VOGONS

First post, by retro games 100

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Installed this card in to a P3-based mobo. When it plays sound effects, the effects sound *much* faster than they ought to be. Like 10 times faster than they should sound.

Reply 3 of 9, by retro games 100

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Hello.

I tried the following -

device = c:\proaudio\mvsound.sys d:1 q:5 s:0 m:0 j:0 t:1

But the sound effects are still *much* too fast. Please note that during the PAS16 setup, I selected not to have SB emulation, and also not to use the joystick port or also not to have MPU-401 emulation.

When I play a dos game, the music sounds like a typical soundblaster - it sounds like typical FM chip based music. I am completely new to the PAS16 - is this the only way it can play music, or is it possible to have the PAS16 music sound better than your typical soundblaster? (Is it as good as a GUS for example?)

When I run the PROAS.exe program, I see the following information -

Spectrum Information

IO Port: 0388
IRQ #: 05
DMA #: 01

Thunder Board Information:

Active: 00
Port: 0200
IRQ #: 00
DMA #: 00

The board has a 16-bit DAC
We have the MV101 chip.
MV 508 mixer.
The FM chip is a OPL3
There is an enhanced SCSI interface.

Thanks very much for any additional assistance.
Best regards, Robert.

Reply 5 of 9, by Amigaz

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Thrillo wrote:

On a related note, is the PAS16 a SBPRO-compatible card, or is it only SB 2.0-compatible?
I've seen conflicting information about that on these forums and the rest of the internet.

It's SBPro compatible....

My retro computer stuff: https://lychee.jjserver.net/#16136303902327

Reply 6 of 9, by Cloudschatze

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Thrillo wrote:

On a related note, is the PAS16 a SBPRO-compatible card, or is it only SB 2.0-compatible?
I've seen conflicting information about that on these forums and the rest of the internet.