Internet Modem?

Emulation of old PCs, PC hardware, or PC peripherals.

Internet Modem?

Postby popeyewinter » 2017-8-11 @ 22:24

My family has switched to VOIP so I can no longer use my internal modem.

However, I have found a solution for this:

A program called internet modem, which lets you connect an old computer through a null-modem serial cable to a newer computer and use the newer computers internet connection as a "modem".

I have this program, and the hardware needed.

However, when I do atdt www.thekeep.bbs, I get "modem error code = 4" on the console of the program on my newer computer.

Does anyone know what error code 4 would mean?

I followed this video, even though he did it on the amiga, it should work for any system with a serial port.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aOOE7KrrCpE
popeyewinter
Newbie
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 2017-4-16 @ 05:31

Re: Internet Modem?

Postby Jo22 » 2017-8-13 @ 01:38

Maybe it only supports ATDP (pulse dialing) so far ?

.. just kidding! XD

Sorry, I'm afarid I can't say anything helpful to this matter.

Here's an overview of the Hayes Command Set, though..
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hayes_command_set

PS: Technically speaking, you can keep using your modem if your VOIP device has an analogue telephone socket.
I once did this to get a firmware update for an iMac G3. Think I told that story in this thread.
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2616
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe


Return to PC Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kamerat and 3 guests