Windows, Doom, Apogee OPL3 Synthesizer.

Emulation of old PCs, PC hardware, or PC peripherals.

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby Lo Wang » 2015-5-13 @ 08:36

Outstanding piece of software. Thank you so much for this synth.

Only the midi volume control is grayed out from "Sounds and Audio Devices", and the midi volume slider from the mixer, even though functional (as in clickable-movable), has no effect whatsoever.

Just posting as the readme doesn't really tell whether or not this is to be expected.

32-bit Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 + RealTek High Definition Audio, everything up to date.
User avatar
Lo Wang
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: 2014-12-03 @ 05:28

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby MaliceX » 2015-5-16 @ 10:02

Semi-related.
If anyone doesn't like the idea of installing drivers, here's a similar project which achieves similar results.

http://vgmrips.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1935
User avatar
MaliceX
Newbie
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 2004-10-03 @ 05:03
Location: Australia, VIC

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby Elvisish » 2015-11-30 @ 12:55

Quick question, I've forgotten how to get this to show up as a midi output in DAWs? Currently I can only see Microsoft GS and I have CoolSoft Virtual Midi showing up that I've installed. I was hoping coolsoft would have passed the instructions to this synth, but it doesn't, and I would rather just play directly out to the OPL3 synth. Is this possible in Windows 7 x64?
User avatar
Elvisish
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2005-10-17 @ 19:14

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer(now with DOOM OPL)

Postby Synthoridity » 2016-2-04 @ 07:15

Could it be possible to emulate the General MIDI instruments of other OPL-based cards? For example, this one, which the uploader says was recorded from a Compaq Presario 5461 computer: https://youtu.be/0uCcUnmWu20

I prefer the sound of the electric guitars in that video, even though they decay perhaps a little too quickly in some songs (noticeable in Into Sandy's City).
User avatar
Synthoridity
Newbie
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 2014-6-01 @ 07:26
Location: Australia

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer(now with DOOM OPL)

Postby Duffman » 2016-2-28 @ 16:51

Hi,

I was wondering if there is anything like this driver/emulator available for linux too?
gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
I7-4790
GTX 970
32GB RAM @1600
2x 256GB samsung 950 SSDs
1x WD Black 1TB
1x Seagate 3TB
Duffman
Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: 2002-12-05 @ 05:20

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer(now with DOOM OPL)

Postby Tigoro » 2016-3-15 @ 20:58

http://opld.sourceforge.net/

$ aplaymidi -l
Port Client name Port name
14:0 Midi Through Midi Through Port-0
20:0 SB Live! [CT4620] EMU10K1 MPU-401 (UART)
21:0 Emu10k1 WaveTable Emu10k1 Port 0
21:1 Emu10k1 WaveTable Emu10k1 Port 1
21:2 Emu10k1 WaveTable Emu10k1 Port 2
21:3 Emu10k1 WaveTable Emu10k1 Port 3
128:0 opld opld
Tigoro
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2015-11-08 @ 15:48

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer(now with DOOM OPL)

Postby Duffman » 2016-3-16 @ 03:52

Tigoro wrote:http://opld.sourceforge.net/

$ aplaymidi -l
Port Client name Port name
14:0 Midi Through Midi Through Port-0
20:0 SB Live! [CT4620] EMU10K1 MPU-401 (UART)
21:0 Emu10k1 WaveTable Emu10k1 Port 0
21:1 Emu10k1 WaveTable Emu10k1 Port 1
21:2 Emu10k1 WaveTable Emu10k1 Port 2
21:3 Emu10k1 WaveTable Emu10k1 Port 3
128:0 opld opld


Thanks, but I haven't been able to successfully compile this, i get

Code: Select all
gcc -g -O3   -c -o main.o main.c
In file included from main.c:27:0:
/usr/include/sndfile.h:220:9: error: unknown type name ‘__int64’
 typedef __int64 sf_count_t ;
         ^
<builtin>: recipe for target 'main.o' failed
make: *** [main.o] Error 1


not sure what it means or how to fix it,

any help?
gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
I7-4790
GTX 970
32GB RAM @1600
2x 256GB samsung 950 SSDs
1x WD Black 1TB
1x Seagate 3TB
Duffman
Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: 2002-12-05 @ 05:20

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer(now with DOOM OPL)

Postby Duffman » 2016-3-16 @ 04:00

nevermind installed libsndfile1-dev and it compiled,

but $ aplaymidi -l

did not list an opld device for some reason.
gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
I7-4790
GTX 970
32GB RAM @1600
2x 256GB samsung 950 SSDs
1x WD Black 1TB
1x Seagate 3TB
Duffman
Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: 2002-12-05 @ 05:20

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer(now with DOOM OPL)

Postby gdjacobs » 2016-3-16 @ 05:10

Does it show if you use aconnect -l?
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t
 
Posts: 4270
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer(now with DOOM OPL)

Postby Duffman » 2016-3-16 @ 13:18

I figured out I can get opld to show up in aconnect and aplaymidi, but I have to start it manually from the folder I compiled it in.

is this normal behaviour?
gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
I7-4790
GTX 970
32GB RAM @1600
2x 256GB samsung 950 SSDs
1x WD Black 1TB
1x Seagate 3TB
Duffman
Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: 2002-12-05 @ 05:20

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer(now with DOOM OPL)

Postby gdjacobs » 2016-3-16 @ 14:38

What behavior were you expecting?
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t
 
Posts: 4270
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer(now with DOOM OPL)

Postby Duffman » 2016-3-16 @ 17:13

I thought it would install as a module and load itself automatically
gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
I7-4790
GTX 970
32GB RAM @1600
2x 256GB samsung 950 SSDs
1x WD Black 1TB
1x Seagate 3TB
Duffman
Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: 2002-12-05 @ 05:20

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer(now with DOOM OPL)

Postby FM-OPL-Midi-Freak » 2016-3-16 @ 18:23

Hi

in terms of "Winamp Midicolone(HMI, XMI etc.. 2 SMF File converting", i havent never problems, what you need is the helping tool PSR Uti, with which you can convert midis to GM

scroll a bit down here, for english
http://www.heikoplate.de/mambo/index.php?option=com_content&task=blogcategory&id=67&Itemid=44

the great Winamp Plugin which plays hmi, mus, xmi's ->convert all midiclones
faultless, some xmi Files are stored in Midiformat 2, which contained all midichannels on a channel

a little midi editing in a converted or collected midi file / song of your love should be, particularly as some voices here and there to less / to heavy are in the mixing, take a little und simple favorite midisequencer of your choise
Equipment:
- ESS Solo (PCI)
- Ess Audio Drive-Compaq (ISA)
- Soundblaster 2.0
-Audioblaster Pro 4.0 at the time puplished by CPS Hamburg

-Sw1000XG / Motif XF - my treasures ;-) beside the Cockaigne of fm synt synthesis / adlib
FM-OPL-Midi-Freak
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2012-10-03 @ 08:35
Location: Germany

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer(now with DOOM OPL)

Postby gdjacobs » 2016-3-16 @ 19:47

Duffman wrote:I thought it would install as a module and load itself automatically


Yeah, it's not a kernel module. You'll need to start opld either manually, through an init script, or in your user shell startup scripts. In addition, it doesn't have an install target in the Makefile, so you'll have to manually copy it to the bin directory of your choice.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t
 
Posts: 4270
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer(now with DOOM OPL)

Postby bootlogger » 2016-4-27 @ 16:37

Hi,

A few months ago I announced here in Vogons a web-based MIDI/chiptune player I've been working on.

At that time MIDI playback was limited to a soundfont-based GM backend, but now it's also possible to use one based on ADLMidi, meaning OPL3 emulation. This backend uses Fatman's 4op patches which are included in ADLMidi.

I thought this might be relevant to the conversation, in case anyone's interested in listening to GM songs using OPL3 emulation but without having to install any drivers or modules.

I'm a Linux user so I know the pain, hehe. :)

Anyway, here's the link if anyone wants to check it out.
bootlogger
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2015-8-07 @ 07:33

Re: Windows OPL3 Synthesizer

Postby James-F » 2016-5-24 @ 08:25

Elvisish wrote:Quick question, I've forgotten how to get this to show up as a midi output in DAWs? Currently I can only see Microsoft GS and I have CoolSoft Virtual Midi showing up that I've installed. I was hoping coolsoft would have passed the instructions to this synth, but it doesn't, and I would rather just play directly out to the OPL3 synth. Is this possible in Windows 7 x64?


Same here.
After installing the driver it simply doesn't show anywhere.
Windows 7 x64.
User avatar
James-F
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1405
Joined: 2015-11-30 @ 04:10

Re: Windows, Doom OPL3 Synthesizer. Updated!

Postby nukeykt » 2016-5-24 @ 08:54

On x64 systems you should install both x86 and x64 versions. And did you install visual c++ 2015 redistributable?
nukeykt
Newbie
 
Posts: 91
Joined: 2013-8-28 @ 11:11
Location: Russia

Re: Windows, Doom OPL3 Synthesizer. Updated!

Postby James-F » 2016-5-24 @ 10:08

Now it works, thanks.
I had to install visual c++ 2015 redistributable 32 also (I already had 64).

EDIT:
The E1M1 midi and this driver doesn't actually sounds like doom E1M1 in dosbox (OPL), but it's very close.
Impressive that the OPL can emulate GM sounds with nothing but wave-forms.
I suppose I have to use the Doom OPL Patches for it to sound exactly the same?

EDIT2:
It doesn't seem to respond to GENMIDI.OP2, I don't hear a sound change.
I triple checked, everything in it's right directory and correct file name.

Would you suggest using the Doom OPL's for other music listening beside doom?
* Once it works for me of course.
User avatar
James-F
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1405
Joined: 2015-11-30 @ 04:10

Re: Windows, Doom OPL3 Synthesizer. Updated!

Postby nukeykt » 2016-5-27 @ 04:41

James-F wrote:Now it works, thanks.
I had to install visual c++ 2015 redistributable 32 also (I already had 64).

EDIT:
The E1M1 midi and this driver doesn't actually sounds like doom E1M1 in dosbox (OPL), but it's very close.
Impressive that the OPL can emulate GM sounds with nothing but wave-forms.
I suppose I have to use the Doom OPL Patches for it to sound exactly the same?

EDIT2:
It doesn't seem to respond to GENMIDI.OP2, I don't hear a sound change.
I triple checked, everything in it's right directory and correct file name.

Would you suggest using the Doom OPL's for other music listening beside doom?
* Once it works for me of course.


Can you upload sample of Doom's E1M1 with dmx_doom1.op2 and then dmx_dmx.op2?
nukeykt
Newbie
 
Posts: 91
Joined: 2013-8-28 @ 11:11
Location: Russia

Re: Windows, Doom OPL3 Synthesizer. Updated!

Postby James-F » 2016-5-27 @ 19:19

opl2.png

They sound the same and no different than none at all.
Attachments
DOOM1 and DMX.7z
(2.95 MiB) Downloaded 37 times
User avatar
James-F
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1405
Joined: 2015-11-30 @ 04:10

PreviousNext

Return to PC Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests