So, I've got this machine today from a friend:
Motherboard: FIC VB-601
Processor: Intel Pentium 2 @ 350mhz
Memory: 128MB
AGP Card: Ati 3D Rage Pro
PCI Card: VG 3DFX Voodoo 2 12Mo

I have a few questions about it.
Can I run DOS 6.22 on it ?
Can I install both ISA and PCI cards in DOS ? (As long as there is a DOS driver, I should be fine, right ?)
Should I install Windows 95 or 98 on it ?
Which sound card would be the best for this machine ?

Thank you for helping :p I'm more knowledgeable in current computers, but I'm a retro computers and consoles collectors and this is my first time having a computer of the late 90s since... well... the late 90s, when I was 9 😁

Reply 1 of 19, by tayyare

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I have a few questions about it.
Can I run DOS 6.22 on it ?

Of course.

Can I install both ISA and PCI cards in DOS ? (As long as there is a DOS driver, I should be fine, right ?)

Of course.

Should I install Windows 95 or 98 on it ?

It's up you, but I would.

Which sound card would be the best for this machine ?

It's a personal choice. An ISA Sound Blaster (16?) with a wavetable daughterboard might be a common suggestion though.

GA-6VTXE PIII 1.4+512MB
Geforce4 Ti 4200 64MB
Diamond Monster 3D 12MB SLI
SB AWE64 PNP+32MB
120GB IDE Samsung/80GB IDE Seagate/146GB SCSI Compaq/73GB SCSI IBM
Adaptec AHA29160
3com 3C905B-TX
Gotek+CF Reader
MSDOS 6.22+Win 3.11/95 OSR2.1/98SE/ME/2000

Reply 2 of 19, by MrTimscampi

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Thanks for helping me :p

I was wondering, is it possible to dual boot Dos 6.22 and Windows 98 ?
I know Win 98 does have a higher version of DOS but I read somewhere that Dos 6.22 was better for Dos games.
How would I dual boot them, if it's doable ?

Reply 3 of 19, by tayyare

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Yes it's possible, and there are many different ways. I use this:

http://www.masterbooter.com/main/features_en.html

GA-6VTXE PIII 1.4+512MB
Geforce4 Ti 4200 64MB
Diamond Monster 3D 12MB SLI