REALLY old version of the game. I'm not sure exactly which versions...I know v1.0 works fine, and the demo works fine...a few newer revisions worked okay but had the stereo reversed. The Gold version seems to have had all of the A3D 2.0 support ripped out.

I don't even really like Q3, but I must've spent hours running around different maps, just amazed at the immersion of the audio.

I wish the Dark Engine games supported A3D 2.0, that would be incredible.

Edit: I'm skimming through the Q3A source code right now, and it looks like all of the A3D stuff is still in there, it's just commented out. I'm really tempted to try compiling this. Athough, when I was looking at different versions of the game before, it looked like some of the A3D information was hard-coded into the BSP maps, so I'm not sure how much good it would do. I could be wrong, however.
Asaki
Newbie
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 2006-6-30 @ 00:32

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby lowenz » 2017-12-03 @ 10:49

Opsray, there's a NEW version of Indirect Sound to use in your package! (I see you're using it)

http://www.indirectsound.com/downloads/ ... d_0_13.zip

We got the author - jonpol - too on these forums: > viewtopic.php?f=8&t=36870&start=40
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 859
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Unreal A3D?

Postby lowenz » 2017-12-03 @ 11:53

OK, it's working! :D

Image

Sometimes the speaks from an NPC remain in the "original" position (someone speaks from left, you turn or walk away and the sound remains at left), but maybe it's a Blood 2 specific issue.
I'm using Indirect Sound 0.13.
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 859
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Next

Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: KainXVIII and 2 guests