VOGONS

First post, by Van Denhawk

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi

I am new to old pc's and dos gaming. I have a new AMI Enterprise-IV Motherboard to play classic dos games to the early ninities games. What is the general opinion of this motherboard?

I have an ATX case but the motherboard is a bit too big, in the manual it says I need a baby AT case, Is there anywhere online or shops etc I can still get this type of case?

Finally the motherboard is a socket 2 board but I have an intel 486/DX2-66Mhz processor which is a bit smaller than the socket, will it still be ok for this motherboard?

Thanks

Reply 1 of 6, by Tetrium

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Where are you located?
AT cases are hard to find nowdays, though that may depend on your location.
AT cases "should" fit in a full-ATX tower, though you'd need the correct backplate (with only 1 opening for large keyboard). If you happen to have any spare ATX cases standing around, I'd suggest try one of those.
Some ATX cases can be a bit too "short", so to say.

Do you have a white Socket 2 Socket? Could you PLEASE take a pic of it?!?
Years ago I found a motherboard with a Socket 2 socket which looked exactly like a Socket 3 socket, except for the "2" instead of the "3" and I've been searching for evidence of this Socket 2 ever since 🤣!

And a warm welcome to Vogons!
If you want some reading about retro computing, may I suggest the link at the bottom of my post? 😀

Whats missing in your collections?
My retro rigs (old topic)
Interesting Vogons threads (links to Vogonswiki)
Report spammers here!

Reply 2 of 6, by DonutKing

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Finally the motherboard is a socket 2 board but I have an intel 486/DX2-66Mhz processor which is a bit smaller than the socket, will it still be ok for this motherboard?