Windows, Doom, Apogee OPL3 Synthesizer.

Emulation of old PCs, PC hardware, or PC peripherals.

Windows, Doom, Apogee OPL3 Synthesizer.

Postby nukeykt » 2013-8-30 @ 16:33

OPL3 MIDI Driver for Windows.

Doom OPL
Games: Doom, Doom 2, Heretic, Hexen, Strife, Raptor

Link:
https://www.doomworld.com/vb/doom-general/84999-doom-opl-windows-midi-driver/

Apogee OPL
Games: Rise of the Triad, Duke Nukem 3D, NAM, Blood, Shadow Warrior(Shareware).

OPL patches:
apogee_tmb.zip
(7.65 KiB) Downloaded 125 times

built in patch - ROTT 1.3, Build engine games setup utility.
apogee_blood.tmb - Blood
apogee_duke3d.tmb - Duke Nukem 3D
apogee_lee.tmb - ROTT 1.0-1.2
apogee_nam.tmb - NAM
apogee_sw.tmb - Shadow Warrior(Shareware)

Installation:
1. Install Visual C++ 2015 Redistributable.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-US/downloa ... x?id=48145
2. Install driver.
3. Install OPL patch (Optional)

OPL Patch installation:
1. Create OPLSynth folder in C:\ disk root.
2. Copy *.tmb files to C:\OPLSynth folder.
3. Copy needed tmb file as apogee.tmb
4. If you want to use built in patch remove apogee.tmb

Download:
opl3apogee.zip
(240.42 KiB) Downloaded 128 times


Windows OPL
5/5/2016 Quick update:
Bug fix:
-Stupid bug in OPL3 emulator was fixed. Driver is reuploaded.

5/5/2016 Update:
News:
-Very accurate Nuked OPL3 emulator, which present in ZDoom and in development versions of Chocolate Doom!
-More accurate compared to Windows 9x SB16 drivers!
-x64 version!

Download:
opl3windows.zip
(235.17 KiB) Downloaded 1088 times


Installation:
1. Install Visual C++ 2015 Redistributable.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-US/downloa ... x?id=48145
2. Install driver.

Note! New version does NOT support Windows XP.
Last edited by nukeykt on 2016-7-08 @ 02:05, edited 15 times in total.
nukeykt
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2013-8-28 @ 11:11
Location: Russia

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby leileilol » 2013-8-30 @ 21:33

FINALLY, IT EXISTS!!!
THANK YOU!!!


EDIT: Noticed there's a strange pitch bend issue when playing fastway.mid (Rise of the Triad) around 1:37, the same bug i've heard in PCem in Win3.1's FM midi driver even...
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 8174
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby Stiletto » 2013-8-31 @ 00:48

Ooh, I like virtual sound cards :D
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 3414
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby nukeykt » 2013-8-31 @ 01:01

leileilol wrote:EDIT: Noticed there's a strange pitch bend issue when playing fastway.mid (Rise of the Triad) around 1:37, the same bug i've heard in PCem in Win3.1's FM midi driver even...


This bug also exists in Windows 95/98. Original FMSynth sample driver haven't this bug. So i added this bug.
nukeykt
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2013-8-28 @ 11:11
Location: Russia

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby leileilol » 2013-8-31 @ 01:16

Ah.
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 8174
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby ik777 » 2013-8-31 @ 10:48

It proved that my CMI-8738 card didn't have any FM synth part.
Never buy CMI-8738 as mine. I should find another one.

Driver used that you posted before
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=36445&p=319488#p319488
Attachments
fuck up my cmi8738.png
fuck up my cmi8738.png (3.96 KiB) Viewed 16784 times
User avatar
ik777
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2012-7-08 @ 13:02
Location: Seoul, Korea

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby nukeykt » 2013-8-31 @ 11:04

Which error code ?
The code 10 means that OPL3 not found at 0x388 port.
Which CMI8738 chip's revision?
It seems to me that OPL3 exists if number of chip's revision 37 or less.
Which your PC's processor?
It seems to me that AMD processors don't allow to write on some ports.
nukeykt
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2013-8-28 @ 11:11
Location: Russia

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby ik777 » 2013-8-31 @ 11:59

khokh2001 wrote:Which error code ?
The code 10 means that OPL3 not found at 0x388 port.
Which CMI8738 chip's revision?
It seems to me that OPL3 exists if number of chip's revision 37 or less.
Which your PC's processor?
It seems to me that AMD processors don't allow to write on some ports.

Never mind. Your driver really tries to access my card's port 388 and my card only generates noise.
(Edit)
Confirmed FM won't work even in windows 98SE. every dos application's setup find fm but no sound.
In pure PC-DOS 7.00, fought with c3dmix.com, perfect SB16 Digital and detected FM but no sound.
CANNOT HEAR ANY FM SOUND WITH MY DARN CMI.
Attachments
fucked up my 8738.JPG
(790.27 KiB) Not downloaded yet
User avatar
ik777
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2012-7-08 @ 13:02
Location: Seoul, Korea

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby sliderider » 2013-8-31 @ 18:44

khokh2001 wrote:
leileilol wrote:EDIT: Noticed there's a strange pitch bend issue when playing fastway.mid (Rise of the Triad) around 1:37, the same bug i've heard in PCem in Win3.1's FM midi driver even...


This bug also exists in Windows 95/98. Original FMSynth sample driver haven't this bug. So i added this bug.


When writing an emulator, it's ok to fix bugs in the original hardware. :lol:
User avatar
sliderider
l33t++
 
Posts: 5754
Joined: 2010-6-25 @ 13:02

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby DracoNihil » 2013-8-31 @ 22:16

How do you configure the usermode thing? I can't find the "UI driven application" mentioned in the readme...

EDIT: also hitting stop does not cause the driver to stop, I have to kill whatever process accessed it.
User avatar
DracoNihil
Oldbie
 
Posts: 936
Joined: 2011-10-09 @ 14:26
Location: Independence, KS

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby ik777 » 2013-9-02 @ 13:10

Let me know which CMI are you using.

LP chasis type? Trapezoid one with least parts? or Full sized one with digital output?

They looks much better than ebay. Audiotrak refused to answer about FM support. :angry:
http://www.abko.co.kr/product/view.php? ... 6&cid=1168
http://www.abko.co.kr/product/view.php? ... 4&cid=1168
http://skyok.co.kr/?this_in=product_vie ... iew=hidden
http://audiotrack.co.kr/kr/index.php?mi ... t_srl=3727
http://audiotrack.co.kr/kr/index.php?mi ... t_srl=3724
User avatar
ik777
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2012-7-08 @ 13:02
Location: Seoul, Korea

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby nukeykt » 2013-9-02 @ 14:25

My soundcard:c media 8738 sx 4ch.
Also fm don't work on some pc. Try on another computer.
nukeykt
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2013-8-28 @ 11:11
Location: Russia

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby nukeykt » 2013-9-03 @ 10:51

Try this driver:
cmi.zip
(52.07 KiB) Downloaded 246 times

This driver for cmi8738 with integrated opl3 driver.Opl3 is working on CMI8738 IO Port + 0x50 port.
nukeykt
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2013-8-28 @ 11:11
Location: Russia

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby ik777 » 2013-9-04 @ 06:17

khokh2001 wrote:Try this driver:
cmi.zip

This driver for cmi8738 with integrated opl3 driver.Opl3 is working on CMI8738 IO Port + 0x50 port.


overwrite and DSEOed it in \system32\drivers. How can I check OPL3 works?

(I confirmed my card won't make any FM sound even in mixer in DOS, But SBPRO works.
In PEEKPOKE, PEEK C01A reports C8, POKE it 00 and 08 but 388 reports only FF.
The Adlib and compatible (fmsynth.inf driver) NEVER removed its yellow question marks itself as erroecode 10 in DM.)
User avatar
ik777
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2012-7-08 @ 13:02
Location: Seoul, Korea

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby nukeykt » 2013-9-04 @ 13:25

Sweet midi player
nukeykt
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2013-8-28 @ 11:11
Location: Russia

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby ik777 » 2013-9-04 @ 15:29

Forget everything and decided to use user mode drivers. Old games as windows 9x's times supporting MIDI BGM works well.
I didn't tried but is it work with my ymf-724 in 32bit XP or later?
User avatar
ik777
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2012-7-08 @ 13:02
Location: Seoul, Korea

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby MaliceX » 2013-9-05 @ 15:57

Hi, I haven't posted here in a while but bumped across this post while looking for something semi-related to Adlib and MIDI.

Wow! Really awesome, thanks very much for sharing this to the web, khokh2001! I've always wondered when someone would eventually pull this off.
Currently testing this in Windows XP x64, 7 x64 and Win 8 x64, working great with the user-mode drivers. I do have a YMF724F-V PCI card which only works under XP, so I might give it a go with the kernel drivers.

Also big thanks for sharing the source code too. I'm actually looking into seeing if it's possible to switch the default patches with say, patches used from .ROL music.

EDIT: OK so I have attempted to install the kernel driver on XP where I already have the YMF724F-V legacy mode enabled with PowerYMF. Regardless of methods of installation (Add new hardware, update driver on Legacy Sound System which has port 388h used), I get the following:

An error occurred during the installation of the device.

The class installer has denied the request to install or upgrade the device.


Assistance is required. Thanks.
User avatar
MaliceX
Newbie
 
Posts: 84
Joined: 2004-10-03 @ 05:03
Location: Australia, VIC

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby DracoNihil » 2013-9-06 @ 05:03

Any status on fixing the bugs in usermode driver so that stopping playback in Winamp actually tells it to shut down? It is rather annoying having to shut down whatever program accessed the driver before I stop hearing stuck notes.
User avatar
DracoNihil
Oldbie
 
Posts: 936
Joined: 2011-10-09 @ 14:26
Location: Independence, KS

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby MaliceX » 2013-9-06 @ 06:30

DracoNihil wrote:Any status on fixing the bugs in usermode driver so that stopping playback in Winamp actually tells it to shut down? It is rather annoying having to shut down whatever program accessed the driver before I stop hearing stuck notes.

How are you getting stuck notes? I'm using Winamp and I have no problem other than that I would occassionally need to reset the MIDI driver via a MIDI, or restarting Winamp to address pitch bends left over from the previous song (this is common with many MIDI drivers).
User avatar
MaliceX
Newbie
 
Posts: 84
Joined: 2004-10-03 @ 05:03
Location: Australia, VIC

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby leileilol » 2013-9-06 @ 12:32

I just use Media Player Classic.
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 8174
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Next

Return to PC Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests