NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Emulation of old PCs, PC hardware, or PC peripherals.

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby robertmo » 2018-3-10 @ 03:51

Ahmad Moemen wrote: Did you replace 6.1's one by the 10.0 ones?

yes, in the installer
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4751
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby robertmo » 2019-1-05 @ 16:07

The patch not only tries to run 16-bit dos executables but also tries to run 16-bit windows executables.
And also tries to run old 32-bit executables ;)
Using "Command Prompt (Admin)" from right clicked start menu works for first use in same session.
If an executable has to run another old 32-bit executable...
You have to run it in another "Command Prompt (Admin)" session. ;) (not sure about this)

So you either have some 16-bit working and sometimes old 32-bit working if you install the patch
or
old 32-bit more often working and no 16-bit if you don't install the patch ;)
Last edited by robertmo on 2019-1-14 @ 19:40, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4751
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby robertmo » 2019-1-14 @ 19:30

Anyway it has an uninstaller so you can install it just for the moment you need it.
Or uninstall it for the moment you don't want it :)
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4751
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby RaVeN-05 » 2019-1-25 @ 10:39

Need help with that I try to install it on Win7 x64

i lowered UAC to minimum so it won't ask me any rights.

i also click on install.bat to run it as administrator

i have endless cycle of appearing / disappearing console window with message "Requesting administrative privileges..."

i get it from here -> http://www.columbia.edu/~em36/ntvdmx64.html
http://www.columbia.edu/~em36/ntvdmx64.7z
User avatar
RaVeN-05
Member
 
Posts: 268
Joined: 2009-12-30 @ 13:32
Location: Ukraine

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby robertmo » 2019-1-25 @ 10:43

I remember you have to prepare it in a 16-bit OS (WinXP works)
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4751
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby RaVeN-05 » 2019-1-25 @ 10:53

I need install it on WinXP and than how i can move it to Win7?
User avatar
RaVeN-05
Member
 
Posts: 268
Joined: 2009-12-30 @ 13:32
Location: Ukraine

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby robertmo » 2019-1-25 @ 11:05

if i remember correctly you do all the points in winxp and only the last one in the 64bit os
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4751
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby RaVeN-05 » 2019-1-25 @ 11:15

Did there any instructions?

i get it here -> http://www.columbia.edu/~em36/ntvdmx64.html

"Leecher1337 does not distribute a compiled version of his patched version, but I have obtained a copy together with an installer, which may be downloaded here. To install NTVDMx64, run INSTALL.BAT, and restart your system when prompted. If you want, you may uninstall it from the Control Panel or PC Settings."

Sounds simple...
User avatar
RaVeN-05
Member
 
Posts: 268
Joined: 2009-12-30 @ 13:32
Location: Ukraine

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby robertmo » 2019-1-25 @ 13:36

the link to the instruction is in the first post of this thread:
https://github.com/leecher1337/ntvdmx64
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4751
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby robertmo » 2019-1-25 @ 18:51

in the process you have to choose windows version.
there are at least two choices 7 or 8/10
you have 7 so maybe the one you try is for 10
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4751
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby RaVeN-05 » 2019-1-25 @ 20:16

ok i installed it on win7 on Home PC and on Notebook.
Neither work. =(
User avatar
RaVeN-05
Member
 
Posts: 268
Joined: 2009-12-30 @ 13:32
Location: Ukraine

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby robertmo » 2019-1-26 @ 09:00

have you prepared it yourself?
does it have NTVDM uninstaller created in control pannel programs?
if yes, try running some 16-bit text mode applications first, like rar for dos, norton commander etc.
use cmd (not command prompt from right clicked start menu)
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4751
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby RaVeN-05 » 2019-1-26 @ 22:01

i not prepared, i used version prepared by columbia edu
NTVDM uninstall exist on CP
qbasic.exe works, doom2 not, doom2 setup works
Attachments
2134.png
User avatar
RaVeN-05
Member
 
Posts: 268
Joined: 2009-12-30 @ 13:32
Location: Ukraine

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby Falcosoft » 2019-1-27 @ 00:33

The biggest problem with this NTVDMx64 solution is that it prevents running native x64 console applications
(such as FAR file manager x64 version https://www.farmanager.com/download.php?l=en and all my own x64 console applications).
While 16-bit programs work 64-bit console mode programs throw an error of 0xc0000142.
I had to remove "AppInit_DLLs"="ldntvdm.dll" from HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows to restore normal functionality.
I have attached a console application of mine that does not work while NTVDMx64 is installed on my Win10.
TimerCheck.zip
(74.39 KiB) Downloaded 29 times
User avatar
Falcosoft
Oldbie
 
Posts: 904
Joined: 2016-5-21 @ 13:46
Location: Pécs, Hungary

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby robertmo » 2019-1-27 @ 08:41

RaVeN-05 wrote: doom2 not,

protected mode (eg. dos4gw) doesn't work
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4751
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby robertmo » 2019-2-13 @ 20:49

Falcosoft have you tried running it from right-clicked start -> command prompt (admin)?
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4751
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby Falcosoft » 2019-2-15 @ 00:05

robertmo wrote:Falcosoft have you tried running it from right-clicked start -> command prompt (admin)?


Thanks for your tip. It worked once but it's not very convenient. But the bigger problem is that when NTVDMx64 is installed sometimes even 64-bit admin command prompt/cmd.exe throws the same error:
NTVDMx64_error.jpg
User avatar
Falcosoft
Oldbie
 
Posts: 904
Joined: 2016-5-21 @ 13:46
Location: Pécs, Hungary

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby leecher » 2019-2-17 @ 02:30

Hi,
Looks like a loader problem to me. I updated the loaders end of January to be more stable, do you have the most recent loaders?

https://github.com/leecher1337/ntvdmx64 ... e5f763ad7f

Best regards,
leecher
leecher
Newbie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2010-11-07 @ 17:10
Location: Vienna

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby Errius » 2019-2-17 @ 02:38

RaVeN-05 wrote:http://www.columbia.edu/~em36/ntvdmx64.7z

Windows flags this as a virus
"EA simply loved Syndicate so much they did it IRL."
User avatar
Errius
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1481
Joined: 2015-12-16 @ 19:16
Location: Lave Station

Re: NTVDM on windows 10 x64

Postby leecher » 2019-2-18 @ 08:13

Please see here for adding an exception to Windows Defender:
https://winaero.com/blog/exclusions-win ... indows-10/
leecher
Newbie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2010-11-07 @ 17:10
Location: Vienna

PreviousNext

Return to PC Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests